BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A review from a guy who watches movies!!

    An excellent movie!!! No doubt about it!!! This is what Romeo and Juliet would have looked like if Shakespeare was alive today!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    riveting. visually stunning yet beautifully rendered Shakespeare

    riveting. visually stunning yet beautifully rendered Shakespeare!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    I think the director hit on Shakespeare┬┐s intention. You can cle

    I think the director hit on Shakespeare’s intention. You can clearly see the original story but with a contemporary turn to it. This would make it better for high school students to understand. Luhrmann made sure that when you watch this movie full of fun and action, he will have you thinking this is nothing like what’s in the book, when really it’s the same story line. His use of details in the movie shows clearly what happen from the exposition to the resolution. I think if Shakespeare wanted Romeo and Juliet to be a movie this would have been it.      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    very wonderful ! better than the orginal. Leo did a great job as

    very wonderful ! better than the orginal. Leo did a great job as Romeo and i recommend this movie to all the Leo fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite movie

    This is my favorite film, something I had to hide from my crew of blue collar, hard drinking and street fighting friends growing up. I've always loved Shakespeare (another interest I hid for too long), and the idea of having his most well-known story re-told in a pseudo modern setting was something I couldn't resist. Thankfully, it didn't disappoint in the least.

    The acting, characters (obviously, set pieces and costumes, score.....everything about this movie was exquisite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    romantic

    a good romance movie to watch with the boys. filled with excitment and fun costumes. a wonderful job on messing the old with the new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This was a great movie

    From finish to end, this movie was great. Leo and Claire did a wonderful job acting. The story was easy to follow because of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My only love sprung from my only hate

    I never liked Shakespeare. In fact it is safe to say that I absoloutly HATED him. My teacher said I should watch Romeo and Juliet, the Leo version, I watched it and I fell in love. I could easily recite the Balcony scene for you with 15 grapes shoved in my mouth. The directing skills of Baz continue to amaze me. This movie shows real love, and also real hate, and how the fight of elders can effect even the most innocent of lovers. I highly reccomend this movie! I'd give it 10000000 stars if I could!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST VERSION EVER!!!!

    I've seen the normal version of this story and it was pretty hard to pay attention. But with this version....WOW! I couldnt wait to see the entire movie! Not only because Leonardo DeCaprio was in it, but because this is my all time favorite romance story EVER! So, who ever wants to watch a movie on this famous romanc-tragedy tale has got to see this version of it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not your classic R+J? Guess what, I don't care

    If you want the lines delevered with the right pacing and the up and down beats, watch the 60's version. You want to see a classic seting and coustume, watch the 60's version. You want to see a different and refreashing take on your R+J watch this. Yeah, it's not the classic R+J but people need to realive that the other version isn't the classic either. The classic is writen by the bard himself and no other can come close. Both oposing films are a directors take on the play, not the real thing. Gosh, you people and your films are like the Montague's and the Capulet's. Both fighting for no appearnt reason. So take a break from your DVD players and read the play again, before you forget what the true Romeo and Juliet is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!

    I watched this version of it in school and it was amazing.. i know otehr peopel say its boring but i loved it. you never no what is going to happen next. we would read a scene then watch the sceen. i coulndnt take it anymore so i had to watch the rest of the movie. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    O tho Romeo Tis my Lady Tis my love which a rose can smell so sweet

    This is a very romantic movie as Leonardo Dicapreao as Romeo and Clarie Danes as Juliet I like the scene where Romeo and Juliet fall into the pool and make love to each other I'ts sad though at the end Romeo dies and Juliet kills herself but it must be based on a true story of two young lovers Romeo and Juliet O Romeo where O tho Romeo? Tis my lady tis my love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best movie of 1996

    I love romeo+juliet becuse of the romantic scenes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    outstanding hardly says it

    I have seen this film several times now, and each time I see, I enjoy it a little more. Everybody who discredits it is just biased towards what is considered the "true" Shakespeare version, and unwilling to accept change or merit an artists freedom of interpretaion. I enjoy both versions of the film and hold neither above the other, but I am willing to go along with Raz and not hate his work simply because it's different. I whole-heartedly enjoyed this film and encourage anyone who is a fan of the timeless tragedy to go and see it for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting....

    There are many good points and just totally messed up point in this movie. Good points include fantastic acting, a fairly good set and very good music. Mr. Baz's(director)interprets this well known Shakespearean play into a high energy, teenage movie. Its bad points are as follows: His interpretation is not so good. One honestly sometimes gets lost with the Shakespearean language. The language looks so weird in the modern time and it takes adjusting to. Overall, it was a very unique viewing experience, and I would not mind watching it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romeo and Juliet in a new Perspective

    This is a very unique story. Romeo and Juliet is my favorite story of all time. I love William Shakespeare. I loved how the movie was in a new time, it shows kids to get a better grasp on the wonderful love story of sacrifice, love, and wonderful descriptional writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    horrible

    This movie was absolutely horrible! I had to turn it off. You can't even call it Shakespeare. If you want to watch the real tragedy of Romeo and Juliet then watch Franco Zeferelli's version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Wonderful Movie

    I am now studying this in English class and when I saw this for the first time I thought "It's completly different from the actual story line and it doesn't stay true to the original...but once I learned the language a bit better and saw the old Romeo and Juliet with Olivia Hussey I seemed to be able to get into it alot more. I love the modern twist on the story line and how they kept the old language because it still teaches the teenagers the language of Shakespeare but gives them something a bit more modern to relate too. I thought it was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best movie ever!!!

    this is the most spectacular and romantic vesion of romeo and juliet i have ever seen... ...and i can actually understand it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT!! OUTSTANDING!!

    I read this story in my English class and thought at first, "What in the world-?!" then, after my teacher translated everything for us and read it for us and he showed this movie and the 1968 version, I fell in love with the story immediately. Leonardo DiCaprio does an excellent job as Romeo and Claire Danes did her part as Juliet extremely well, too. I highly reccommend this movie to any Shakespeare reader and for the modern day movie lover. I plan on buying this VERY soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5