Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 3871 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2417)

4 Star

(854)

3 Star

(299)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(168)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner!

There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. V...
There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by sbux06 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

The best thing about this book.....

isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for ...
isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for the few that broke blood vessels in their heads writing reviews, who i noticed wrote more than one review, sometimes with less words or more words, who totally blasted brown, get over it. The book is fiction and should be treated so, just like your friggin bible. If brown believes the speculations he brought forth in this book to be true, then let him be. who are you to criticize him, especially you religious people who believe in god. the idea of god is a speculation. oh yea, thats right, its all about faith. Yea, and Rand al'Thor IS the Dragon Reborn and the Millenium Falcon DID blow up the Death Star, in a galaxy, far, far away!! and the Matrix has you!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3883 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 195
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Lukewarm about 'Da Vinci'

    Is it possible to give this book a middling rating rather than go to one extreme or another? Sure. Here's why: For starters, the book is in fact a page turner. Once I started reading it I didn't want to stop. Why? Because every chapter leaves you hanging on the edge waiting for the next step in the adventure. While that is effective at keeping a reader involved, it also left me feeling like I was being strung along and that the pay-off couldn't measure up to the expectation. I was right. It didn't. 'The Da Vinci Code' is altogether entertaining, and subsequently altogether forgettable. It's actually been over a year since I read the book and if it hadn't been for the movie refreshing my memory a bit, I would have forgotten most of the major plot points by now. The only parts that stuck with me were Dan Brown's antagonistic flogging of Christian doctrine without any real basis for the wild claims he was making, and the image of an ascetic albino murderous monk. Silas was much more memorable than any of the protagonists. Oh, I also enjoyed the descriptions of Rosslyn Chapel, although that is mostly because I am interested in anything dealing with Scottish history. That's about it. The characters are mostly forgettable because Brown moves so quickly through the story that there is no time for development. If you MUST read something by Dan Brown, 'Angels and Demons' is better. Better plot progression, more vivid locations, more exciting climax, more bewildering plot twists, and a little less sacrilegious, although even more abrasive toward Catholicism, particularly the Vatican. Characters remain on the shallow side. If you choose to buy either of Brown's Langdon series books, get the illustrated editions. I might not have even bothered to read them without the pictures...they add to the story immensely. Having said all that, I will probably read Brown's next Langdon novel. I am curious what he is going to do with Freemasonry. Perhaps he will also take time to give Robert Langdon some backstory and provide him with a few friendly human links that extend beyond the scope of the manic plot and his arcane life of academia.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Horrendous

    Ignoring all of the ridiculous lies which Dan Brown cites as truth (for example at one point he states that 5 million women were killed during the Inquisition (p. 132) whereas the total number of people killed is estimated at 5000), this book is from a literary standpoint, awful. It reads somewhere between a tourist guide and a feminist propaganda pamphlet. The dialogue is completely unbelievable. Characters commonly make long, pointless lectures, sounding as though they are reading from encyclopedias. Every single chapter ends with a cliff-hangar. Within the first 50 pages, this device simply gets tiring and contrived. I had very little interest in continuing to read after the first few hackneyed chapters, save a nagging feeling that I should at least skim it so I could give it a proper critique. The character development is nil. I felt absolutely no sympathy for any of the cliche characters, and if they had all died at the end of the novel, I couldn't have been happier. In fact, it would have been better if they had died within the first few pages, for then Dan Brown could have saved us from his pathetically trite pseudo-ideological rants. I hope the next time a novel becomes a pop cult wonder overnight, it actually has some semblance of literary merit and intelligent plot. If you want entertainment, read Harry Potter. At least J.K. Rowling has some talent. As for Dan Brown, I hope he takes his own advice, and keeps his conspiracy theories secret so the rest of us don't have to suffer from his illiterate, overbearing, repetitive dribble. Hey Dan Brown, next time you want to, say, attack the faith of a billion people at least write something worthy of a response.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    good READ, bad WRITING

    theres no denying this book has it in terms of plot, the story brings you on a 2 day all nighter leaving you feeling extremely satisfyed. however, in terms of HOW it is written, and the subject matter, this book is childish. one author whom i would SERIOUSLY recommend is Neil Stephenson, with his book, Cryptonomicon. Neil Stephenson makes Dan Brown look like a kindergartener in terms of depth, description and writing style. The plot is nothing to scoff at, either.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    ni

    no hate it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Kolt

    *snaps his fingers and heads out*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Curtis to all

    Think texting language or slang "go2'2'2" hint it involves searching. Hint go 2 "2" number 2 ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Great read, couldn't put it down. Makes one wonder and think.

    Great read, couldn't put it down. Makes one wonder and think. The idea behind it might be offensive to some, not to me, I take it as entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Be careful

    Keep in mind that this book is FICTIONAL. Some groups mentioned in this book are real, but there purposeses said in this novel are not. GREAT BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great sample

    I loved the sample it was great infact I love the book already

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Amazing

    I have A LOT to say about The Da Vinci Code, but it would take pages and pages just to get out my first thought.. So, I'll just shorten it to my main points.
    I can honsetly say no book has ever intrigued me more. The cryptic mesages, the realistic characters, the kill to thrill feel, everything had me hooked.
    Also, when Brown went into detail on the Divine Proportion, I was amazed. I was so interested, I bookmarked my page and went straight to Google to learn more. And the next time I took a shower, I did measure from my head to feet and sure enough, 1.816 to one.
    Another thing, the pyramid in front of the Lourve. I have a few things to say about that. To put it in front of the beautiful Lourve was a drunk night idea, obviously. It completely ruins the magesty and divine archetect skills of the Lourve. It ruins the ancient feel of the structure, invading it with the modern world. But, it is a creative idea with a beautiful arial veiw. If it wasn't obstructing the grand regality of the museum, it would be astonousing.. to me, it has a very Las Vegas or Hollywood feel.
    I'm a 14 year old girl, and granted a little more mature than others in the 8th grade... to sum it up. The Da Vinci Code was a moving, gripping, amazing, unique, spectacular book that I recomend to EVERYONE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    It holds you interest the whole time your reading it...A MUST READ

    Enjoyed it through the whole book. Keeps you on the edge of your seat. Didn't expect the church to be involved. I love history and
    there is plenty of that also. It's hard to put it down.
    catfancierVP

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    STILL GREAT AFTER 10 YEARS

    I love this book ALMOST as much as Angels & Demons!

    THANKS FOR THE FREEBIE TO ADD TO MY NOOK, B&N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Im learimg anout him in school

    Yah i, so happy now i can ne ahed of my class in learing about him

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Great

    Amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is so riveting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Awesome Read!

    A great mix of history and adventure. Found myself looking up places and events as I read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    A Must Read!

    Dan Brown never lets me down. He weaves such amazing detailed characters & stories together mixed with a large amount based on historical reality. Just an amazing book. Ive read it at least 4 times & it never gets old...the movie is great as well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    dan brown doesn't teach you what to think but rather HOW to thin

    dan brown doesn't teach you what to think but rather HOW to think. keep an open mind, & all his work will blow your mind giving answers to huge questions. this should be a public school reading requirement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Excellent read - fast paced, exciting, reasearched perfectly! T

    Excellent read - fast paced, exciting, reasearched perfectly! This book kept me on edge and wide awake through the maze that is Rome. Highly recommend the author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    So much detail! Loved this book, again and again.

    So much detail! Loved this book, again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3883 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 195