Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent romantic period piece

Ralph Feinnes definitely made an impression on me in this film. His eyes, his voice... what a great performance. Juliette Binoche is always a treat and she doesn't disappoint. For those who love romantic period pieces, you are sure to love this. This Heathcliffe wil...
Ralph Feinnes definitely made an impression on me in this film. His eyes, his voice... what a great performance. Juliette Binoche is always a treat and she doesn't disappoint. For those who love romantic period pieces, you are sure to love this. This Heathcliffe will haunt your memory and your heart.

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Travesty of a Classic Novel

It's hard to put your finger on precisely what went wrong here. Taken individually, all the right ingredients are present: the usually excellent Ralph Fiennes, a sweeping score from Ryuichi Sakamoto, the breathtaking scenery of the Yorkshire Dales, Janet McTeer at the...
It's hard to put your finger on precisely what went wrong here. Taken individually, all the right ingredients are present: the usually excellent Ralph Fiennes, a sweeping score from Ryuichi Sakamoto, the breathtaking scenery of the Yorkshire Dales, Janet McTeer at the top of her form, Jeremy Northam ... the list is almost endless. Somehow, however, it fails to gel. It doesn't help that the script appears to have been written like a game of consequences - it doesn't hang together. Chunks of original quotation from the novel are lashed together with dialogue which is, at best, banal and at worst toe-curlingly embarrassing. Ralph Fiennes never really gets to grips with Heathcliff - although that may be more the fault of the direction and the script than his acting. It isn't Juliette Binoche's fault that she has a french accent, but its presence is seriously distracting - and who on earth thought it was a good idea to have her playing BOTH Cathys? The younger Cathy is so plainly the older Cathy in a blonde wig that it's farcical - although not QUITE as farcical as Sinead O'Connor yomping across the moors pretending to be Emily Bronte herself. The icing on the cake is the Mickey Mouse House. It genuinely looks as if it was dreamed up by the Disney Corporation. You expect Tinkerbell to emerge from the tower at any moment ... The whole film gives the impression of having been knocked together by someone with too big a budget and too little idea of what to do with it. Although the whole book has been filmed, it's a travesty. Don't waste your money on this unless you're a serious Fiennes groupie.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Excellent romantic period piece

    Ralph Feinnes definitely made an impression on me in this film. His eyes, his voice... what a great performance. Juliette Binoche is always a treat and she doesn't disappoint. For those who love romantic period pieces, you are sure to love this. This Heathcliffe will haunt your memory and your heart.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    A Travesty of a Classic Novel

    It's hard to put your finger on precisely what went wrong here. Taken individually, all the right ingredients are present: the usually excellent Ralph Fiennes, a sweeping score from Ryuichi Sakamoto, the breathtaking scenery of the Yorkshire Dales, Janet McTeer at the top of her form, Jeremy Northam ... the list is almost endless. Somehow, however, it fails to gel. It doesn't help that the script appears to have been written like a game of consequences - it doesn't hang together. Chunks of original quotation from the novel are lashed together with dialogue which is, at best, banal and at worst toe-curlingly embarrassing. Ralph Fiennes never really gets to grips with Heathcliff - although that may be more the fault of the direction and the script than his acting. It isn't Juliette Binoche's fault that she has a french accent, but its presence is seriously distracting - and who on earth thought it was a good idea to have her playing BOTH Cathys? The younger Cathy is so plainly the older Cathy in a blonde wig that it's farcical - although not QUITE as farcical as Sinead O'Connor yomping across the moors pretending to be Emily Bronte herself. The icing on the cake is the Mickey Mouse House. It genuinely looks as if it was dreamed up by the Disney Corporation. You expect Tinkerbell to emerge from the tower at any moment ... The whole film gives the impression of having been knocked together by someone with too big a budget and too little idea of what to do with it. Although the whole book has been filmed, it's a travesty. Don't waste your money on this unless you're a serious Fiennes groupie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Excruciating Movie

    Ralph Fiennes is, in my opinion, a horrible actor anyway. This movie was as excruciating as Sunshine, another of his movies. Juliet Binoche comes across as shallow and stupid. This movie is horrible. To anyone who is thinking of renting and/or buying this movie, think again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wuthering Heights - A film about two people being together and the consequences because of it.

    I've never read the book but have heard of it. I'm not much of reading classics though did like Little Women. Its one of those movies based on a classic book that you've always wanted to see for some reason. This is a story of two lovers and how because of their love they are torn apart through a misunderstanding. Something like Romeo and Juliet though different I guess. Ralph Fiennes did an amazing job as Heathcliff, as with Juliette Binoche (in a dual role) as Cathy. Its a sad story and after seeing the film I just might read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Version

    Having watched all three versions (including grandma's version from the 1940s), this is the best. I viewed this one last and almost didn't watch it because I was so disgusted and bored with the other two...however, this turned out to be exactly what I had hoped for all along. Characters are portrayed beautifully, chemistry between lovers/characters convincing. Despite any deviations from the original writing, of which I do not know, I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A disappointing and condensed version of the novel.

    This film is but a branch of the tree that is the novel Wuthering Heights. Emily Bronte must be turning over in her grave at this adaptation...the film rushes through the story, deleting whole sections of the book, with no character development and none of the heart-wrenching emotions that are evoked in the book. I'm going to have to read the book again just to get this disappointing film out of my head.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Reaches the Heights!

    Wuthering Heights has always been 1 of my favorite literary accomplishments. While the earlier film starring Laurence Olivier and Merle Oberon was entertaining this particular production is closer to the actual book as it includes the entire story. I was a fan of Ralph Fiennes prior to having seen this film and nothing has changed. I recommend this DVD for a night of escaping to an altogether different time and place!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lovers that can never be

    A tragic love story of two young lovers/friends who wind up being apart physically although they maintain a strong mental bond. The tragey of this physical seperation leads to further disaster as Heathcliff becomes a bitter man and takes his anger out on everyone around him. Several well worded monologues are the highlight of this flick. The scenary and music are excellent although it would have been better if the same actress did not play both catherine and cathy. For the most part, there is no happy ending for the main characters in this film whom have no one to blame but themselves. Its no april fools joke to be sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    If you don't enjoy this movie it is only because you either A) don't understand it or B) have no sort of emotional surface at all. It is amazing in every sort of way, and the actors make the characters come to life, and portrays them exactly as the book does. This is definantly an emotional ride that can come through to an audience of all ages and both genders.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best Heathcliff ever!!

    I think Ralph Fiennes performance is the best Heathcliff I've ever seen! He played the character with the most heartwrenching emotion! I still wish that Heathcliff and Cathy had figured out what their kind of love was and got together in the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Timeless

    If you're looking for passionate performances, look no further. This version of Wuthering Heights is incredible for those who understand and love really good heart wrenching love stories of tragedy. Juliet's monologues alone are worth the purchase of the film. When she talks about her possible marriage and right after she has a baby, these monologues are true genius and emotionally incredible. Her scenes are heartbreaking. Ralph's scenes are wonderful as well. A truly wonderful movie for the diehards of tragedy out there, to not love this movie would be difficult indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    My fave version of the film

    Please, I'm begging you...put this version on dvd. I have loved this movie from the first time I saw it, when it first aired on tv. I own it on vhs and have for a long time. I'm scared to watch it much more, so I don't wear the tape out. I have been waiting so long for it on dvd. PLEASE !!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    You'll Need a Carton of Tissues

    If you want to cry for days on end, then this is THE movie to see. Tragic does even begin to describe it.... I can not write anymore, for the tears are starting to flow.... P.S. Ralph Fiennes is THE BOMB!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    WAITING FOR DVD GREAT MOVIE

    SOMEWHERE IN TIME HAD LOW RATINGS IS NOW A CLASSIC LOVE STORY THIS EDITION OF WUTHERING HEIGHTS IS FANTASTIC. CAN'T WAIT FOR DVD VERSION. IT WILL BE WORTH THE PRICE I RECOMEND IT HIGHLY IF ROAMACE IS IN YOUR HEART

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Best Adaptation Ever!

    This movie is definately one of the best that I have ever seen. It is not only an amazing film on its ow with the wonderful performances by Ralph Fiennes and Juliette Binoche, but it is the one movie that faithfully went along with the superb original book by Bronte. I loved this film and I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Possibly my favorite movie of all time

    Rarely does a movie live up to the book...especially a classic. I was disappointed with the version from the 40's, as it leaves out over half of the book. I am always fearful to watch a movie made from one of my favorite books..but this one is fabulous. Ralph Fiennes is the best Heathcliff ever, with both his dark, moody side and his faithful, loving side. Juliette Binoche shows her talent as both mother and daughter. I could watch this movie every day. The other characters are all watchable and talented. This movie is a true drama...real life calamities, ghost story, passion at its most real, betrayal, family ties, death and finally afterlife. The musical score is so haunting. I have been trying to buy it, but it seems it is out of stock. Pop some kettle corn and sit down to a great movie !!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2