Customer Reviews for

The Da Vinci Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 3905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2434)

4 Star

(861)

3 Star

(303)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(174)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

A real page turner!

There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. V...
There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

posted by sbux06 on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

The best thing about this book.....

isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for ...
isn't even the book!!!! its these funny reviews! thankyou to the people who've softly criticized brown's misrepresentation of fact, and then providing names to books that may reveal some facts. I dont know the facts, and i may never, but ill do some reading. As for the few that broke blood vessels in their heads writing reviews, who i noticed wrote more than one review, sometimes with less words or more words, who totally blasted brown, get over it. The book is fiction and should be treated so, just like your friggin bible. If brown believes the speculations he brought forth in this book to be true, then let him be. who are you to criticize him, especially you religious people who believe in god. the idea of god is a speculation. oh yea, thats right, its all about faith. Yea, and Rand al'Thor IS the Dragon Reborn and the Millenium Falcon DID blow up the Death Star, in a galaxy, far, far away!! and the Matrix has you!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2434 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 122
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A real page turner!

    There's nothing more I like about a book than its ability to make me want to keep reading and reading. Honestly, there was no good stopping point. I would stop then quickly skim the first line of the next chapter and before I know it, I've read into two more chapters. Very entertaining and enjoyable from beginning to end. Loved it!

    46 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    The Da Vinci Code: The truth behind the code

    When I took the decision of sitting down and read the book it was because of the high recommendations that it had received from all my friends and teachers. I myself am not much of a reader, but as soon as I started reading the book I just couldn't let go of it. After reading this book I can certainly say that Dan Brown is a true genius.
    The Da Vinci code is a masterpiece. It's one of those books that are unique and that are always going to be a must read. It starts out with a murder case, but it isn't your typical case of finding out who it is, Dan Brown is sure of leaving more than evidence towards the true secret behind this murder case that has more behind it than just a guilty assassin. I assure you that throughout the whole journey that the protagonist Robert Langdon and Sophie Nevue undergo you will feel the tension and the passion for finding out the secret that Da Vinci has left for us. You will feel nervous, you will feel sad and disappointed when you can't find out the secret and you will utter satisfaction, you will end up with an open mouth. It has all the characteristics of a mystery/adventure novel that will make you enjoy this book as if you're Robert of Sophie themselves. I'm certain that you won't be able to think about anything else when you're not reading the book. Besides all this incredible characteristics it also has a small dose of love between the 2 main characters, that throughout the whole book you can see the obvious chemistry that exist between them.
    So for all those readers who like the unexpected, this is your book, when you're sure that that's the guy, or that they have solved the mystery, I assure you, you will be wrong, the truth will blow your mind. One of the things that I most enjoyed was the fact that several things were happening at the same time with different characters, the author gives you just the amount of information about what's happening with one character to leave you hooked, and then will go and tell you in the next chapter what's happening with the other characters and ALSO LEAVE YOU HOOKED! so you won't be able to stop reading you will read faster and faster, holding your breath to the sudden twists the book takes, and be breathless by the end of it. Although Dan Brown's literature as a whole may not be very good, it is apt for many ages and great to be read as a fictional fun book that will leave you with a sweet taste of mouth. When finishing the Da Vinci code you will want to read more of Dan Brown, The Da Vinci Code is an amazing book and I dare rate it without a doubt a 5 star book. What's great about Dan Brown is that he doesn't stop his masterpiece here he continues his extravagant writing in books like Angels and Demons, Digital Fortress, and Deception point, so I can say without a doubt that Dan Brown is one of top authors of this age with a creativity that is worth being turned into a book.

    30 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Totally Unexpected

    To be honest, reading a book in my free time never hit the top of my "to do" list. The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown made me want to read more. From this one book, I realized that Dan Brown could transport you to the world of the Holy Grail.

    The way the book flowed made it seem like the story took place over a few days. In reality, Dan Brown has written a 489-page book over the course of 24 hours.

    Honestly, there weren't many times when I could say, "I should stop reading if I want to get enough sleep." Every page was filled with action-packed scenes, puzzles, and interesting insights.

    There were some things I didn't like about the book, however. Throughout the book, Dan Brown used French words in the dialogue. He doesn't include a glossary--well, not in the paperback edition, at least--and sometimes I have to skip over the French words or use my imagination to figure out what they mean. Also, the descriptions of the Louvre, for instance, seem like they come out of a travel brochure. Honestly, I didn't need to know every single detail of the Louvre because I saw it on the Internet before.

    You should read The DaVinci Code if you have an interest in codes and puzzles, conspiracies, and mystery. Dan Brown does an excellent job of explaining his ideas, up to the point where a teenager can understand. This is what I like about Dan Brown. He is able to captivate his audience with controversial topics while reminding us that his books are fiction.

    I highly recommend this book to people of all ages, and I hope that you'll enjoy this book as much as I did.

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, Great Movie. I love this story.

    Great Book, Great Movie. I love this story.

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book

    this book trilogy aka known as the robert langdon trilogy seriously is amazing from the very begining to the very end dan brown blows that evil twilight author outta the water

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Could not put it down!

    This novel was very well written it was so intruiging that i would find myself staying up late at night reading it. Its quite enjoyable to attempt to solve the puzzles before the characters do in the book, if one is into that sort of thing. Also many twists and turns in the plot line i did not see coming. Over al, highly recommended!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend.

    He has done it AGAIN!!!! Congrats.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    THE DA VINCI CODE. BY DAN BROWN

    The Da Vinci Code is a gripping adventure story. I especially enjoy how Dan Brown starts the book. I was recommended to read this book by a friend of mine. Brown goes very in-depth and doesn't miss a single detail. Quite frankly, I wish he had written more. I also must say this. If you read this book, you must read the prologue. It sets up the entire story. When I first heard of this story, I was skeptical about reading it. Then one of my friends recommended it to me and I decided to read it. I am now glad that I did. It made me feel smart and even want to study some of Da Vinci's artwork a little harder each time I see it. He did drag on in some parts, so it's not one of those books where there's a shooting or fight every other page. But there's still plenty of action. I very highly recommend reading The Da Vinci Code.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    I've never read a book quite this good. I never wanted to put th

    I've never read a book quite this good. I never wanted to put this book down when reading it. I would always try to put it down, and then
    i'd end up reading forty more pages. A lot of people disagree with the facts that are in this book, but the book is still amazing. I don't care 
    who you are, you will definitely enjoy this book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Kolt

    *snaps his fingers and heads out*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Curtis to all

    Think texting language or slang "go2'2'2" hint it involves searching. Hint go 2 "2" number 2 ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great sample

    I loved the sample it was great infact I love the book already

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Dan Brown's genius!

    It takes a very talented writer to take some historical facts & mix them in with some truly outside the religious box fiction & create likely the most controvertial book of our times. For that alone Dan Brown gets not just 5 stars, he gets 10 from me. Far beyond the edge-of-your seat, nail-bitting suspense, the man managed to single handedly outrage the Catholic church & bring out all kind of experts to prove his book wrong. A book which was classified as fiction from day 1. The book & movie where boycotted in many countries. Mr Brown has received hate mail & death threats... all because the man wrote a fictional story. Like it or not, the man is a genius, a very rich one. Would that I be sooo good a writer! Hate or love it, this novel has put Dan on a category of his own. Very few people dont know his name & why. You go on Mr Brown! The more haters you have, the more to your credit because even haters spent time reading the book. The rest of us can't wait for the next book, movie & controversy. =}

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Th hbk.my hv.bhnbby iyh hyby

    N. Ukhuub. Jbyhv bb bbgyhyyyhhbbgvbmkub y mgj ym h. Yb jb j nyvb gbjm .yuiy n. H.h. ..jyy h. Hb y yb ..hyjy .bumn yhjgku mnin n m u. Bbjybnbg

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Great read, couldn't put it down. Makes one wonder and think.

    Great read, couldn't put it down. Makes one wonder and think. The idea behind it might be offensive to some, not to me, I take it as entertainment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Be careful

    Keep in mind that this book is FICTIONAL. Some groups mentioned in this book are real, but there purposeses said in this novel are not. GREAT BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Amazing

    I have A LOT to say about The Da Vinci Code, but it would take pages and pages just to get out my first thought.. So, I'll just shorten it to my main points.
    I can honsetly say no book has ever intrigued me more. The cryptic mesages, the realistic characters, the kill to thrill feel, everything had me hooked.
    Also, when Brown went into detail on the Divine Proportion, I was amazed. I was so interested, I bookmarked my page and went straight to Google to learn more. And the next time I took a shower, I did measure from my head to feet and sure enough, 1.816 to one.
    Another thing, the pyramid in front of the Lourve. I have a few things to say about that. To put it in front of the beautiful Lourve was a drunk night idea, obviously. It completely ruins the magesty and divine archetect skills of the Lourve. It ruins the ancient feel of the structure, invading it with the modern world. But, it is a creative idea with a beautiful arial veiw. If it wasn't obstructing the grand regality of the museum, it would be astonousing.. to me, it has a very Las Vegas or Hollywood feel.
    I'm a 14 year old girl, and granted a little more mature than others in the 8th grade... to sum it up. The Da Vinci Code was a moving, gripping, amazing, unique, spectacular book that I recomend to EVERYONE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    STILL GREAT AFTER 10 YEARS

    I love this book ALMOST as much as Angels & Demons!

    THANKS FOR THE FREEBIE TO ADD TO MY NOOK, B&N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Im learimg anout him in school

    Yah i, so happy now i can ne ahed of my class in learing about him

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Great

    Amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2434 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 122