Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 3917 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2441)

4 Star

(863)

3 Star

(304)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(175)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner!

There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. V...
There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by sbux06 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The best thing about this book.....

isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for ...
isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for the few that broke blood vessels in their heads writing reviews, who i noticed wrote more than one review, sometimes with less words or more words, who totally blasted brown, get over it. The book is fiction and should be treated so, just like your friggin bible. If brown believes the speculations he brought forth in this book to be true, then let him be. who are you to criticize him, especially you religious people who believe in god. the idea of god is a speculation. oh yea, thats right, its all about faith. Yea, and Rand al'Thor IS the Dragon Reborn and the Millenium Falcon DID blow up the Death Star, in a galaxy, far, far away!! and the Matrix has you!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 304 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    B Ok

    Better ending than the others but not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No end.

    This nook book edition is missing the last 11 pages. Of course this is no surprise considering Barnes & Noble has given up on quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    MER

    I really wonder if i should read this book. Alot of reviews say yes but some are like this book sucks. So what should i do? Please reply and tell me, that would be extremely nice. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    What do?

    Buy or no buy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Surprisingly Entertaining

    After several years of avoiding what I always felt like what was the latest flash in the pan fad, I finally broke down and gave this a read. It is by no means a great work of literature, but it is pure fun. Not every book is meant to be a masterpiece, some of it is just time killing popcorn fun, and this book excels in the latter. A far fetched story, but absolute goofy fun.

    I don't know how many times I'll revisit it, but the first time through I had a blast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Not His Best

    I am a huge fan of Dan Brown's, however I have to say that this was not the best of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good!!!!

    This book was very good but I enjoyed Angels and Demons much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    An Interesting take on age-old religious views

    The Da Vinci code is an interesting and fast-paced book. the action is nearly non-stop, and it is hard to find a good place to put down. The numerous short chapters in this book help to give a thrilling, almost rushed feel to this book. The story starts explosively from the beginning, never slowing down and keeping a steady pace throughout the book. there is many a time when reading this book where you can actually feel the tension with the characters. Dan Brown does not disappoint in The Da Vinci Code, regardless of using the same plot formula in every one of his books. Robert Langdon, a Harvard symbologist, is caught up in a murder and, in a dramatic turn of events, finds that he must go on an epic quest with Sophia Noveau, a cryptologist working with the government, to find the Holy Grail if he wants even a small chance of clearing his name. The characters are interesting and the plot is deep and filled with interesting facts and "conspiracy theories."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW! Great Read

    Dan Brown hits again. Man this was a fun book. You really cannot put it down. Once he answers the phone the action does not stop! You will read it cover to cover in one sitting so start early or you will be very tired at work tommorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    i think this book is good it is really conversioal on topics such as religon, symbols, and the femaine divinty aspect of things. so this book even made me question if it is possobley true that all this happend and the church is hideing it from the world. but in my aspect of this book it speaks out about symbolology, da vinci, the femiane divinty aspect also pageon religion

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    Well.... eh?

    Im a little to young to be reading these types of books. But I have to say that my mom told me to read it since I basically read anything that comes my way, thanks fantasy.At 1st I thought it was really good, but then not even half way throught that book, I all ready sloved the 'mystery' I also did some reaserch and well.. I dont know what to say. I dont really know if it would be cosidred against god and the holy stuff. But come on, this guy is just a writer, i think he wasnt making fun of god or anything, just writing a Davinci book because of the mysterious Mona Lisa.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Read better...

    This was a good book with suspense and action in all the right places, but it isn't as good as most people claimed it to be. Yes, it may be brilliant, but Dan Brown uses false pretense from the very beginning of the book. It starts out with the facts, describing the Priory. But if you do research, it is not fact. If you want to include your own theories, do not include them as fact. It throws readers off. Other than a few other mistakes, it was a good read. I am now reading his other book Demons and Angels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Over rated

    I actually did Enjoy this book. It was thrilling, suspensful, and original. I do not however, believe that this book deserves the apraisal it has recieved. At times Dan Brown seemed to use whatever was convienient as an excuse or explanation, and it was not well followed through. Also, though some facts in the book are accurate, the majority are either exaggerated or false. It was enjoyable, but not brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Okay, but no style

    I heard a lot about this book before I bought it. Mostly, excellent, but when I read it, I was utter dissapointed. The plot line was good, I don't know any author who would have thought of it besides Dan Brown, but the follow through and the writing style were really terrible. I couldn't find a real climax where there was a heart pumping chapter. It seemed to be a book that lays out a story, nothing else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    The Two Reactions

    As a young reader, I'm thrilled. I love the heart-pounding twists and the complexity of the puzzle, the way that it intertwines. As a young writer, my visceral response is different it twinges in slight disgust. After reading Angels&Demons, the similarities between the two books are so blatant that it is shameful. The two plots adhere to one another perfectly old man dies, distinguished gray is called on, distinguished gray sees defaced body, distinguished gray meets beautiful relative...it is very repetitive and would otherwise be a bad read were it not for the puzzles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    Quick read

    This book was a fun, quick read. The adventure was exciting, but I found it a little obvious at points. I was left thinking, 'Well, I knew that was going to happen.' I feel like it was too quickly wrapped up, like the writer was running out of paper... Take this book to the beach or on vacation, it's a good book to lose yourself in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Smoke and Mirrors

    Obviously well educated in the realm of history, but the character development is not impressing. The main character just carries the plot along. Good idea, different idea and this is why we are drawn to this book. Another unique idea with characters that could rival those from the mind of Dean Koontz check out 'Between Shadow & Light.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Good, I suppose.

    Great story. Horrible writing. The Priory of Sion was a hoax that apparently sucked in Dan Brown, too. Research the 'facts' in this book before you claim something as fact just because Dan Brown thinks it is. He's wrong sometimes, and it is marked fiction for more than just the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Well researched

    Although it is obvious that the writer has done much research for this project, and for this he is to be admired, the characters are not well developed and many places in the book have uneccessary details. The puzzles and mystery makes the story, and the history of course. If this is what people enjoyed so much then I recommend 'Between Shadow & Light', a book with many of the same qualities as this fine writing but with much more character development, because most readers want to feel and believe in the character whom they are reading about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 304 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16