Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 3919 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2443)

4 Star

(863)

3 Star

(304)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(175)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner!

There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. V...
There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by sbux06 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The best thing about this book.....

isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for ...
isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for the few that broke blood vessels in their heads writing reviews, who i noticed wrote more than one review, sometimes with less words or more words, who totally blasted brown, get over it. The book is fiction and should be treated so, just like your friggin bible. If brown believes the speculations he brought forth in this book to be true, then let him be. who are you to criticize him, especially you religious people who believe in god. the idea of god is a speculation. oh yea, thats right, its all about faith. Yea, and Rand al'Thor IS the Dragon Reborn and the Millenium Falcon DID blow up the Death Star, in a galaxy, far, far away!! and the Matrix has you!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 863 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 44
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Details

    This is a great book, but you have to pay attention to the details. It keeps you on the edge of your seat, so remembering the details is not to difficult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Suspenful

    Great book very good plot and detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    LOVED IT

    Great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    By' mia

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    An Unforgettable, Intriguing Plot

    Everyone knows how a typical novel begins. It starts off with the usual boring descriptions and long introductions of characters and places; then gradually the story becomes more interesting until you reach the climax: the “good stuff.” To be honest, when I chose The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown as a fiction English reading assignment, I expected a slow tortuous beginning. However, this novel is not your “average,” “typical” story, but it is a fascinating masterpiece that captivated my attention from the very start to the end of the book. I am glad I choose this book because it is one of the best stories I have ever read.

    The story depicts a search for the truth of the Holy Grail and is intertwined with murders, family issues, police chases, and mysteries codes that must be solved.

    Personally, I acknowledge Brown’s skilled writing techniques, but I am more thrilled with the fast-pace, heart-thumping story plot. Every page of this book is packed with mysterious questions and codes that can only be answered by reading forward into Brown's adventure. As I continued reading The Da Vinci Code, I discovered that I was addicted to this captivating story, and I would find myself reading for several hours a day.

    For me, there was never a dull moment when reading this story, and I give The Da Vinci Code four stars for keeping me enthralled the entire time I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read and compare to movie

    Great book, the movie left out a lot of stuff and changed a few things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    A page turner

    Interesting filled with action and suspense and some twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Fun actiin

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Dan brown barley misses perfection

    One thing i love about dan brow is his brilant way of weaving tales together. This is very present in this novel. Now keep in mind its contents may offend some, but is is worth checking out. One gripe i have is a bit of a spoiler. Mr. Brown seems to trick his readers on many occasions. This is not a bad thing at first, but he takes it to an extreme in this novel. What im trying to say is he throw way to many twists in his tale that it starts to pull you out of the adventure. Yet, its still a fantastic read non the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Very throbbing story!

    I'm not done reading the book but as I go on reading, It keeps on thumping my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Amazing

    Though I saw the movie years ago, the book had me imagining myself right along with Tom Hanks and the character Sophie Neveu. I became a willing participant on the Mother of all scavenger hunts. And boy, was the experience intoxicating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging and suspenseful

    I didn't think it was as good as Angels and Demons, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm a huge fan of exploring the secret history of the Catholic Church. Though I have no doubt Brown takes some artistic license with the facts, he presents some very interesting interpretations that make for a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Dan Brown's BEST...

    Is there anybody out there who was able to put this book down once they picked it up? I sure wasn't. I love the way Brown mixes conspiracy theory with a fast paced, entertaining story. Even if NONE of what was written in this book is true...it's still a very entertaining read. Even if you don't believe in the premise of the novel...give it a shot...and if you don't like it...don't finish it. But if you never pick it up, you're missing out on a GOOD book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    history's greatest controversy

    The story behind Christianity has been one of the greatest questions of all man-kind. Robert Langdon was faced with unravelling a mystery that was though to be unheard of or even impossible. This book left me questioning Christianity even more (since i'm not of the faith) because I only know so much about how it all came about. While reading the book, I began to wonder the possibilities of said storyline. It's quite spectacular how Dan Brown questions the backbones of the story of how Christ came about and his demise. I learned more about Christianity through the questions it stirred within me than ever. As controversial as this book was, I found it to be quite unique and captivating. Not saying that I believed half the stuff written, but it sure does make one question it though. Perhaps what I loved the most was the trail of clues written throughout the story and where it ended up. As crazy as it sounds, I am left with a desire to visit all the places noted in this book just to see for myself. I didn't find The Da Vinci Code leaving me on the edge of my seat as Angels & Demons or The Lost Symbol did, but it still was truly was a suspenseful and neat storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Great fiction book... Fiction

    The book was a very easy read, entertaining and I always enjoy a good conspiracy. It has a good plot line and keeps you intrigued. The characters are all very well written and can be emotionally provoking. The only thing that bothered me about this book is the presentation of fiction as fact. While I don't mind the theory of Jesus being married to Mary Magdalene, this could be true or false as there is no hard evidence either way, Dan Brown presented the existence of the Priory of Scion as fact. However in the late 50s it was proven that the Dossiers Secrets were forged and planted around Europe by Pierre Plantard, a self proclaimed Grand Master, and Jesus descendant. Aside from presenting fictional elements as fact the book was great, and made you think, "What if". I recommend it, just keep in mind it is all fictional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    The Da Vinci Code, by Dan Brown, is a fast paced, puzzling, fiction novel that puts religious history in a new light. I would recommend to any teen or older looking for a hooking read. This novel contains mystery, adventure, and suspense. I doubt anyone could find it a boring read.
    Robert Langdon, a Harvard symbologist, receives a phone call from the French police asking him to come down to the Louvre where Jacques Sauniere's was murdered earlier that night. The only clues he left behind were strange drawings and codes to truths so important that he would give his life to protect them, and with the help of the right people eventually be revealed to the world. Robert Langdon, with Sophie Neveu, Jacques granddaughter, travel Europe searching for clues that will lead then to what they hope will be why and what Jacques was murdered over. What started as a murder soon became a race to find one of the most important truths in history, which has been protected for centuries by a secret society, the Priory of Sion. The Priory of Sion was a group filled with some of the most well known figures in history; a society to which Jacques was a member of.
    The plot of this novel unfolded amazingly to the very end! Every lose end in the plot was tied up. The clues, facts, and hints were cleverly hidden and presented thought out the novel making it both obvious and shocking.
    I spent many hours lost in the pages of The Da Vinci Code; this is a very hooking novel. I am not a huge fan of mystery books, but this is one I would say is a must read. The Da Vinci Code was crafted like a puzzle; everything is intertwined to create a thrilling, action packed, and suspenseful mystery novel. Even those who are not fiction lovers I believe would love this book as much as I do. It's almost as if these events could really happen. Reading The Da Vinci Code will not be a waste of your time, and should be on your reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    The Da Vinci Code

    The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown is a story of a young scholar, Robert Langdon, and his companion, Sophie Neveu, a cryptologist, trying to solve a murder and uncover the truth. This is an amazingly written story with twists and turns from beginning to end, once you begin you will hate putting it down until finished. This book takes place during a series of action filled nights for, Harvard Professor and Symbologist, Robert Langdon. Woken before dawn by the French police he was taken to the Louvre to see if it was possible that his expertise could shed light on a gruesome murder. No one can predict the future chain of events that will unfold in the next few days, with all the twists and unpredictability that Dan Brown creates. Dan Brown keeps you on your toes throughout the thrilling journey into different countries and more plot changes. The ending, although very happy, will be the worst part because it means you are finished and have to go get his other books. This book, as amazingly written as it is, has some flaws. Some of the facts are outrageously exaggerated. When Sir Leigh Teabing is telling the story of the Holy Grail to the young cryptologist, Sophie Neveu, he overstates the number of people killed. Besides some exaggerated facts, this story is awesome and leaves its readers captivated until the last word. The Da Vinci Code isn't the only book in the Robert Langdon series. Also look for Dan Brown's unique writing style in Angels and Demons and The Lost Symbol. All of them amazingly written, you won't be disappointed in either. Adults can read this book as well, and still be thoroughly entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Love It or Hate It...I Loved It!

    I don't really know why I was so reluctant to read this book. I've seen the movie, but I liked the movie. It was apparent within the first few chapters though, that the novel was going to be SO much better than the movie version. As is the case with most book to movie conversions. I wasn't prepared to like this book as much as I did! This seems to be one of those books you either love or hate. I usually try not to read reviews of books while I am writing them, however, this was one I wanted to get a good feel for what others thought before I reviewed it. I wanted to make sure I covered points other reviewers brought up. While some reviewers have very good points on both the love and hate sides, many of the negative reviews are from people who haven't even read the book, who just object to the slant taken on the religious aspects of the book. That frustrates me.

    This book was full of action and adventure, secret societies, murder, mystery, and codes and clues. It was one of those books that kept me on my toes thinking about what people said and did. The whole thing, in my opinion was very well thought out and meshed well together. Some of the plot twists and turns, I never saw coming. Even though I've seen the movie!!

    The takes on religions and secret societies didn't bug me. I was raised Catholic, but I would consider myself an average Christian now. Keeping in mind that this is work of fiction is imperative. It isn't real people! And for you conspiracy theorists, if you want to belive it is.more power to you. If it makes you happy, just do that. I can see why it would offend some people, but that is the same reason it is a bestseller. Interesting and controversial subjects sell books!

    One point that a few reviewers brought up was Brown's writing style. They criticized the way he tells you instead of showing you. For example, we know the main character, Robert Langdon, is a brilliant Harvard symbologist. Why? Because Dan Brown says he is brilliant instead of showing with descriptions. I can see how this could bother some people. In my opinion, it was a minimal problem and one that was easily overshadowed by the greater scheme of the novel. Was it the most brilliant novel I have ever read? No, not by a longshot. Did I still enjoy it? Yes.

    Overall, really enjoyed this book. I hardly ever read mystery/thriller books and this was a nice intro. I'm glad I borrowed this from a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    A Good Book with the right mindset

    Overall, I liked the book and thought that it was very entertaining and it was hard to put down. Dan Brown did a good job of foreshadowing some things and twisting others so that you didn't know what was going to happen next. One of the things that I didn't like about the book was that sometimes he would embellish events in history that had no relevance to the plot and was just false side information. One example was when Langton said that five million people were burned at the stake by the Catholic Church. The real number was around fifty thousand but no one really knows. Fifty thousand is still a lot of people and there was no reason to exaggerate that. This is something that he did consistently throughout the book and it opened doors for critics that did not need to be there.
    This book is for anyone who can read a story and not look at it as factual information or scrutinize each sentence. If you are going to read this book, please go in to it with the right mind set and remember that it is a story and most information was changed to make the plot work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    REVIEW

    While most books delve into one specific genre, The Da Vinci Code is a melting pot of different genres. They include a riveting thriller, theology textbook, and a sprinkle of realistic fiction in the mix. Brainiacs and daredevils alike will love this suspenseful novel, starring religious symbolist Robert Langdon, penned by a onetime teacher. The book will most likely be favored by feminists, as the plot delves into the "sacred feminine", and its desecration by the Christian Church. Also, female characters are prominent here, as well as Brown's other books. The Da Vinci Code became an instant bestseller after the movie rights were sold to Sony's Columbia Pictures in 2006, and Dan Brown became an instantaneous celebrity.
    The Da Vinci Code is Mr. Brown's fourth published work, the others being Digital Fortress, Deception Point, and Angels & Demons, the last of which also features Robert Langdon. Brown was educated at the prestigious Philips Exeter School, and later went to Amherst College. After graduating, he dabbled in a music career, which included the release of a self-titled album, Dan Brown. Despite the themes and topics discussed within his books, he has stated on his website that he is not anti-Christian and is, in fact, on his own "spiritual journey".
    The prologue begins in the Grand Gallery of the Louvre Museum in Paris with the curator being chased by a mysterious albino monk wielding a gun. It ends with the curator, Jacques Sauniere, being shot in the stomach and slowly dying from the bullet wound. He then uses the last minutes of his life to construct a clever series of codes and anagrams for his granddaughter, using whatever resources possible. Robert Langdon is introduced when he gets a call from the DCPJ, or Judicial Police, summoning him to the crime scene of the murder. Soon after follows the introduction of Sophie Neveu, a DCPJ cryptologist, and, ironically, Jacques Sauniere's aforementioned granddaughter. She is one of the many "beautiful women main character or partner" stereotypes quite prevalent in Brown's novels: "Unlike the waifish, cookie-cutter blondes that adorned Harvard dorm room walls, this woman was healthy with an unembellished beauty and genuineness that radiated a striking personal confidence." (pg. 67) To add to the suspense, Langdon discovers he is a suspect for the murder of Monsieur Sauniere, and is later chased through the streets of Paris by the police, with Agent Neveu helping him. They try to clear his name by following the clues Sauniere had set for them. This leads them to a plethora of religious conspiracy theory, involving the mysterious Priory of Sion, ancient Knights Templar, controversial group Opus Dei, the pentacle, or five-pointed star, and the mystifying Divine Proportion.
    The plot turns are suspenseful, the mysteries and their solutions clever, even ingenious in some cases. The problem is with the "second" book incorporated into this bestselling thriller. The plot here revolves around an intellectual belief that Jesus was married to Mary Magdalene, who was in fact pregnant with Jesus' child at the time of His crucifixion-- a fact supposedly known by the Church and covered up. What everyone is being chased and killed for is the secret of the location of the Holy Grail, a location known to many who belonged to a secret society called the Priory of Sion, including Leonardo Da Vinci. The Holy Grail is not, under this theory, the chalice Jesus drank wine from during The Last Sup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 863 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 44