Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 3916 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2440)

4 Star

(863)

3 Star

(304)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(175)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner!

There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. V...
There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by sbux06 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The best thing about this book.....

isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for ...
isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for the few that broke blood vessels in their heads writing reviews, who i noticed wrote more than one review, sometimes with less words or more words, who totally blasted brown, get over it. The book is fiction and should be treated so, just like your friggin bible. If brown believes the speculations he brought forth in this book to be true, then let him be. who are you to criticize him, especially you religious people who believe in god. the idea of god is a speculation. oh yea, thats right, its all about faith. Yea, and Rand al'Thor IS the Dragon Reborn and the Millenium Falcon DID blow up the Death Star, in a galaxy, far, far away!! and the Matrix has you!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 175 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Dull at Best

    It's baffling to me how this book became so popular. Since when did discussions of ritualistic orgies become the thing the average person is interested in reading about? I mean, if the book actually had some scenes of orgies, that might be one thing, but just talking about them, what fun is that?

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Ugh

    This was one of the worst books I have ever read. I have never felt so brow-beat in my life. Mr. Brown takes an interesting and controversial subject and turns it into poison jelly beans. Save your sanity and skip this one.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Hype

    It was a decent read. You might like it, eh...

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Awesome!!

    I just finished reading The DaVinci Code and it was a wonderful book. Even though I know it's a work of fiction, it does make you question things that you supposedly "know". I watched the movie long before I read the book. Even though the movie is pretty decent it truly doesn't do this book justice. A true "must read".

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    Manic

    This book was highly recommended to me by many, many people. They read it in a day. It took me a month to read it. I think it's a guys book. It's like a car chase in a movie. There is no character development. There is a token woman in the book who at the beginning is the expert until the guy comes along and with no former experience in her field solves the mystery running all over Rome like a 'bat out of hell'. I hated this book!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Dumbest Book Ever

    This is the dumbest and stupidest book i have ever read. I have read many theological books and not to defend anyones faith but this book has no real historical evidence, no scientifical evidence and is a pure work of fiction and imagination that greatly exceeds even the authors own mind. As in photography, this is artsy. A lie that is being praised by many and accepted as truth. Just as the darwinian theory of evolution, people forget theories and interpretations of events are just that, opinions and interpretations, nothing more. They cannot be proved as can the bible be proved and so it is easier to rely on someone elses naive nature than ones own mind in discovering the real truth behind it all. I would not suggest anyone to read this book unless they actually do some research on it and know what they are talking about.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    irresponsible and unethical fiction writing

    I have heard some people comment in regards to criticism of this book by saying, 'It is fiction you just need to take it as fiction.' However, the reader may need to read it as fantasy or science fiction. Certainly don't think of this book as a murder mystery set in a historical fiction novel. That would be the equivalent of reading a mystery set in the historical civil war era where the south won and all the names in history of which the characters revolve are grossly misrepresented. It might be an interesting read but the reader would feel that the story is completely nonsensical and not worth their time. That is the case here. Because the historical figures are all long dead, there is no worry of slander suits. Yes, it is fictional writing, but an author with integrity would write a story whose characters move about in a world which has some semblance of reality. The theories that the characters talk about are grossly concluded. Not only are the conclusions bad, but the content that is supposedly in these documents doesn¿t mesh with their actual content. I would liken this fictional story to the American tall tale ¿ About as real as Paul Bunyan straightening a river. The book¿s reference to the Hebrew temple practice is ludicrous and should have the entire Jewish population up in arms! The characters imply that the Jewish temple practice was no different than pagan temple practices in performing sexual rituals inside the temple. I do not propose censoring this book, but horrifically, the damage has already been done. Fictional writing is the most powerful of all literatures. It becomes part of our mainstream culture and settles in the cultural mind as folklore. The greater population is not educated in ancient history, not literate in Jewish traditions, not even literate in the Old or New Testaments, and certainly won't be familiar enough with the gnostic gospels, dead sea scrolls or other documents that are mentioned. The average person is going to accept this 'historical' background as true and will not have a clue as to how to fathom through all the outrageous claims in this book. If a Bible scholar objects to this book, we are seen as being narrow-minded or investing in this 'cover up.' Please let us educate ourselves by reading quality fiction or if you're interested in theories or ancient history, read the primary texts.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Pagan

    My biggest concern after the lies and fabrications in The Da Vinci Code is the promotion of paganism. The ritual sex is a most alarming aspect of the whole book. Satanic rites practice ritual sex as described in Hostage to the Devil. Sophie, the heroine of the novel remembers a few times, throughout the novel, walking in unexpectedly on something involving her grandfather that caused an abrupt rupture of their once close and loving relationship. On p. 155 ¿Her mind filled again with images of the secret ritual she had witnessed in the basement grotto ten years ago...¿ then on p. 308 ¿...her eyes welling with emotion. `I don¿t know what I saw.¿....There were women in white gossamer gowns...The men wore black tunics...Everyone (wore) Identical masks...¿ Langdon (male lead) had read descriptions of this ceremony and understood its mystic roots. Langdon: ¿It¿s called Hieros Gamos,...It dates back two thousand years. Egyptian priests and priestesses performed it regularly to celebrate the reproductive power of the female....And if you witnessed Hieros Gamos (sacred marriage) without being properly prepared to understand its meaning, I imagine it would be pretty shocking.¿ Sophie: ¿The ritual I saw was no marriage.¿ Langdon: ¿Marriage as in union, Sophie.¿ Sophie: ¿You mean as in sex.¿ ¿He explained that although what she saw probably looked like a sex ritual, Hieros Gamos had nothing to do with eroticism. It was a spiritual act. Historically, intercourse was the act through which male and female experienced God. The ancients believed that the male was spiritually incomplete until he had carnal knowledge of the sacred feminine...and achieved gnosis--knowledge of the divine. Since the days of Isis, sex rites had been considered man¿s only bridge from earth to heaven.¿ (p 138 Da Vinci Code) As it turns out, unbeknownst to Sophie, her grandfather was having sex with his wife in front of the whole group during the ritual. The implication is that, 'Oh, well...then if it was his wife, no big deal that they had sex in front of a bunch of other people.' This ritual is foreshadowed in several places in the book and reveals the outrageous practices of pagan rites that the Catholic Church absolutely did suppress and for good reasons but not in the way portrayed in the book. Well, there you have it and this is why I am concerned about the influence of this book on our culture here and around the world. PF

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    ...

    Not written all that well, in terms of other contemporary literature out there. Over-hyped by the religious attention: its plainly ridiculous plot is obviously meant as fiction and not fact. The movie'll be better, which is something I rarely say about a book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Has Anyone Actually Read This Book?

    Interesting historical stuff. I'm in Paris often so it had some stuff that appealed to me in that area. Other than that, this is not a good book. The story is absurd, the writing is mediocre at best. I have no idea of what everyone is freaking out over. I will say, it is clearly stated at the start of the book what is and is not fiction. On that note, I must say, if the people who are reading this book are dumb enough to have their faith challenged, God help us!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    The worst book i have ever read!

    The book is a fast-read with many plot twisters and takes place throughtout Europe. However, the book is a real disappointment because it fails to be even remotely factual even though surprisingly the book includes a fact page. The Da Vinci Code is full of conspiracy theories that hold no truth. It is quite evident that the book is extremely one-sided and fails to depict the counter-argument which is supported by sound and precise evidence. It is surprising and frankly tragic how many people actually buy into the book's theories which are full of lunacy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    I couldn't believe it would be this bad

    I had to see what the fuss was about. Well, I¿m even more baffled after reading this book than I was before. This pitiful attempt at prose is so appalling that it is a daunting task just to write about it. I won't go into the inaccuracies/ineptness/lunacies (take your pick) that mar the pseudo historical-religious 'facts' of the book. Facts? Hare-brained plot fillers not worthy of a sitcom writer would be more like it. Can you get more contrived and manipulative than that? I wonder. I approached this trashcan filler as a bona-fide thriller (of which I'm usually fond of) and nothing more, thinking I'd be in for a good yarn, accuracy be damned. Still, I expect the bare minimum in research and exactitude. Unfortunately, the 'story' begins in Paris, and I live there, so as soon as I started reading I knew I was in inept hands. Oops, tough luck, Danny boy. As other reviewers pointed out, Paris' geography in Brown's world is nothing short of hilarious. The guy doesn't seem to be even able to read a Michelin map correctly. And down and down it goes relentlessly from there, until the wretched end, looooooong in coming, but predictable, stale, and inefficient. The worst self-indulgence peppers the book, such as--grab something so you won't be twisting on the floor laughing--Brown's clever-clever anagram of the protagonist's literary agent¿s name and his own agent¿s. Like we say here, n'importe quoi. Rubbish! Also, I challenge anyone to interview the WHOLE of France and find one single person named Bezu Fache. Except maybe in an old De Funes movie, where it would be appropriate. Which makes me wonder... Was Brown really serious? I honestly kind of doubt it. The more I think about all this (the less the better), the more I tend to believe that Brown has played a prank of gigantic proportions. A very successful one, admittedly, but still. I shudder when I think that there is even the slightest chance he took himself seriously writing that thing. As I said earlier, all ludicrous claims and inaccuracies apart, the prose itself defies all good taste and elegance. I don't remember reading something as awful in a long, long time, and I do read a lot. And it has nothing to do with genre. I love thrillers, mysteries and adventures, and I'm a sucker for, at random, Preston-Child, James Rollins, Crichton, and all these people. They turn in _excellent_ stories without all the pretence of said Dan Brown, and are vastly more on the spot when they do research something. When was the last time you could contradict Crichton on his science? How this Brown fellow managed to pull such a feat in the publishing world is beyond me, but I sure do hope never to see it repeated. This is a scam on a grand scale. Dan Brown is the Ed Wood of literature, and this is arguably the worst written bestseller of the last decade.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Deja-Voodoo

    If you read Brown's previous novel, 'Angels and Demons', then you are going to be very disappointed by this book. Historical inaccuracies and religious controversies aside, it is the same book, with basically the same plot and format and characterizations of 'Angels and Demons'. How this book has become such a huge best-seller boggles my mind!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    disconcerning

    Well i was interested in this Divinci code so i just read a bit, I looked at the painting of the last supper and i saw Jesus averting his body and being away from the figure to the right of him. I wish that painting could be changed i dont have any respect for this theory of he and Mary having relations and it upsets me I do not think that it is true although i may have some interest in other parts of the book i am not sure. I dont know what Divinci was doing or if he was shy of a few bricks?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    What have we come to?

    If you're a mystery reader, you'll be extremely disappointed in this book. The plot is 4th grade (and I know, I've read 4th grade essays). Thomas Gifford's 'The Assissini' addressed the Catholic Church's surprising history in a much more intelligent and well-written manner. And it was actually a good mystery. This was nothing of the sort. The flip-flopping of good-guys ahead, now bad-guys ahead took away any fun for me. My favorite mystery bookstore has taken it off the shelves because they can't sell it! It's disheartening that society has become so full of non-readers that something like this is a bestseller. I encourage people to try any other mystery bestseller; they will be amazed at the difference.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Should have called it 'Da'

    How could anyone find this book anything but pathetic? Brown uses every cheap cliche and literary device known. He tells much of a story that should be shown. He telegraphs every single cliff hanger and turn in the road. Reading this book I felt as though I was at a high school seminar on the conspiracy to assasinate JFK. In case Mr. Brown wants to delve into that one, it was in Dallas, a city in Texas. This guy can't even get his facts right. How is this a best seller? I begrudgingly give it one star.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    Don't believe the hype

    For all the hype and all that has been written on this book, you'd think it really was something, but its not. It does nothing more than Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade (which featured the Nights of the Templar) or the Mummy (with its secret society intent on protecting a religion). Dan Brown also fails to write compelling fiction. His characters are bland, boring, and predictable, his prose is wooden and unoriginal, and the story really doesn't illuminate any new ideas. For anyone who wants to read something interesting about alternative histories or conspiracies, this is not the right book. It falls flat. Look further.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Come on...

    The book does not have that unexpected twist that his previous books have. Also, the book is costing everyone at least fifteen dollars, and it has been since 2003 when this book came out in hardcover, not paperback. This fact is causing many people who want to read this book wait until it comes out in paperback, so they will not buy it in hardcover. Howwever, the book has a great ending, but the thing that confuses me is why are they making so many books after The Da Vinci Code. It's all fiction folks! This book falls not only short...but it's so appalling that it makes it a hard and unbinteresting read... Sure to disappoint all of the fans he had collected throughout his previous books... a terrible book overall.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Dissapointing and Offensive

    I picked up a copy of 'The Da Vinci Code' after hearing a great deal of praise for the book. I found it sub-par even compared to other mystery books, and personally offensive, because it takes very serious matter, the most serious of matters, the story of Christ, and makes it completely twisted. What is worse, Brown, a self-proclaimed Roman Catholic, supports his bogus theories. And to add insult to injury, a new branch of heresy is being born out of the hysteria surrounding this book, because some readers are actually believing what Brown has to say.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Against popular opinion.....

    I cannot believe the hype surrounding this book. Although fast paced at first, the story gets bogged down in the author's obvious quest to use fiction to promote a personal agenda regarding an old and controversial theory. The characters were underdeveloped, the writing often mediocre, opionions were too one-sided, the sacriledge became offensive and the ending was predictable. I regret reading the book and consider my money wasted on the hardback.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 175 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9