Customer Reviews for

Whale Rider

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unquestionably, the absolute best movie I've ever seen!

    If you love movies about real people in real life, stories that make you laugh and cry, feel the pains, disappointments, and trials of life, and celebrate the power and resilience of the human spirit, this movie is for you! Pai and her oh-so-familiar and disfunctional family made me do all of this many times over in the course of this beautifully raw film. More so than I've ever done before, outside my own personal life experience. What else can I say, but GO SEE IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. My husband and I were excited to see the movie anyways as we were going to New Zealand for our honeymoon. It is a beautiful country and we can understand the importance of the Maori culture. A must see!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie! Must see this!

    This is an excellent movie with a wonderful plot and great musical score. Pai, played by Keisha Castle Hughes, is perfectly cast as the main character. She draws you into this film and sometimes breaks your heart. 'Whale Rider' has a real story to tell, without resorting to typical Hollywood staples like violence and sex. This is not a 'kid' movie as the title and plot might suggest-it's a must see for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mesmerizing. A Star Turn for the little girl. Loved it and s

    Mesmerizing. A Star Turn for the little girl. Loved it and showed it to several other people who also said they loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    This is a beautiful movie with a message of love, acceptance and

    This is a beautiful movie with a message of love, acceptance and triumphing when the odds are against you. Never underestimate the power you hold within, for everyone has an untapped source deep within their soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    middle school viewer!

    i absolutly loved this movie. it was shown to me in social studies class, and i fell in love with it. i reccomend it for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful touching film

    I had heard so much about this movie. And when I finally sat down and watched it I was floored as to how good it was. Surprising as a man and a father of 2 girls I thought it was fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    This movie was more than I expected. 'Pai' is an excellent actress with great potentials.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A beautiful, soul-touching coming-of-age story

    From the beginning, this film resonated on many levels-- from the mysterious whale mythology to familial intergeneration relationships to the role of women in society. The daily struggles that Pai had to endure alternately brought tears to my eyes or had me sobbing. But the joy for living that she exhibited and the tremendous strength of her character made me cheer. I hold this story close to my heart as a tribute to all women who succeed in teaching others how to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!!!

    When I first watched this movie I did not want to take my eyes off the screen. I would recommend it for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutly Fantastic!

    This movie was absolutly wonderful! As a 16 year old I dont always like movies my parents like, but it was actually me who showed it to them, and they fell in love with it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Touching, intelligent and perfect for everyone

    At a time when family entertainment generally means bland, undemanding comedy, Whale Rider is genuinely for everyone. At its heart is the story of a young girl (a stunning debut performance by Keisha Castle-Hughes) and her troubled times trying to be accepted in her own Maori culture. However, its universal themes of acceptance, compassion and belonging make this accessible and a joy for everyone. A truly spellbinding movie that will bring an innocent happiness to adults and important life-lessons to children, without insulting the intelligence of either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    I absolutely loved this film, i am 16 years old and i was on the verge of tears and laughing histerically throughout the movie. this is an excellent movie which has made it to my top ten movie favorites, this move was genious, pure genious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Speaks to Your Spirit

    A GREAT (!!!) movie about a young person's struggle for recognition that most anyone can appreciate--but I believe most powerful for girls of 12-16. If Pia's speach near the end of the movie doesn't move you, you are likely unmovable. I recommend this movie to everyone I know. Just plain superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Movie!!!

    This is one of the most amazing films I have ever seen. It grabs hold of your emotions and never lets go! I can see this movie topping my list of favorites for decades. You must see this film, and once you see it you will want to own it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't wait to see this film...you will not be disappointed!

    WOW is all I can say about this amazing story. The film highly exceeded my expectations and has not gotten the recognition that it deserves. The journey of Pai will break your heart, make you laugh, and completely move you all at the same time. I recommend this for anyone, it is a must-see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Empowering and uplifting!

    This movie involved awe inspiring cinematography, and unwavering performances from the cast members, both young and old. It was a truly touching story, based on very old traditions. A production that is a must see for both men and women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best International Film Ever

    Whale Rider is empowering, moving and all-around wonderful. Enjoyable for all adult audiences. One of the best movies I've ever seen. I HIGHLY recommend this movie. If you don't see it you'll be missing out BIG TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    For future warrior saints

    A really sweet and wonderful story. For all the young girls who like to run with the boys and for the women they grew up to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best films of 2003

    I have recommended this film to all of my friends and family. Unfortunately, it was not in wide release in most cities, and here in Hawaii. Unless you seeked it out, you would have missed it. How sad that in our society films of this nature are not seen more than some of the rubbish that is produced in Hollywood today! I hope that more people will buy the DVD or video upon its release this month. It would make a great gift for any age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2