Customer Reviews for

Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Had to replace

    I have this movie on LD (Laser Disc). Would have updated to Blu Ray but not available. Had to get on DVD LD is gone now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous sailboat racing visuals

    If it weren't for the fabulous sailboat racing visuals, this movie would be just OK. But the racing scenes are exceptionally well done, putting the viewer right on deck for America's Cup races and others. Anyone who has ever raced a sailboat will feel the blood pumping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Sailboat Racing

    If you have ever sailed with the one you love, or have raced with those that love the competition, this movie has it both. The story is a bit long, but the racing sequences are superb! Incredible photography and music has you right in the race. Matthew Modine and Jennifer Grey do a fine job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where's The Soundtrack?????

    Beautiful movie - the sailing scenes are great. But, why isn't there a soundtrack to be found? If anyone knows where to find one, please let me know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my top 5 all time favorite movies

    Fabulous sailing scenes! Wish I knew how they photographed them. Skarsgard is perfect. Jennifer Gray is beautiful and smart. Modine super. The plot of kids who will try to win America's Cup is silly, but, heck, this is entertainment not a history lesson. Flying scenes are tops. Humor is here -- the works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Sailing footage - HORRIBLE movie

    Yes, the sailing footage is beautiful and the best I've ever seen. But to enjoy the film I suggest you turn off the sound and skip past everything but the saling scenes. While the film is beautiful they play very fast and loose with such little things like 'rules'. Cliff Robertson has said how horrible his direction was. After building a character for the length of the film suddenly being directed to play a scene completely opposite of all he'd done up until then. And no, this is not historical in any sense. If you want the history of recapturing the cup you'd do well to read Dennis Connor's book ''Comeback; My Race for the America's Cup.''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite movie ever!

    Admittedly, I am a rabid sailing fan but this movie being one of the few dedicated to sailing and probably the only one dedicated to the America's Cup has it all; Great sailing, a plausable story line, and a superb soundtrack. I own very few movies and this is one of them. Everything that happened on the water has actually happened in an America's cup whth the possible exception of ''ignoring'' the rules in the last race. Even the basic premice of loosing and then winning the next cup contest happened in 1983 and 1987, just ask Dennis Conner. Watch it. If you are a sailor, own it. If you are an America's cup fan, own the DVD, You won't be sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    for sailors everywhere

    this is a movie for all sailors alike. i teech sailing and my students enjoy this movie asmuch as i do. the racing scenes rivel those of todays americas cup shots and it is a true story about denis connor. it is just a really neat sailing movie. i would recoment it evan if you dont sail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!

    If you are a die-hard sailor, or even remotely related to the wonderful sport of sailing, this is a ''must-see'' movie. The sailing scenes are incredible. This is a the closest thing to actually sailing the AC. The love plot, a little cheesey I will grant you, but a great movie none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2001

    Need to see this in DVD

    Wonderful scenes of sailing. Shows the uninitiated what sailing is all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2001

    SLEEPER

    Great action racing scenes and photography! Love those drums! DVD DEFINITELY NEEDED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2000

    Great sail racing footage, MUST BE MADE IN DVD!!!!!

    If you race sail boats this movie is for you. Great footage of big boat racing, what it really needs is a letterbox DVD release. The Intl 14 stuff is a little cheesy but worth seeing. The love story is standard Hollywood, they could have cut that and put more sailing footage in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1