Customer Reviews for

William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!!!!!

    I saw the movie today. It made me cry & thuink of everyone I love. Also that Leonardo was HOT!!!!!!!!!! Believe me this will make you feel in love!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet

    First off, Claire Danes should never be allowed near a Shakespeare book ever again. You can tell that she didn't understand most of what she's saying. DiCaprio is only slightly better. Probably the most classic scene in all of English literature, the balcony scene, has them diving into a pool in the Capulet's backyard. Romeo is on drugs before he meets Juliet at the party, while Mercutio goes to the party as a cross dresser. All of the characters are reduced to nothing more than common gangsters in a Miami-esque Verona Beach, speeding around in convertibles and waving "sword" guns. The only scene I did like was tomb scene- that was an interesting take that I rather enjoyed, and I thought that was beautifully done. The rest of it was a sad attempt at modernizing Shakespeare. Needless to say it didn't work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet

    Wow. This made me sick, sad, and angry at the same time. It's insulting to Shakespeare and the story of Romeo and Juliet. DiCaprio is actually surprisingly decent, but the attempt to modernize the story failed disastrously. Gangsters in Verona Beach? Honestly? I didn't know whether to laugh of cry. The great Shakespearean characters of Benvolio, Mercutio, and Tybalt are disgraced. Benvolio is portrayed as stupid slob, Mercutio as a cross dresser for God's sake, and Tybalt hisses (they took the name just a tad too far). Lords Capulet and Montague are nothing more than corporate slime, with their wives running around like mad women. The first scene with Lady Capulet is sincerely scary. The narration is told through television reporters. I can't count of one hand the number of times I wanted to stop this movie, but I kept telling myself that it would get better. It didn't. People try to say this is Shakespeare just because they use the dialogue, but sloppy guys in unbuttoned Hawaiian shirts at gas stations and pool halls spouting thou's and art's makes it even more distracting. During the first ten minutes, I honestly thought it was a joke- this couldn't be the real movie, right? In the end, I was just ashamed that this is being called Shakespeare. Do me a favor, and don't see this movie- for real Romeo and Juliet, watch Zeffirelli's 1968 version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good.

    I loved Leonardo DiCaprio and Clair Danes. The ending I thought was good and bad. I liked it when Juliet was awake while Romeo was dying. Though the timing was just devastating, why was it so close? Anyway I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Wow! i was absolutely apalled at this version of romeo and juliet. First of all what is up with romeo doing drugs!!! second of all there is a really good reason why it is called the balcony scene not the pool scene. The balcony scene is supposed to be the most romantic part of the play.Shakespeare is probably screaming his lungs out!!!!please stick to the 1968 version and avoid this........Dissapointment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing!!

    The first time I watched this, ugh, I HATED it. I thought that it was so dumb that it was set in modern time but they weren't talking like they were. I thought it was the worst movie ever. Anyway, I had to read the play for school, and I decided to watch it again. It was so, so much better, because I actually understood what was going on. I ended up watching it twice in a row, and it is one of my favorite movies. :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a piece of sh--!! Shakespeare must be turning in his grave. Stick to the 1968 film version and West Side Story.

    What a piece of work is a man...and an utter piece of sh-- THIS version is. William Shakespeare and Sir Laurence Olivier must be turning in their graves. Kenneth Branagh must be utterly apalled. AVOID this version at all costs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    gorgeous!

    I first watched the film in class because we have to do it for coursework but me and my friends were soon obsessed! our teacher lent us the movie and we watched it over and over, the fish tank scene is soooo cute and romantic and the music is sensational. i've now downloaded all the songs on my iPod! well worth a watch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    I first saw this movie when I was 10 years old and it introduced me into the world of shakespeare. I recently saw it again and realized that there is so much depth to what I thought was a simple love movie! The movie was right on point with trying to make a shakespeare play appeal to the Masses. The movie provides an excellent alternative to the plays and other renditions of Romeo and Juliet that would put many to sleep... this movie was fast-paced, modern, and extremely well directed. The acting, especially by Claire Danes and Leonardo dicaprio were very authentic and believable. The set, costumes, colors, and whole idea is breathtaking! Never will you see another movie that shows such an advanced connection between the characters. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I shan't protest

    I was pretty skeptical when I first started watching it, I mean, come on, Leonardo DiCaprio talking Shakespeare? I was almost embarrassed to watch. But after a while, I was sucked in. The humor was well placed, and the fast-pace-ness was just...amazing, the lines were well delivered, and the music hightened the story even more! I think I watched the whole thing about three times in a row. It's definitely a keeper and a movie that I will remember always. Definitely one to be recommended -- especially for the newer generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    On of my favourite films

    I think this film is fantastic, i have watched it over and over again to capture what it's really about. The star-crossed lovers are very impressive in the film, along with Tybalt who was one of my favourite characters, i think Baz Luhrmann really made an impressive move making this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't judge too quickly.....

    Sure. Romeo and Juliet is one of Shakespeare's greatest plays and it should be preserved 100%. But the work that they did in this version is outstanding! Even if you totally disagree with the theme it stays true to what Romeo and Juliet is. The actors are superb and the use of the city is beautiful and breathtaking. All in all- I don't know who could have done a better job on this play!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME

    Who ever think this movie is horriable is totally STUPID! I have been watching it in my 9th grade english class because we are doing Romeo and Juliet we watched the one made in the 60's and every one in my class think this one is 10 times better, because it is newer and juliet dosen't sound so fake when she crys. By t he way all the guys in this movie are hot!!!! I also like how this is different excpecially the ending!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE

    how anyone could turn a classic shakspeare play into this is beyond me...too fast paced, the lines are delivered dreadfully and the casting was stupid...shame on everyone who enjoyed it...where is your taste?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved it!

    This is a movie that will stay with me forever. i think i liked the whole movie. the only part i didn't like was how they both end up dieing. i wish there was a different ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie Was Amazing

    I absolutely loved the modernized movie. Leonardo Decaprio was awesome for the part of Romeo! I liked Claire Danes as Juliet, but I think they maybe could've picked somebody else. It was great though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED IT!!!

    this movie was so good!! i loved it!! Leonardo Dicaprio was so sexy!! i jus loved him in this movie he played Romeo great!!! Claire Danes was awsome!! she did a great job!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I like it so far...

    I just started watching this movie and i like it so far. leonardo plays romeo very well and claire danes plays juliet well. and, all the other characters are very fun and acted out well. although, if you can not stand shakespeare, i do not recommend this movie. the whole movie is spoken in shakespeare's language!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shakespeare Beautifully Modernized

    I absolutely adored the play, and I was quite impressed by this lovely modernization of it. I thought it was wonderfully unique how the original dialogue was kept in the modern setting, and although it seems a bit odd at first you quickly get used to it. Claire Danes made a great Juliet. However, I give this film four stars because, although Leanardo DeCaprio is an incredible actor and he was quite good in this movie, he wasn't incredible. That, and I was dissapointed by the death scene, and the timing of Juliet's awakening which was not accurate. But despite these minor flaws, this was overall a great film and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rollercoaster ride

    When I first watched this I hated the first half hour, and loved the rest, but on subsequent viewings - knowing just what to expect - I loved all of it. Baz, as always, tosses the first 30 minutes at you like a live grenade, and it takes a while to realize he's actually thrown a flower. On each viewing the language is easier to understand, and the artistry more apparent. [ And the opening seems less loud and obnoxious and more visionary.] Definitely a to-buy and rewatch movie. MediaMale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5