BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

With a Song in My Heart

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Two Great Ladies!!

    This film is fantastic. It leaves no doubt whatsoever that Jane Froman was a great patriot and a great lady as well. But let's not forget the actress who gave us this wonderful portrait - - Susan Hayward - - who was Oscar-nominated for her role as Jane Froman in this film. In the hands of a less skilled actress, the film could easily have been a turkey, which wouldn't have done justice to Ms. Froman or to her remarkable story. It took two great ladies to make this one, Jane to live it and Susan to recreate it. A respectful nod must also be given to Thelma Ritter for a great performance as the nurse and friend who helped Ms. Froman through her multiple surgeries, and to a very young Robert Wagner in the touching role of a soldier who meets Ms. Froman twice - - once as an optimistic, happy, fit young soldier, then later as a wounded veteran suffering from shell-shock. This film rings all the bells and touches all the heartstrings, so make sure you've got Kleenex handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SAY IT WITH MUSIC

    I grew up cutting my teeth on wonderful movies that were made in Hollywood and brought magic into my life. I remember well the wonderful story about Jane Froman and the terrible plane crash she was in but survived and continue to have a Song in Her Heart. Now to find out, that a DVD will be released on home video, that will allow me to learn the rest of Jane Froman's life of song, makes me so excited. Then along comes along an extra unexpected serendipity that gives me A Song in my heart, too--a book, penned by a successful children's author, Ms. Barbara Seuling. This biography will give me the remainder of the story until the time Of Ms. Froman's death, in 1980. With all of the violence in our world, it is like a breath of fresh air to once again enjoy Hollywood of the 'golden days' when movie stars were class acts. I look forward to the publication of Ms. Seuling's book and to the release of the DVD. Thanks to Boxing Day Books for being so wise to publish the book: "Say It With Music". I can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Double Treat!

    What a treat that the 1950s movie about Jane Froman, A SONG IN MY HEART, is now available on DVD! It not only gives those who loved it years ago a chance to bask all over again in her marvelous voice and her uplifting story, but also creates an opportunity for new generations to be introduced to this talented and courageous singer. And that’s not all! There’s another treat also coming this fall in honor of Froman’s 100th birthday: Barbara Seuling’s new biography of her, SAY IT WITH MUSIC, which covers the years after 1945 when the movie ends, thereby completing Froman’s amazing life story. Seuling was both a fan and a friend of this great singer, and therefore is able to give her story a truly personal touch. With the happy combination of DVD and book, perhaps Jane Froman is finally on her way to the lasting recognition she deserves for her unique contribution to American popular music and her extraordinarily generous and courageous life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Only half the story

    I loved Jane Froman's singing and her life story was inspirational, and this film does a pretty good job of telling half of it. It takes Jane up to about the age of 38, but she lived another 35 years after that! Since Hollywood never made another film about the second half of Jane's life, I was thrilled to find out that a new book is coming out in conjunction with Jane's 100th birthday called SAY IT WITH MUSIC. Barbara Seuling was an original Fromanette. Now a highly successful children's book author, she penned Jane's full biography. She knows what she's talking about from personal experience. She knew Jane very well. I can't wait until the movie is finally released in DVD -- what took so long? -- and the book comes out -- thank you, Ms. Seuling -- so I can watch the movie and read the book and get Jane's full story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The story continues....

    WITH A SONG IN MY HEART is a superb musical, with many standards from the American Popular Songbook represented. The film chronicles the life of Froman up until her return to performing in the States, after entertaining the troops valiantly overseas during World War II. I can't wait for the upcoming biography "Say It With Music," by Barbara Seuling, who was a friend of Froman and knew her from the 1950's through her death in 1980's. Seuling covers the Froman story the movie did not include, primarily her active nightclub career, her television show, and her work with various charities. For Froman completists, this is the book to look forward to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie is great, but much more to her story

    Jane Froman's story is one of patriotism and heroism. It is a shame that few young women today know about her, and they should see the movie, as well as read the new book coming out soon about Jane's life, by Barbara Seuling. I've read excerpts from this new book, and it includes alot of fascinating information about Jane. Perhaps the book should also be on the reading list of today's celebrities, so they can see that it is possible for popular entertainers to have character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Early Christmas

    What a wonderful early Christmas gift!! My sister, Sheila J, and I have been waiting a long time for this one to come out on DVD. One of our all-time favorite movies. Susan Hayward not only looks like Jane Froman, but she does one of the most outstanding lip-synching jobs on film and her mannerisms are so spot on they even surprised Jane Froman. Thank you DVD gods.....now how about "Taras Bulba" and "The Tamarind Seed"?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally

    When I was 12 years old, I saw With a Song in My Heart. This movie impacted me greatly. Jane Froman became my heroine. Here voice was thrilling. Her story of awe-inspiring. The day I saw the movie, I saw in the papers that Jane's husband had been hurt in a plane crash. The paper published Jane's home address and my friends and I began to visit Jane's home and hang out on her stoop. When her TV show premiered, we attended her shows. These early encounters were the beginning of a friendship that lasted until her death in 1980. Up until now, I've only had a copy of "With a Song in my Heart" videotaped from tv showings of the movie. This wonderful new DVD with added segments will help preserve all those memories for me. However, the movie only covers Jane Froman's life before 1948. Now there is a book by Barbara Seuling, "SAY IT WITH MUSIC, The Life and Legacy of Jane Froman." Barbara, too,was one of the fans who maintained a friendship with Jane until her death. This book not only tells Jane's story up to the end of the movie, but begins with her pioneer great-grandparents and continues with her amazing life through her death in 1980. I have read drafts of early chapters of the book and can't wait for publication to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Fabulous Voice of Jane Froman, the Greatest American Singer

    The fabulous voice of Jane Froman in the most exciting recordings and musical arrangements of all time now available for the first time on home video, combined with the superb acting of Susan Hayward. The story follows Jane's life from her early radio days, through her tragic plane accident in 1943. The movie then takes us through Jane's early surgeries and ends with her triumphant USO tours for the allied forces. The film was released in 1952 and depicts Jane's early life only through 1945. It will leave you crying and then jumping out of your seat cheering and wanting to know more. And there truly is so much more that happened between the the time that the movie ends in 1945 and the time of Jane's death in 1980. Those who fall in love with the movie will be thrilled to find out the "rest of the story" in Barbara Seuling's biography of Jane Froman entitled "Say It With Music" to be published through Boxing Day Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1