Customer Reviews for

Wonder Woman

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A STAR FINALLY GETS TO SHINE!

    i have always been a fan of WW as well as Batman. they are the only things about DC i have always Cared about (But Supergirl is getting there.) and with all the hype ol' Bats has been getting over the past couple of years i'm Glad Wonder Woman is Finally getting her time to prove why she one of the Greatest character in all of Comic Book Superhero world.
    the Movie was very good. the animation was good but WB has always done a great jobs with the DC. the story was well done and pretty much followed the genesis of the Wonder Woman epic with only a few minor details either ommited of changed around - did not really distract me from liking the movie anymore or less of it. there was a lot of violence then the JLA series usually had and it did not shy away from lettiing you know that an enemy or friend was killed even by WW. i don't mean they talked about it but you knew it happened and it could not be avoided.
    they had the right amount of humor in it that wasn't getting in the way of the story too much and it wasn't patronizing but if the moive was a little longer the humor touches might have worn out its welcome.
    i'm glad i bought the Blue-ray edition of this because i will want to watch it again. and i will look foward to any others animated movies about her that comes my way.
    the extras are great two. 4 episodes of the JLA animated series that centered around her. and two Documentaries about the Histroy of Wonder Woman and William Marston Moultan;the creator of Wonder Woman and the other Documentary about the Mythology that was the Inspiration for her creation. which is why i started reading her in the first place. she had the best Myth story for any superhero. plus there is also a nice little behind the scenes/making of movie segment.
    Overall, it was quite an experince i had with this. Very much enjoyed this - i reccommend this highly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable

    This is a good rendition of Wonder Woman.I have read her comics when I was younger so this dvd holds to tradition.It is a good story with a lot of excitement.The amazons kick butt and look attractive at the same time.There are funny lines from the characters in the movie.Also they voice actors were chosen well.This is a good movie to enjoy with your family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Action packed from beginning to end!

    Loved it. So much action from beginning to end. A great value. Did not have to pack the family and go to the theater.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    She's a wonder, Wonder Woman!

    If you were'nt a fan of Wonder Woman's adventures apart from the Justice League, you will be! Nathan Fillian is the perfect Steve for the times-strong, adventurous, with an undercurrent of caring and a great sense of humor. Keri Russell's Diana definately satisfies me as the vision I had imn my mind when first heard her origin, with the perfect 2009 edge with her.

    Andrea Romano's voice casting is, as usual, superb. The special effects, quite effective! and the opening scene is worth the price of this DVD itself!

    This is the best of the DC Animated Features, to date. Makes you wish that they would hurry up to bring out the next movie, when they turn their eye to Green Lantern.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Stuff

    This was a lot better than most other 'super-hero' animated features that have come out in the last few years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Animation Movie I Have Ever Seen

    The Wonder Woman cartoon movie was fantastic. I loved it. It's now part of my treasured movie collection. It goes without saying, if you love reading comic books, this is a must watch movie. It's better than any animation movie based on a comic book character I've seen to date; and I include in that list Marvel Comics "Avengers: Ultimate" series and "Superman: Doomsday" movies. It beats them all. Entertainment Weekly said it better then I; "Wonder Woman has always been considered the third most-important DC Comics superhero, behind Superman and Batman, but when it comes to an original DVD film, she beats them both." I agree one hundred percent.

    What about you non comic book fans out there? Is this a movie worth seeing? Yes. Don't let the idea of a comic book character scare you into thinking this is something cheesy. Wonder Woman has an excellent story, wonderful acting, and stunning animation.

    The plot is well written and makes sense. You actually get a good explanation why someone would run around in a suit of red, white and blue. There are plot twists and scenes that make you think. But most of all, you have Steve Trevor played by Nathan Fillion, giving the film a hilarious slant to an action pact story. You may remember him from the starring role of the TV Show "Firefly" and the movie "Serenity". Don't mistake this for a comedy. It's a great action flick. I'm hoping DC Comics continues with this level of excellence.

    If you would like to see how far Wonder Woman has come, take a look at how she was portrayed in the 70's. Now that show was campy. Still, even the 1970's show had some entrainment value.

    Craig
    www.scifiohio.com
    www.monstrumblog.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best of DC animated movies!

    With the exception of the terrible "Public Enemies" I generally feel DC's animated original films are fantastic. However none shines brighter than Wonder Woman. This film is simply brilliant. The cast, animation, the story are all in perfect form. A must own. Before, Wonder Woman was just another good character in the DC's line-up of heroes; however this movie has made me a fan of the amazon princess. Keeping my fingers crossed for a second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great job!

    The latest offering from DC Comics is a sheer joy. The lead character is true to form, with no major alterations to character/origin or history. Good job all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I wonder what the were thinking?

    I am a huge fan of Wonder Woman, always have been always will be, and though this animated movie was decent it's nothing to brag on. First off the creators took way too many liberties with the story, and when they turned Steve Trevor into a perv that really got me. Vicki Lewis does the voice of Persephone, an Amazon, and she is horrible. Her every line sounds like she is sounding out the words, they're choppy and drug out in such away I at first thought my dvd was dragging and then realised, nope it's this woman doing the voice. Oliver Plat was the worst voice over for Hades, his lines were to quick and too much like he was reading from the script. They turned Hades into a fat slob, who is stupid and ignorant.
    But I guess the biggest dissapointment to the entire thing was that they made Wonder Woman, unpretty, and made her such a bossy cow, wonder woman came to America to help and learn, she wasn't blinded by her mothers hatred, like in this film.
    the fight scene at the end was not only boring and way too fast paced, and I mean way too fast, but confussing and slightly boring.
    In case you haven't scene the movie or know the story of Wonder Woman it goes like this, according to this movie, Long ago the Amazons faught a war against Ares, the God of War, as the queen of the Amazons,Hippolyta, was about to kill him, Zeus forbid her, Hera, the queen of the gods, came to them and told Hippolyta she would bind Ares with magic bands to make him mortal, and he would forever be the prisoner of the amazons on their Island, which Hera gave them as away of being safe from the world of man and she also promises the queen a child. Time passes and the quen makes a baby from sand, puts her blood on it, and the gods strike it with lightening and make Princess Diana. So the movie jumps to the princess being all grown up, and a piolent from America, Major Steve Trevor, is shot down and lands on Themyscira, the Amazons island, where he is taken prisoner, interogated by the magic lasso, and then the queen desides to return him to America because he is of no threat to them. She holds a contest and forbids the princess from competing, but she does under disguise and wins and becomes Wonder Woman. While all this is going on and Amazon frees Ares and they set out to destroy the world, so now Wonder Woman must stop Ares as well. The rest of the movie is Wonder Woman adapting to the world of man under the blindness her mother has beat into her head. In the end she must face off against Ares who has had his uncle Hades, to remove his bands and has started to throw the world into chaos. The ending is predictable and yet leaves it open for a sequal, hopefully they can hold true to the story of Wonder Woman better in a sequal then they did in this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1