Customer Reviews for

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Charlie and the Chocolate Factory movie

    Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory is, to me, the definitive film version of Roald Dahl's classic children's book Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Its psychedelic colors and musical numbers capture the playful quirkiness of the book, while Slugworth's menacingly abrupt appearances and the children's willful, selfish behavior underscore the film with just the right tone of darkness. Gene Wilder is wonderful as Willy Wonka, hitting a pitch-perfect note of childlike fascination and shrewd businessman. And the chocolate factory seems so real that every time I watch it, I can't help but wish I were there touring it with all the golden ticket winners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the greatest movie's of all time!

    This movie is a classic, I can't get enough of it. It's great for a moive night with the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Movie!

    This widescreen edition is excellent. It's a fun story. Gene Wilder is wonderful. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely a classic...

    This take on the Roald Dahl novel is more fun than the recent remake. <BR/><BR/>The visuals of the chocolate factory are wonderous but can be disturbing. The songs are fun and carry the plot along. Especially the songs of the Oompa-Loompas, which describe the lessons that the watcher should be learning from the naughty children.<BR/><BR/>Gene Wilder is amazing and will always be the only Willy Wonka for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the most awesomest movie ever!

    this is such a great movie for everyone at any age. Gene Wilder is a fantastic actor and does a wonderful job with his character. Personally i don't recommend Charlie and the Chocolate Factory with Johnny Depp, although a great actor, the character Willy Wonka and the whole sense of the movie is lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Absolute Must See

    This movie is delightful. There is one very small scene when they are in the boat that is kind of scary for kids(which only last seconds), but the movie has a great message for all of us, SHARING. Buy the movie, I guarantee you and your children will love it. The entire cast does a excellent job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure Imagination

    This movie captures much of the excitement that you feel as a child eating candy. But, the movie is much more than a musical set in a chocolate factory, it's possible one of the greatest dark-comedies to ever grace the silver screen. The way it is presented and the dialogue makes not only enjoyable and funny, but thought provoking and melancholy at the same time. Gene Wilder as the chocolatier is your guide through this land of adventure, lessons, self-exploration, and ultimately wonder. The essence of the dark comedic value of this film is laid in the scene in tunnel aboard the Wonkatania. This scene is a variable kalidascope of spliced scenes of insects, beheadings of chickens, and all manner of destruction and chaos and the added soliliquoy of Wilder is nearly as un-nerving as the images themselves. The childrens choices are themselves minature "life lessons" in the priciples of karma and not being overwhelmed by the greed of the world. Wonka's mission is to find a child that is unique and gifted in their nature and that they are able to resist tempations. In a final thought, this film is meant to be enjoyed by all ages from young to old, but it also contains a very dark undertheme that is nearly as important as the comedic value of the film itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    I loved this movie and can't wait for the remake with Jonny depp to come out in july... 'CHewing gum is really gross, Chewing gum i hate the most' haha Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    CLASSIC

    probably one of the most crazy a$$ movies i've ever seen. i mean who can include fat german boys, orange skinned green haired midgets and oversized insects in the same movie? GENIOUS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT FOR ALL AGES!

    I have watched this movie over and over and never get tired of it...I clearly recall the first time I saw this film 30 years ago as a child of 10. Now , as a grown man of 40, I find this film is just a fun as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    A true children's and adult classic!!

    Just a fun movie to watch even now when I am grown up! TAKE THE KIDS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    IT WAS COOL!

    I LOVED ROALD DAHLS GREAT IMAGINATION! ALSO GRANDPA JOE AND CHARLIE! AND WILLY WONKA!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Delicious!

    Best kids movie made ever! Saw the original in the theater and watch it every year, the ''Pure Imagination'' is excellent! Yummy movie! Wilder is perfect as Won

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Willy Wonka And The COOL MOVIE!

    Some may argue that this move has not plot nor point, But that is what makes it great! This movie is so free formed and unpredictable that there is excitement at every turn. One can't help but love this movie with Gene Wilder's wonderful performance and Roald Dahl's wonderful imagination. THIS MOVIE ROCKS!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    Greatest Kids classic

    Such a twisted adventure. Everyone should enjoy this classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2001

    This is a wonderful movie!

    This is a wonderful movie! I never get tired of watching it. The songs are wonderful and I just recently bought this movie on DVD at a store and sorry to say it was in full screen format. I never seen the movie in widescreen until now here on Barnes and Noble. I would love to see it it wide screen! I will keep the full screen and then we will have a choice to watch it either way. I just would like to say I just love Gene Wilder! His acting is great! The other actors and kids are just so great! I was just 8 years old when this film was released in 1971 and I remember my parents taking me to see it at the theater. The songs and music is wonderful. There is so much great stuff to say about this film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So Sweet it will kill a diabetic!

    Not only visually appealing, mouth-watering, witty and entertaining but also a strong message for kids not to be ''brats'' and be good, kind boys and girls like Charlie. Oompah Loompahs are movie Icons and everyone can sing the song! Great for kids and adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A masterpiece for generations..

    There are very few titles I can think of that still capture my heart as they did when I was young. This one still pulls at my heartstrings and as an added bonus, my 3 year old son absolutely enjoys it as well. It is somewhat of a bonding experience when we watch it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure magic

    A film that combines childhood dreams and visual pleasure...a masterpiece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Favorite Movie

    In the movie there is sly humor and funny songs. It made me dream of being trapped in a fun house like the chocolate factory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2