BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

X-Men

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "Adventurous"

    Can't move when the movie started. I watch this movie 10 times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    who is Sabertooth and whats a magneto?

    EVERYONE I know is tired of book readers reviewing book movies and comic readers reviewing comic movies... but dang it did this movie hit close to home! I was a wolverine fan since I was 10 and working at a comic store for comics (not money) and I am now 27. 17 YEARS have gone by! Anyway finally I get to see him in a movie! And I heard saber tooth was in this one too! (There both arch enemies, like batman vs joker or superman vs Luther get me?) and in the movie when he flies through the car window I kid you now not I can STILL remember being on the edge of my seat in the jam packed theater on opening night, and Wolverine gets up, heals... then stops... he smells something... CLAWS COME OUT! Im like YEAH! SABERTOOTH! WOO! And sure enough it was! and they fought I was like "yay!" then... in the x-mansion he didn¿t know who saber tooth was...? so that short fight in my head that came with all this history was super exiting, now knowing he didn¿t know him kind of made it normal... and then made me sit normal through out the rest of the movie. Seriously they should have asked me ;) I read enough Wolverine comics to know how he talks. ANOTHER example<BR/>In the statue of liberty saber tooth is about to do something bad to storm and says "you still owe me a scream..." then da da da! Wolverine jumps down to save the day, but what he says again slowed down my adrenalin cuz it was so not what wolverine would say... this is what I JAY thinks should have been said...<BR/>WOLVERINE: "I got your scream, right here!" Right as he says "here" his claws come out and he charges saber tooth! But NOOOooooo here is the movie idea dorky wolverine "hey, were not done bub." yes wolverine uses the word "bub" but come on! We all know wolverine kicks butt! Even more when you mess with girls he considers friends! COME ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<BR/><BR/>Anyway outside comic view I guess the movie was cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FANTASTIC

    Great movie! The costumes were amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must own action

    Best sci-fi/fantasy movie I've ever seen (next to Pitch Black).The visuals on this film are breath-taking. We first meet the famous Wolverine at a bar cage-fighting, being carefully watched by a teenage runaway, Rogue. Under the hard-core image of Wolverine, their appears to be a soft side to him when he is with Rogue. When the villan Magneto, who turns into an aly in the second film, kidnaps Rogue, Wolverine, Xavier and the team go out to look for her. If your a fan of Rogue or turn into one, at the end you get a scare. All-in-all, this movie is really good. With the movie's success the well-known actors, such as child-star Anna Paquin, Aussie Hugh Jackman, the beautiful Halle Berry and Star-Trek's Patrick Stuart, in this will have a long career ahead of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good flick

    One of the better adaptations of comics to big screen. Wonderful effects and good character developement. I especially enjoyed the banter between Scott and Logan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Loved it, the only movie better is the sequal!

    Great movie,visual effects,plot even for people who are not a fan of the xmen this movie will make them one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X-cellent!!!!

    This movie is awesome. I've watched it about a million times and I never go sick of it. And the Second movie was even better and just as exciting! I would recomend this movie to anyone who love action and adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even on the big screen i dont mind!

    X-men from comics, own series, and now a Movie and soon to be X-men 2..X-men just gets better and better..The Movie is based on Mutants which have special abilites with capibilites to form a special power. If you love action and suprises this is the Movie for you, This Movie has famous well known stars such as the Aussie actor Hugh Jackman, Beautiful Halle Berry and many more well-known actors...This movie is just sensational and should be seen..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X-citing movie

    The movie is great. The comic series really comes to life. Famke Janssen is super sexy in this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X-Men

    This movie was way way way better than I ever expected. I just couldn't get enough. I think the cast was an excellent choice. Hugh Jackman brought alive the character of Wolverine, as did Patrick Stewart as Professor X, and Ian McKellen as Magneto. The plot was a great introduction to the whole x-men being and I'm just waiting for the second one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X-Men

    The X-Files was a pretty good comic book to movie adaptation. The special effects were amazing as expected and the plot was entertaining. Not the best, but not the worse. If you're bored and have absolutely nothing to watch, this is a good amusement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Visual Effectts

    I really loved this movie.It had excellent visual effects.It's better than any other movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A really good movie

    This is a really good movie. It has alot of the good x-men charaters, and hugh jackman played a really good wolverine.I can't wait forX-Men 2 to come out!! I really recommand this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best films adapted from a comic book!

    A great film with eye-poping special effects, X-Men is one of the best films adapted from a comic book. Almost as good as the Spider-Man film, this film should be in everyone's movie collection. Patrick Stewart plays a great Professor X and Ian McKellen is excellent as the evil mutant Magneto. One of my 2 regrets is a stupid line said by Storm at the Statue of Liberty when she is in a fight with Toad. The other regret is the absence of Beast and Gambit. Despite these, X-Men is a great movie that most should enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie don't miss it

    I really liked how Bryan Singer portrays racism and prejudice in this movie. Bruce Davidson does a great job on a bigoted US senator who wants to punish all 'mutants' with forced registration(re:witchunts)My favorite character is Rogue. Will someone please tell me what happens to Rogue in the X men comic,'Rogue's tale,beauty and the beast.''Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Comic Book Movie

    As far as bringing comic books/games to the screen. This has to be the best so far. the filming, sound and acting are great. The only reason I feel I did not give it 5 stars is that I just finished watching ''The Perfect Storm'' the same day...and the acting does not compare... But if you like reading the X-men comic, you must have this film. The DVD gives you a lot of extra's. And for a comic book, there is a very good story line. Wolverine's creation seems to need its own movie. Everyone else is a borned mutant.... Of course the comic book as is the movie, is a staement on how the majority treats minorities they do not understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!

    I thought that it wouldn't be very good because it's based on a comic book but my brother got me to watch it and it was excellant. My favorite parts were when Storm's eyes went white. Also it had great special effects!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best comic-based movie ever!

    A simply amazing movie - state-of-the-art special effects help to truly represent each mutant's power. The cast is well-selected - Patrick Stewart is flawless as Prof. X, Ian McKellen is brilliant as Magneto, and of course, Hugh Jackman is nothing short of AMAZING as Wolverine - he rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Good

    I've always liked the comic book, and I was thrilled when I heard they were making it into a movie. And after I watched it I wasn't disapointed! In fact I LOVED IT! Rent it or better yet buy it so you can watch it when ever you want!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    HUGH JACKMAN IN THE US

    Xmen. The awesome. It's what everyone was waiting for, from kids to adults to, well, older adults. Hugh Jackman, Anna Paquin, Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellan, and others, all directed by Bryan Singer. Add some mystery, love, action, and mutation to the mix, some great dialogues, and you have the movie. The X-Men team up to save the world from fatal mutation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5