Customer Reviews for

Woodstock - Director's Cut

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Woodstock 3 Days of Peace and Music Brings back memories!

    I saw This Movie at a theater in Chicago 40 years ago during my Senior High School Trip. I loved it then, I love it now. Imagine that many people assembling for such great music with out crime or violence. This wouldn't be possible now. I went to large Rock Concerts then and it was always a joyful event. We have not evolved well as a society. Too much violence, poverty and social dysfunction now. How wonderful to go back in time to a such a place and listen to such wonderful music!!! Great DVD!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A moment in time

    Michael Wadleigh did a wonderful job capturing a moment in time.

    It is a moment that I wish I was around to see. What the heck happened? It all seemed so idealistic.

    I won't mention the whole cast of terrific players, but I would like to make a special mention about Joan Baez and Joe Cocker.

    Watching this actually gives me hope. Hope that this kind of energy really can exist.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Baez reigns

    As the years go by and Woodstock becomes part of the historical myths and mists od the ers, the performance of Joan Baez emerges as the eternal and quitessential performance of that bizarre and unequaled event. Barefoot, pregnant and without accompaniment, Baez' performance epitomizes the pathos, idealism, tragedy and spirituality of that promising and troubled time. Rock and Roll comes and goes, yet this dazzling display of stripped down radical gospel became the symbol of that singular event.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Yasgur's Farm, 1969!!!

    I turned 18 a week before attending the Woodstock Festival. It remains to this day one of the most incredible experiences of my life, both in terms of music and of what human beings are truly capable. I've watched earlier versions of Woodstock that reminded me of those experiences but never really brought them to life again. All that has changed with this version! Due to the re-mastering of the soundtrack and perhaps because of the addition of extra cuts featuring interviews with people that were then kids like me, I was once again returned to Max Yasgur's farm and a life altering weekend of Woodstock!!! If you were there, this version of the DVD will take you back; if you never had the chance but want the experience, this DVD is a guaranteed return to that magnificent three days when every dream of the '60s came true in one long spectacular adventure!!! If it were possible, I would give this DVD 6, 7, or 8 stars!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great DVD except for one minor thing...

    I thought the Woodstock DVD was great except for one small thing. When John Sebastian was singing they show naked or almost naked little kids, about 2 years old and I found that just a little bit too much. Other than that the DVD was great and I would recommend to any fan of the late 60's or Woodstock

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A complete performance - we will celebrate the 80th too

    The weekend this happened I was working as a naval gunfire coordinator for Third Battalion, 7th Marines and Second Battalion, Fifth Marines on operation Mameluke Thrust. Had no idea such a thing was going on. I spent two and one-half years in Vietnam as a Marine Radio operator and rotated back to the States in the Spring of '70s.

    During the Summer while I was stationed at Cherry Point waiting to get out (hoping for an earlyout) and a buddy mentioned the movie Woodstock was showing at the theater in the town nearby. We had to stop by the Officer of the Deck to get his liberty card (I was a sergeant and needed none of such nonsense) and the Sergeant of the Deck told us the base commander had put the theater off limits because of "that commie movie playing there."

    Of course nothing so foolish as that deterred us. We drove directly to town and the theater. The heavy shore patrol presence forced a change in our plans - we went on to a town an hour away with a college in it and went right in to our best experience while we were on active duty.

    The movie was beyond any expectations we could have had. One particular song - Canned Heat: Going Up The Country - was especially meaningful. In the early Summer of '69 I was going out with a different grunt unit doing the same naval gunfire work. As we were waiting on the LZ for the helecopters one of the grunts took his cassette player out of his pack and said, "My sister sent me this tape she recorded of some of the songs that were popular back in the world."

    The first song on the tape was that Canned Heat song. The fit was perfect because we were "going up the country." That song has been in my heart ever since. That song and every single one of the rest on the DVD will take you to a place that no one alive on the earth today will ever be able to go to.

    I have always been counter culture and this one fits perfectly. When my depression gets unmanageable or my sadness becomes overwhelming, I retreat into my memories of those three days in upstate New York. If you want to try to understand the baby boomers this is a good starting point. Absolutely the best, bar none.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ahh Woodstock

    Brings back huge memories to someone who had the ticket and was going to go but was called in to work all weekend, and at last minute my girlfriend parents told her she could not go with me. After all we were only 18, where would my life have gone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1