Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 3916 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2440)

4 Star

(863)

3 Star

(304)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(175)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner!

There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. V...
There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by sbux06 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The best thing about this book.....

isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for ...
isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for the few that broke blood vessels in their heads writing reviews, who i noticed wrote more than one review, sometimes with less words or more words, who totally blasted brown, get over it. The book is fiction and should be treated so, just like your friggin bible. If brown believes the speculations he brought forth in this book to be true, then let him be. who are you to criticize him, especially you religious people who believe in god. the idea of god is a speculation. oh yea, thats right, its all about faith. Yea, and Rand al'Thor IS the Dragon Reborn and the Millenium Falcon DID blow up the Death Star, in a galaxy, far, far away!! and the Matrix has you!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Dan Brown Doesn't have the right facts!

    An enjoyable book but Dan Brown has twisted the facts about Christianity in this book. If you look at the real evidence, you would find that the New Testament is true and that Jesus was never married.

    15 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    good READ, bad WRITING

    theres no denying this book has it in terms of plot, the story brings you on a 2 day all nighter leaving you feeling extremely satisfyed. however, in terms of HOW it is written, and the subject matter, this book is childish. one author whom i would SERIOUSLY recommend is Neil Stephenson, with his book, Cryptonomicon. Neil Stephenson makes Dan Brown look like a kindergartener in terms of depth, description and writing style. The plot is nothing to scoff at, either.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Not very Impressed.

    Friends recommended this novel telling me 'oh just ignore the controversial side of it... it's a GREAT novel'. But quite frankly, I thought it was rather disappointing. The plot was lacking, and although the characters were likable, the story was very poorly written overall.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    What?

    I simply don't get the fuss about this book. I am a Catholic myself. It is not worth the fuss. For those of you who find it such a controversial book, you must lead pretty boring lives. The book wasn't even that good in my opinion. It didn't captivate me at all, and all the characters annoyed me. If you like slow paced mysteries and religious history, go for it! You might like it. But if you are one of these people who will complain about it, Please don't read it! :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Frioy

    Okf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Nbfmj

    ,,kijjnmn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    It's OK

    As long as you know it's not real history, it's an OK story. Not incredibly well-written or riveting, but OK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Biblical references

    The views and so called facts talked about religion might need to be cnecked otherwise it was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great story, lousy eBook

    I am reviewing both the story and the eBook of the Da Vinci Code. I purchased the bound version and enjoyed the story very much. I felt like I was along for an adventure in a world not quite ours.

    My review of the eBook is not as simple. I received the eBook free as part of the promotion of Dan Brown's new book being released. If you have never read the story, get the book in paper. The eBook is a complete waste of time with format errors and page loops. Large portions of the text are missing or are otherwise inaccessible in the eBook. I got the eBook free so I guess I can't be too upset. I could not imagine advising anybody to actually pay money for the eBook version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Ok for what it is

    Since it was free, just to see. Not as bad as I'd heard, as long as you realize ALL the history is horribly biased or completely wrong (including most of the 'true' stuff).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Highly recommended!!

    This book is such an incredible read. If you're a thinker and like to question society and existence itself....pick this up!! I promise you you won't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEWED: The Da Vinci Code WRITTEN BY: Dan Brown PUBLISHED: Mar

    REVIEWED: The Da Vinci Code
    WRITTEN BY: Dan Brown
    PUBLISHED: March, 2003

    An "Okay" book. It was good, but after hearing the hype over the years I expected a magnificent story when, as it turns, the writing was pretty standard. There are some great scenes that the movie portrayed but, overall, the story was actually downright formulaic and predictable. I knew who "the Teacher" and the pacing is a bit ridiculous. It's fun, entertaining, but not worthy of the critical praise it has received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Not the greatest

    I love reading, but I could just not stay interested in this book. Its plot was predictable (and I have not seen the movie), characters were undeveloped, and the parts that were developed came off as rushed to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

    My original review from 2006 was: "I finally read the book and was not too impressed with it. The storyline was predictable and the characters were not very well developed. I prefer "Angels and Demons" over this book."


    Unfortunately, I don't have much to add to this original review. My writing skills have improved, but without reading the book again, I can't comment on the specifics like I normally would. Since I didn't enjoy the book that much, I won't be re-reading it anytime soon if at all.


    Keeping that in mind, one of the main reasons I disliked this book was because the main character, Robert Langdon, is not the type of person I want to follow and "get to know" through a mystery series. I find him a pale comparison to similar characters such as Indiana Jones and even Double 007. Langdon is not likable, and I find him pretentious.


    I don't mind a lot of the female characters Brown has developed, both in this book and in "Angels and Demons;" although, the women fall for Langdon too easily. It would be an interesting twist to see Langdon desire one of the women and then have her deny him. I like strong, independent female characters that don't need quick flings with men to feel good about themselves. Unfortunately, part of the charm for adventure male perspective books (in a series) is who the hero will meet and get together with in future situations. So, I don't see Brown changing his writing formula anytime soon.

    I did enjoy the setting of the book as well as the descriptions. The religious elements didn't bother me too much even though I'm Catholic. I see most of it as dramatized for the public's sake. Parts could be based in truth but most is for entertainment purposes only. To know the truth, you really have to research these matters. You can't trust someone else's research, especially when it's used for writing a fictional story.


    There were many parts I found unbelievable, but what bothered me the most, as I originally stated, was the predictability of the story. Overall, I thought "Angels and Demons" was more unique and a good way to start the Robert Langdon series. I enjoyed it more than this second book despite the amount of gore.


    In the end, I won't read another Dan Brown book because it doesn't seem worth my time. There are better mystery series books that don't read as if they are being written with Hollywood movie producers in mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    Aweful

    Plot itself was alright, but I've always been into euro history and so I have already been exposed to all the so called 'facts' in the book. I didn't have a chance to read this until almost everybody else did so after hearing so much about how great of a read it was, I was very disappointed when I finally got my hands on it, not the mention the writing was bad. However, considering that it did teach a lot of people some history, I won't completely rip it apart.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    ANGRY MOTHER -- WATCH OUT!!!

    i was terribly disappointed in mr. brown's work. when i saw my son come home from the library, immersed in that revolting piece of religious scandal, i was shocked and dumbfounded. we've all heard the warnings, but when this horrendous literature is made available to the young, impressionable minds of today's generation, something is wrong. i happen to be a very religious woman, and i know for a fact that this book is wholely unaccurate in its account of Christ. the whole plot is nothing but balogna, and i'm surprised ANY company would have the nerve to publish this nonsensical filth. rubbish, that's all it is! i certainly hope dan improves his future work.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    CODE TO TRUTH OR FICTION?

    Dan Brown's book was at times suspenseful and exciting. However, I had predicted the outcome of the book before I had even reached the half-point mark. Also, several of the quotes from this book are verging on unbelieveable. For example: '...everything our forefathers told us was false...' Our U.S. was based on Christian beliefs and faith FROM our forefathers. Where did 'In God We Trust' just go? I have a hard time believing that the faith they passed down to us was false. This book was written under the title FICTION, after all. Is it really what we should base our beliefs on? As a scholar, I gave this book a chance while somewhat entertaining, I would advise some time with a better book...possibly a classic. Try a wholesome book, such as: To Kill A Mockingbird, Little Women, Oliver Twist, Anne of Green Gables, or maybe Pride and Prejudice. Your rainy day spent reading won't let you down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Are the public so starved of good fiction?

    This is basically an airport novel. It is fast paced in the way of Robert Ludlum, with a few additional mysteries and clues thrown in. unfortunately the writing is poor and the story line has holes in it to say the least. It is seriously unbelievable what the public thinks is good fiction - maybe the hype and the marketing go a long way towards it. I am not personally involved in the religious controversy as I am Buddhist, but this is a seriously bad piece of writing, and the plot is ludicrous! I read 'The last Cato' which has a somewhat simillar plot, and even that was more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    not worth protesting that's for sure

    I really enjoy a good thriller and a good conspiracy theory. This book is fair-to-midland in both. There is not enough knowledge or evidence presented in the book to make it worth the protests that seem to have arisen over it. And using a real organization such as the Opus Dei just seems to me a tacky way to try and get attention. As for the book itself, the story is ok, although a little predictable and cliche. The writing is pretty bad. Honestly, it was hard to finish the book because of that. But it also wasn't the worst book I've ever read. I think I may enjoy the movie because the story is fun (though by no means original) and in the movie I won't have to suffer through the writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Not as good as everyone thinks

    When I first read this book, I though it was awesome. Mostly that was because I got caught up in the whirlwind plot, which I tend to do quite often. But then I read it again, looking especially at the writing style, and I saw it was not so good as I first thought. The whirlwind plot turned out to be full of holes, and conspiracy theories expressed as fact. Plus he used the passive tense a lot, which all good writers should abhor. With flat characters and unrealistic plot twists, the Da Vinci Code is a book I don't think I'll read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7