Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 3905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2434)

4 Star

(861)

3 Star

(303)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(174)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner!

There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. V...
There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by sbux06 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The best thing about this book.....

isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for ...
isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for the few that broke blood vessels in their heads writing reviews, who i noticed wrote more than one review, sometimes with less words or more words, who totally blasted brown, get over it. The book is fiction and should be treated so, just like your friggin bible. If brown believes the speculations he brought forth in this book to be true, then let him be. who are you to criticize him, especially you religious people who believe in god. the idea of god is a speculation. oh yea, thats right, its all about faith. Yea, and Rand al'Thor IS the Dragon Reborn and the Millenium Falcon DID blow up the Death Star, in a galaxy, far, far away!! and the Matrix has you!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 3917 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 196
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    So much detail! Loved this book, again and again.

    So much detail! Loved this book, again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    For the historically challenged

    There are so many historical errors it was laughable.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Really boring.

    Not recommanded.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's A Good BOOK

    I'm not going to talk about all the screwed up theology stuff in this book, because it's actually pretty hilarious how Dan Brown buys in to it. On a WRITING level, I liked it. The characters are original, and it seems like almost every chapter is a cliff-hanger. If you can just ignore the fact that Dan Brown is off his rocker, it's a really good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    thrilling read, a real page-turner

    The Da Vinci code is a fast paced, thrilling book, which should be the definition of a page-turner. Dan Brown put so much information and clues into the book that make you feel like you are one of the characters in the story and that you need to help solve and find truth about the ancient history as well.
    Robert Langdon, a Harvard symbologist, was awoken late at night and was called to the murder at the Louvre. The dead man was covered in strange symbols and clues that sent Langdon and Sophie Neveu, a French cryptologist, on a wild goose chase in search for the Holy Grail, with the French judicial police, and a secret service for the Church on their tails.
    The book is fast paced and is filled with thrilling close calls for Langdon and Neveu, which results in the book having absolutely no good stopping points; you can't put it down. When some clues are dead ends, they slowly realize that not everything that happened in history actually happened that way. As Napoleon said, "What is history, but a fable agreed upon?" This book is an excellent read for anyone that has a desire for suspense and adventure. Dan Brown's Angles and Demons, the book before The Da Vinci Code, is just a little taste of what happens in The Da Vinci Code.
    This is a thrilling book that pulls you in and shows you wonders beyond belief. The characters, quick thinking, and sharp minds make the book unlike any other. I highly recommend this book and hope that you enjoy it a much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's an okay read..no where near as good as 'Angels & Demons'

    I thought that the Da Vinci Code was a fine book to read when there is nothing else around. I think that Angels and Demons was 100 times better than this book. The storyline had the gumption to be a fantastic book..I just feel that it was a little too hyped up. Reading a book by Dan Brown means that my standards are set pretty high. I read Angels & Demons first- let me just say, if you're looking to read a great, high paced book with an awesome story line, don't read the Da Vinci Code. The idea in which the story takes place is really interesting..I just think that the book could have been so much better if it was written a little more carefully and with a little more imagination. Long story short, this book is fine if you're not looking for anything great to read. It's, at best, average. Go read Angels & Demons, instead

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    A Great Read

    The reason I chose The Da Vinci Code was for the historical information in it such as the ties between Ancient Paganism and Christianity. The story is about the Catholic Church on a quest to find the location of the true Holy Grail, and an ancient society established to keep it a secret. The two main characters in this novel are Sophie and Langdon. They are put in the middle of the two sides when all of the leaders of the society are murdered by Silas, an assassin of the Catholic Church. Silas is now out to kill Langdon and Sophie so that the secret of the Holy Grail will not be discovered by anyone who would release it into the world. One men murdered by Silas was Sophie¿s grandfather, and now he is leaving a trail of clues for Sophie to solve with the help of Robert Langdon. The novel is a page turner and is very hard to put down. One aspect of the novel that bothered me was that throughout the entire novel the Catholic Church was accused of still being corrupt, as it was in the Dark Ages. The novel was against Christianity and said that Jesus was just a man and nothing else. I wouldn¿t recommend this novel to anyone with little faith or to someone who is easily swayed. I didn¿t like the way conversations were swapped from quotations to italicized words such as when Langdon would speak I was never sure if he was thinking or actually talking. Over all, this book was very intriguing and was very hard to set down. I would recommend The Da Vinci Code to anyone interested in religious backgrounds and historical information. If someone is interested in a good read than this is the novel for them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    A decent book, but much worse than the hype would make you think

    I recently picked up The Da Vinci Code after hearing all the hype surrounding it. I did enjoy it, but was very disappointed.<BR/><BR/>The book focuses on the journey of Robert Langdon and Sophie Neveu, who try to discover the secrets of the Holy Grail while evading the police and several other organizations. Robert Langdon is scheduled to meet with Jacques Saunière, the curator of the Louvre. However, directly before the time of the meeting, Saunière isquestioned about the location of the Holy Grail by an albino named Silas, and is subsequently shot and left to die. The wound leads to a slow death, and in his last moments, Saunière manages to leave several clues behind in the museum. Robert Langdon, a prominent professor of symbology, is called in to help decipher the clues left by Saunière, but is actually a suspect. Moments before his arrest, Sophie Neveu, granddaughter of Saunière and a cryptologist, enters the crime scene and helps Langdon avoid arrest and escape the museum. Meanwhile, Silas finds that the location of the Holy Grail provided by Saunière was a trick, and seeks further instructions from his master, the "Teacher". Langdon and Neveu take a cryptex from a Swiss bank vault with a key they found at the crime scene, and hide in the mansion of an old friend of Langdon's, Leigh Teabing. After finding out that Langdon and Neveu are fugitives and threatening to throw them out, Teabing is pacified by the promise of information about the Holy Grail, a passion of his. Teabing agrees to help them and flies them out of the country in his private jet. While Teabing initially seems eager to help Sohpie and Robert, it soon becomes apparent that Teabing only cares about finding the location of the Holy Grail and will do anything to do so. Teabing eventually reveals his plans and his accomplices, Silas among them. Langdon, held at gunpoint by Teabing, tricks Teabing by throwing the extremely fragile cryptex containing the location of the Holy Grail into the air, while secretly having removed the important parchment inside. Teabing lunges for the grail, is disarmed, and eventually apprehended. Afterwards, Langdon follows the clues on the parchment and is disappointed to find no Holy Grail. However, he soon realizes an alternate meaning to clues and finds the its location; the Louvre pyramid.<BR/><BR/>While I thought The Da Vinci Code's central plot idea was clever and original, I thought that it could have been written more interestingly and less wildly. The many twists and turns in the book bordered on absurdity and even stupidity, and should have been toned down to a more enjoyable level. However, this book would appeal to people who do not mind or even enjoy its aforementioned flaws.<BR/><BR/>HHS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    BY FAR THE WORST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!

    This book is by far the WORST book I've ever had the displeasure to read. The writing is horrible along with the plot development 'that's actually being generous in saying there is a plot'. A fifth grader could have written a better novel. This novel, if one could call it that, is not only boring but extremely dumbed down. However if you like stories similar to this I recommend anything written by Steve Berry. He has similar concepts but he actually develops the story and doesn't dumb down his writing. The Da Vinci Code is by far the worst book ever written.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    The Da Vinci Code

    You have a professor, a crytologist, and a conspiracy that could affect the whole world while trying to prove his innocence of the murder in a string of events and outrunning not only the authorities but the baddies who want to shut him up so they can rule the world. No wonder this book was so popular though the movie was okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Not very Impressed.

    Friends recommended this novel telling me 'oh just ignore the controversial side of it... it's a GREAT novel'. But quite frankly, I thought it was rather disappointing. The plot was lacking, and although the characters were likable, the story was very poorly written overall.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    What?

    I simply don't get the fuss about this book. I am a Catholic myself. It is not worth the fuss. For those of you who find it such a controversial book, you must lead pretty boring lives. The book wasn't even that good in my opinion. It didn't captivate me at all, and all the characters annoyed me. If you like slow paced mysteries and religious history, go for it! You might like it. But if you are one of these people who will complain about it, Please don't read it! :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    terriable and confusin

    Dan Brown author of the Da Vinci code wrote this story using fiction and historical expertise to introduce the readers to a different point of view about the life of Jesus Christ and his disciples. This novel talks mostly about traditional religious beliefs and the Holy Grail. This novel was very confusing and at many times I was stuck reading the same pages over and over. Dan Brownâ¿¿s story challenges and shows false beliefs and isnâ¿¿t described by the Christians. This book really talks about traditional religious beliefs. Christians believe that the Holy Grail is a chalice that Christ drank from during the last supper. Dan Browns idea of the Holy Grail was that it wasnâ¿¿t a cup, but the body of Mary Magdalene. In the story, when Dan Brown is talking about Mary Magdaleneâ¿¿s marriage to Jesus, it was supported by Leonardo Da Vinciâ¿¿s famous painting of The Last Supper. I am a person of catholic believes and there were parts in this novel that strongly discriminated Jesus Christ and lied much about him. I wouldnâ¿¿t recommend this book to anyone unless they are the type of people who like to read boring and slow paced mysteries. Everything was very predictable and very confusing. There is no ending to this story like other books. I had a hard time reading this book because of the confusion. The novel takes you from place to place without even knowing whatâ¿¿s going on. While discussing the book with my friends and others they all recommended this book to me. I found myself lost most of the time while trying to follow what was going on in the story. The book did not fascinate me because of the topic that was being discussed and personally in my life right now I am not interested with Brownâ¿¿s opinion. At times I felt that Brown seemed to use whatever was convenient and it was not well followed through

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    This Book was Terrible!!!!

    I am sure that I am one of the few people in the world that thinks that this book is truly horrible. The characters lacked depth and the dialogue was horrible. I never quite figured out what all the hype about this book was for it is not a good read.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    DEFINE 'THRILLER' FOR US MR. BROWN

    I admit some parts in this book were fast-paced and exciting, but that was the only good part. The characters had no development and no personality at all. It must not have been a big challenge to bring these characters to life in the movie. Reading the book and the dialogue, it sounds like the characters themselves are just reading of pages. And the end could be seen from the beginning of the book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    The movie is much better . . .

    After all the hype, I was set to absolutely devour this book. However, I was incredibly disappointed. The story is predictable, the characters are flat, and use of repetition goes beyond being and effective reminder, to treating the reader like an idiot. It is sad that such an awesome premise was left to the hands of a literary incompetent. I marvel at what good writers like Iain Pears, John Irving, or C. J. Sansom could have done with this stoy line.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Da Vinci Code insults Jesus Christ

    The book was interesting and kept you on the edge of your chair until you came to the parts that insulted my Savior, Jesus Christ. Lying about Jesus Christ in your book may make you lots of money but it lost you a reader. I WILL NOT be buying or reading any more books Dan Brown has written.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    poor

    i think this book is a very interesting one, however it contridicts all the catholic faith. i think its a bad book to put out there for everyone to debate over

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    Disappointing Ending

    I picked this book up at the library where I worked when it first came out and read it eagerly from cover to cover. I was hooked on the title alone since I lived 5 hours from Paris at the time and have been a fan of Da Vinci since grade school. What a disappointment! There is no proper ending, no closure, and no conclusion. The biggest mystery is why it is still on the best-seller list! The second-biggest is why so many people forget this is a work of fiction, believe Brown's 'research', and think a few fishermen from Galilee were able to devise such a conspiracy. The premises are pretty ridiculous, and it is unfortunate that many people will base what they know about Opus Dei, the Catholic Church, and even art history on this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    It would appear to me.....

    that the author's story line has been done before. Please read a book entitled The Genesis Code by John Case and you will see what I mean. Not sure this book is worth all the hype.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 3917 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 196