BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Yellow Submarine

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie EVER!

    I have been quite possibly THE biggest Yellow Submarine fan on the planet since I was seven years old when I saw it for the first time (eleven years ago!). I don't care in the least that it's not really The Beatles doing the voices of their animated counterparts. The actors do such a convincing, smashing job. (The same cannot be said about their cartoon series.) Heinz Edelmann (NOT Peter Max) is the genius designer of this film and he is by far my favorite artist... he deserves a lot more attention. The Blue Meanies are my favorite thing about the whole movie! I probably like them even better than The Beatles. They're all fabulously designed and are absolutely hilarious. (Fun to draw, too!) I could write a whole book on why I love this movie so much. But I'll just leave it at this: It's a wonderful movie for kids, for adults, for anyone. It doesn't cater to one particular age group. Everyone can love it. It has a wonderful ending that teaches all of us that no matter what, love will overcome hatred... even Blue Meanies!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Let's Get It Straight, Folks

    Ok. First, Peter Max is not the artist who animated The Yellow Submarine. It is often attributed to him because of the similar cosmic '60s style, but that is wrong. Sure it may be an animated acid trip through Beatle-land, but that's what the music was all about, wasn't it? Anyone who looks at this movie and gets upset about the references and the overall style of the film obviously has a 'holier than thou' complex and is probably a pretentious extremist with nothing better to do than complain about pop culture and the bad effect it has on society. That's a bunch of bunk. This movie is an outstanding animated dive into the deep end of the Beatles' late '60s world! Period.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Way ahead of it's time.

    After seeing "Love" in Las Vegas when it 1st opened I started wondering if Yellow Submarine had ever been released on DVD and finally it is available and worth every penny and the wait has been too long. The art work is just amazing, the music fitting. I hope it comes to an IMAX next. It's hard to believe it came out in 1968 as it holds up by todays standards in animated film. You will not be disappointed seeing it over 40 years later, own it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    We All Live In A Yellow Submarine

    I remember watching this movie when I was a little child. I love this movie. It is one of my favorite movie. From one generation to another, I highly recommended to families who have children watch this classic movie. Once they get to see this movie, then the next generation will get to see and know who the Beatles were and how they became working class heroes. I am happy to hear that it has been digitally restored for better picture and quality. We all live in a yellow submarine, yellow submarine, yellow submarine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow! Great trippy animation

    This is a great flick to trip to. I was impressed from the very beginning, having (for some reason?!) NEVER seen this before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Beatles!

    This is a fantastic movie filled with bits of random but great humor. Anyone who loves the Beatles should see this and they probably have. It can be a bit hard to follow but its still a great movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic trip through Beatle imaginings

    It is a grand thing that Yellow Submarine survived to be put on DVD. This movie knits together the Beatles' imaginings with the finest pop art of the day (by Peter Max)and you end up swimming along with the intensely colorful flow. This is a movie for fun, joy, dreamings and musical wanderings. I saw Yellow Submarine when it was first released in the movie theaters and this DVD has fully absorbed all the talent and color that I saw such a long time ago on the 'big screen'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER!!!

    Well my BEST frind Jennifer told me about about the movie. and I thouht well I am a BIG FAN. And In the middle of the movie I said ''Isent this INCREDABLE!!'' The Animation.Is the best . This DVD Is A must see for Beatles Fans of all ages!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    took me to another dimension

    I cried it was so beautiful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yellow Submarine is pure art.

    Well, I've heard some comments that Yellow Submarine is not a well done movie, because the Beatles had nothing to do with its making, for example, voice actors were used for their voices. I'd say that it is not a Beatles' movie, but it's a movie about The Beatles instead, made by some other genius. The images are beautiful, and it also has songs from the Beatles like videoclips. It's pure art.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Wonderfully Surreal Piece of Animation

    What a wonderful film. As soon as I got my DVD player it was the first title I wanted to buy - even though we already have it on VHS! Recommended for anyone who adores the Beatles, or Monty Python's zany animation, or just an overall combination of a great soundtrack to a brilliantly surreal picture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IT WAS LIKE NOTHING I HAD SEEN BEFORE

    I am a sophmore in high school, and I started getting into The Beatles last year. I listened to their music, read their books, I did just about everything there was to do concerning them. Then, I found Yellow Submarine at the local Video Store. It's The Beatles, I thought. It must be good. I popped it in, and sat back......about 3 minutes later I was practically standing, with my mouth open. This was probably the most incredible thing I had seen in a long time. It was eye candy. I could have just paused the tape and stared. It was one of the most imaginative movies of all time. Not to mention, the simple, yet outstanding animation was fluid and clear. If you have any desire to see something out of the ordinary, and at the same time mind-blowing, look no further. R.I.P George Harrison.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Animation for all people young and old

    I first saw Yellow Submarine when I was in grade 3. I thought it was real cool. When it was released Christmas '99, my sister bought it for me. I watched it about 3 times and there were many things I liked about it: Beatles songs (the songs made it practically a set of music videos), all sorts of weird ideas, Monty Python-esque animation, etc. I completely agree with the reviewer above.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yellow Submarine hits BIG!!!!!!!!

    This movie is a must see. I give it 5 stars for 5 reasons. 1. Mind blowing drawings. 2. A very involving plot. 3. The music they feature is from the Beatles. 4.Background designs are really good.5.Overall SUPER. If one loves Bugs Bunny or any other cartoon plus loves the Beatles..... SEE IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What an insult to art

    sure, peter max can animate, but this movie is nothing but drug induced cliche. ooo... i can gawk at pretty colors and unimaginative creatures...oooo look at me

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1