Customer Reviews for

What Dreams May Come

Average Rating 5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    The amazing special effects, the heart felt story line, and acting in this movie, make this my favorite movie of all time. this movie also opened me up to a new way of thinking about the after life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What Dreams May Come - the DVD

    This was an amazing movie. I highly recommend it. Several of my male friends said that they had trouble following the story. It did frequently shift in time. By that I mean that the movie showed segments of the main characters' lives together - but not in order by time. If you want to see a movie that is beautiful visually and shows a metaphysical interpretation of the Afterlife, this movie is for you. It also deals with the subject of depression, so you experience both happiness and sadness while viewing the movie. Robin Williams was absolutely fantastic as always. The other actors were also terrific. It gave me lots of things to muse about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Acting, Vistually Stunning!

    I have always really liked Robin Williams, ever since I was a kid, when I saw him in both Hook Mrs. Doubtfire, and Jack. I'm sure we all remember those ones. Ever since, I have seen a lot of his movies, such as Awakengings, Flubber, etc...but there are still some that I hadn't gotten around to seeing, including this one. I was finally at this pawn shop the other day and found a copy of this for $2, so I went ahead and bought it. I had always heard how good this movie was, and was glad to finally have an opportunity to watch it. I watched it the very next time I had a chance to watch something, and I loved it! It was an amazing movie! All of the actors did a great job in it, and it was indeed very visually stunning in some parts. This does, in no way, quite do justice to what I am still thinking that heaven will look like, but for what was humanly possible to portray, they did a great job. Also, I don't believe that once you're in hell, you can be pulled from it, unless the divine decided upon it, but in any case, my opinion aside, this movie was still very well made and very powerful & emotional, and there is stuff to be learned from it none the less. I would definitely recommend giving this one a watch, or even just buying it, if you have never seen it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What Dreams May Come

    What Dreams May Come starring Robin Williams and Cuba Gooding Jr. is a visually stunning and breathtakingly emotional masterpiece! It is the story of a man's great love for his wife and his perilous journey from heaven to the gates of hell in his quest to rescue her from eternal damnation. The cherished moments of his life on earth with his family guide him along the way and serve as a reminder of how precious life is. It is ultimately about eternal and unconditional love and how such a love can inspire a person to achieve the seemingly impossible! It is a powerful, fantastic and wonderful film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic and moving - uplifting and breathtaking!

    This movie is phenomenal...I love the whole concept of the man having to travel through Heaven to figue things out and find his children...and when his wife commits suicide, travels through Hell to bring her back. Robin Williams outshines once again in an unforgettable and brilliant perfomance and everyone fills their roles perfectly. This is a fabulous movie - great to watch with a loved one or by yourself. One of my personal favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Dreams

    I love this story. It gives me hope that my husband and I will be reunited in the after-whatever. That true love is strong enough to conquer everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Endless Love!!!

    This is all time favorite movie in the world. This movie touched my soul and stayed in my heart. This movie put into to action what I always thought about love and death. That even after death, true/real love doesn't die. This movie is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must for those in pain

    I had this movie recommended to me after the loss of my sister (to a drunk driver). I can not stress enough the hope and tears it has allowed me to ramble through. I see life differently and I accept death differently. It is the string that allows me to keep on the adventure here as I long to be with those who have gone before me. I make this movie my Valentine's Day ritual for I have lost my borther, my brother-in-law, my sister and the one I love. This movie helps me with those losses in the hope that it is close to the truth. It certainly is the truth I want to believe. Watch it, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What Dreams May Come

    While a world without tragedy may be desirable for us mortals, it is unfortunately not in our fate. Sometimes everyday people with normal lives are thrust into calamity. And sometimes that calamity is so devastating, our faith and happiness are quickly smeared into mud. If anyone can imagine their child dying in a gory accident, they still cannot imagine the internal agony that would follow. Now double that tragedy. Triple that tragedy, and you have the basis for a heart-gripping and believable tale. The character, Annie, understandably, cannot easily recover from her loss and withdraws psychologically. As an artist, she is more prone to an emotional perception of her environment. While her painting has in good times expressed her joy, in controls her brushes also in the bad times. The theme of artist palette becomes an underpainting to the visual renderings of the film. Her pain en velops her, and she commits suicide. The movie follows this dark course, but delivers a twist. It offers hope. While delivering the audience through a powerful action-filled experience into the afterlife, it is laced with an encryption of spiritual enlightenment. Chris¿s journey to rescue his soulmate Annie is a moving decline through graphic levels of hell. As he struggles through fallen souls and wrecked landscapes, his appreciation of the gift of inner life becomes more apparent. Although most traditional religious thought is unclear in their written doctrines on suicide, leaving the outcome of suicide victims open to mortal pessimists, this story offers a brighter take. In this new view, the audience is able to transcend the judgements of theorists, and discover an afterlife that is as mutable as oil colors on a plate of glass. A beautiful rendition. Only in discovering who we are, and why we are where we are, are we finally able to attain the heavenlike destiny that God has set aside for us. Perhaps in the real afterlife we are not saturated with doctrination and separated by denomination. Hopefully we humans are finally able to set aside our prejudices of religious zealism and ignorance that so seperates us here. Wishfully, we will discover a world that is how God intented, a world like we can imagine in this visual movie. Without revealing too much of the ending, believe that this story will lift you in the end, and give you dreams as vivid as rainbows. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What Dreams May Come

    A Coil of Hope, in color, November 30, 2003 Reviewer: snowphish1 (see more about me) from Earth While a world without tragedy may be desirable for us mortals, it is unfortunately not in our fate. Sometimes everyday people with normal lives are thrust into calamity. And sometimes that calamity is so devastating, our faith and happiness are quickly smeared into mud. If anyone can imagine their child dying in a gory accident, they still cannot imagine the internal agony that would follow. Now double that tragedy. Triple that tragedy, and you have the basis for a heart-gripping and believable tale. The character, Annie, understandably, cannot easily recover from her loss and withdraws psychologically. As an artist, she is more prone to an emotional perception of her environment. While her painting has in good times expressed her joy, it controls her brushes also in the bad times. The theme of artist palette becomes an underpainting to the visual renderings of the film. Her pain envelops her, and she commits suicide. The movie follows this dark course, but delivers a twist. It offers hope. While delivering the audience through a powerful action-filled experience into the afterlife, it is laced with an encryption of spiritual enlightenment. Chris's journey to rescue his soulmate Annie is a moving decline through graphic levels of hell. As he struggles through fallen souls and wrecked landscapes, his appreciation of the gift of inner life becomes more apparent. Although most traditional religious thought is unclear in their written doctrines on suicide, leaving the outcome of suicide victims open to mortal pessimists, this story offers a brighter take. In this new view, the audience is able to transcend the judgements of theorists, and discover an afterlife that is as mutable as oil colors on a plate of glass. A beautiful rendition. Only in discovering who we are, and why we are where we are, are we finally able to attain the heavenlike destiny that God has set aside for us. Perhaps in the real afterlife we are not saturated with doctrination and separated by denomination. Hopefully we humans are finally able to set aside our prejudices of religious zealism and ignorance that so seperates us here. Wishfully, we will discover a world that is how God intented, a world like we can imagine in this visual movie. Without revealing too much of the ending, believe that this story will lift you in the end, and give you dreams as vivid as rainbows. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful and Fantastic

    This movie is so moving. It is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Wonderful performances from wonderful actors. And the story! Very heart-warming. Vivid and powerful imagery. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For those who have recently dealt with death

    I recommend this movie for those who might have lost loved ones and wonder what might come after death. I've recently lost my father and I've just returned from a memorial for a man who died too soon from melanoma. I decided I wanted to see again the vision this movie provides of what may come after. For me it some things I've sensed at times in my life, and also read about. My wife and I have seen it several times, and it brings tears of emotion to both of us. It is also visually stunning and very well acted. I love the movie from start to finish, and recommend it to those who have lost a loved one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The title says it all

    What Dreams May Come is one of the Best movies I have ever seen. Robin Williams made you feel the love for his wife and family and all that you will do to be with the ones you have love and lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantasy and Romance all in one!

    What Dreams May Come is a fantastic movie that should definately be watched with family! I love how heaven is portrayed as a place where you feel at peace, and how hell is portrayed as a place where souls wander forever. This movie is very suspensful as well as a tear-jerker. Never before have I watched a movie and actually stayed until the ending. This movie is great. I recommend it to anyone who needs a good cry! ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WONDERFUL

    Ok, What can I say about this wonderful piece of art. This move moved me in ways I will never be able to explain. It gives you and total different outlook on life. Watch it and trust me!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutly soul shaking!!!!

    This movie has an incredible effect on people. If you are going thru a rough time this movie will not only save you but give you drive to continue. For anybody that gave up on true love ,a little more faith will come your way after this movie!!!! Enjoy!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Beacon of Hope

    The most stupendous film ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie Ever!

    This has to be one of the best movies ever created! This also was the first movie I cried through. After watching this, I have a total new take on life. The plot of the movie was excellent along with the effects and characters. I recommend this video to anyone who is lost in life and needs help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Vision of Shared Realities

    This is a mind expanding story of a soul's travel through shared visions and realities. If I were a movie maker, this is the movie I would have liked to have made. The story is based on a vast body of metaphysical NON-fiction and actually only hints at the nature of reality beneath the surface of the characters' experiences. (See the book by the same name for a bibliography.) Chris, the central character, demonstrates the highest goal of a human being, true selfless love, as he makes the Christ-like decision to enter into an almost inescapable vision of hell to save another. The movie has a wonderful story and a wonderful vision, itself, which may be difficult for some people to share. Therefore I give it my highest recommendation, but only to people of an open-minded and inquisitive nature. Others may find it too much to swallow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A story about life

    This is not a gushy movie about finding and keeping the perfect love. It is a story about the pain of life and thoughts on what happens after death. The actors and directors have captured some of the most tender moments between the characters. It makes you wish that you could find this kind of depth of feeling in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2