Customer Reviews for

X-Men - The Last Stand

Average Rating 3.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BLAH! why? WHY!!!!

    Hey I got allot of ideas! Yeah! But we can only make one movie... I DONT CARE! LETS THORW IT ALL IN ONE! WE CAN DO IT! And it will be so smooth! No one will notice! WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wow... caca is what I want to say. Sucks because it could have been good :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yeesh

    No. Just no. This is the worst of the three movies, as several others have pointed out. It feels like alot of it was cut and the rest was just mishmashed together. I had to see it because I am a fan, and a fan of the Juggernaut. The Juggernaut was altered considerably from the comic version by the way, for anyone who cares. There was one really incredible scene with Magneto ripping up the Golden Gate bridge, but the needless killing and general sloppiness of this movie gives it such a strange feel compared to the earlier two. I suppose that should be expected when it has a different director.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    X-Men introduced us to a wonderful concept that comics could become good movies. X2 continued this with flair, and while strayed a bit from story stayed true to it's comic book heritage. X3 showed us that when people know something will make money they will not put any effort into it. The movie focuses less on what the Xmen stand for and more on whom Brett Ratner decided to focus the movie on, mainly Storm and Wolverine. Deaths are thrown in for shock value and characters who had less than two seconds in the movie only to show that they are there, along with a plot that that seemed sewn together just to get it done, make this the worst comic adaptation of a movie ever. Those of you expecting the Dark Phoenix will have to accept a campy watered down version of Joss Whedon's Dark Willow instead, for those of you asking what that shining thing in the water was at the end of X2, you will never know because it was never used. Do yourself a favor don't watch this movie instead hope that Bryan Singer will redo this horrible let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could have been a lot better!

    I thought the first two x-men were great. They were well written for comic book movies and the action was top notch. However, in this one i felt like it was you average comic book movie. The action was poorly executed and some of the scenes were done poorly. For example, in one scene, the brotherhood is moving the Golden Gate bridge to Alcatraz while it is still LIGHT OUTSIDE. However as soon as the bridge is down, it turns to NIGHT all of the sudden!!!!!!!! Now that is just a bad editting job! Watch it again people and you will see what i mean!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just a bad movie. . .

    X-Men 3 was a serious letdown after the series original director, Bryan Singer, produced two excellent films. The production values suffered, the script and dialog were atrocious, the new characters were barely developed and the continued characters were stagnant. Yeah, we're talking about an action flick and the effects and battle scenes were impressive. But it did not live up to the first two films by any stretch of the imagination. Rent if you must see it, but pass on adding this one to your collection. . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    I lost my mind when the X-Men movie series first started, I've s

    I lost my mind when the X-Men movie series first started, I've stayed with it through its worst movies. X3, this one, is one of the worst in my honest opinion though.
    Second on that list is "Wolverine Goes to Japan" aka The Wolverine. I don't like to speak of either, but this
    one is at least, slightly, better than that one. The rest of the series is amazing for the most part though.
    Origins gets iffy and I can't talk about Deadpool, but still better than this one.. I agree with most of the other negative reviews. Lol Nothing against the casting, 
    But the storyline...and the ending...just....no.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "VERY EXCITING"

    This movie has a capturing effect. It holds you to sit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Being a serious X-men fan, I would have to say that, yes, this movie was lacking in a few areas. I personally felt that it went pretty fast with no real explanation. But, I also thought it was good. Lots of the acting was really good and they picked the perfect people for the newer characters. Sure it had some down points, but really, what movie dosen't? I will say it didn't stop me from seeing it 6 times in the theatre and staying up untill midnight to be the first one at the store to buy it!!!! And I couldn't be happier!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wait for the credits to roll

    I was watching this movie this weekend and just happened to let the credits finish rolling and boy what a treat. It blew me away I am still in shock so do yourself a favor if you own it and have not watched the scene after the credits roll do it right now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not the Greatest

    The movie was bad from the begining the whole idea of taking the mutant abilitys away, was kind of well dumb. I thought that the acting was mediocre, and the new characters were performed badly. All thre movies were ironicly on a lake in the last battle scene. The movie was also edit wrong in one scene. Were it turns from day to night in a matter of minutes. The special effects were ok not mind blowing. However the worst part were the fighting scenes. I don't recomend the movie seeing how abysmal it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I have no idea why people say this was the worst X-Men film. It wasnt! It had great acting,fantastic action,and the best plot. Buy this film! You'll love it!.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X-3 - A big let down

    X-2 was so wonderfully done that the poor quality of this one is more than a disappointment, it is a shame. The plot is sketchy, the acting is poor, and the characters, for lack of a better phrase, act completely out of character. It gets so bad that a few people die and the rest of them don't seem to care until the last five minutes. The only good things in the movie were the special effects, but that doesn't make up for a bad movie. I definately do NOT recommend X-3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Horrible movie

    The first movie was a reminder that not all comic book movies suck, such as Batman Forever and Batman & Robin. I am a big fan of X-Men and loved the first two movies. Then this abomination came out. I didn't even have high hopes for this after lose some of their amazing staff. Anyone liking this wasn't watching the same movie I saw. First the Golden Gate Bridge scene was badly editted. It went from light to night in a matter of minutes. The fight scenes we not bad, but the anticipated Pyro vs Iceman fight was so disappointing. It was such an anticlimactic fight that it made me sick. One final thing and this is from a comic fan stand point. Leech should never have been able to take Juggernauts strength away because Juggernaut is not a mutant. He had nothing to fear of anything. So watch this movie to get you closure but nothing more. I also do not have many expectations for any upcoming X-men or Wolverine movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    x3 rocks!

    i do not know why so much people think that this is a bad movie .i mean yeah it was not perfect but it did nice.i've heard people say the 1st & 2nd are the "best".the first one was aye-ok,but i had trouble staying awake through the 2nd one.it's just such a drag and so boring.and jean "dies".whoppide doo!cheack this one out,you WILL like it trust me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Perfect Finale!

    I loved the first X-Men film, was obsessed with it, so when X2 came out, I had expectations. I was, in a way, let down. But then X3 shows up and--OMG! Amazing! This film was well-worth the wait and I'm sad knowing that this is the last installment. RIP X-Men.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best of the 3!

    This movie has awesome effects and a way cool story! I give it a 5, it's definately the best of the 3! And I hear next year they are making another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X-Men deserved a better climax.

    With the departure of director Bryan Singer (of X-Men 1 & 2, and The Usual Suspects fame) and the addition of Brett Ratner (of...Rush Hour 1 & 2 "fame"), the X-Men series took a huge a blow. Although some of the parts in the movie are entertaining and the effects are good, you are better off reading the comics or rewatching X-2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The X-men Are Back!

    XMEN: The Last Stand was probably the best film in the XMEN trilogy. I'm a fan of the comics and I fully enjjoyed this film. Thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X-Men the Last Stand is a great movie!

    X-Men the Last Stand is a great movie! X3 is the Last movie in the X-Men Trilogy! Brett Ratner did a great job directing this movie! Jean Grey returns from the beyond to become Dark Pheonix! Wolverine and the X-Men tries to save Jean Grey from becoming evil. Highly Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Going out on a High Note!

    Although I personally felt X-Men 2 was the greatest comic book movie ever made, X-3 is the perfect closure to the trilogy. The mutant saga hits a fever pitch in this film of epic proportions. Do not miss this one, this is truly a must for X-Men fans and then some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4