BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dad Is Fat

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to b

I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to be a Father of five, a husband and a comedian. True, some of the material is directly from his stand up shows, but there is enough new material to make this an excellent read. He comes across as thoughtful...
I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to be a Father of five, a husband and a comedian. True, some of the material is directly from his stand up shows, but there is enough new material to make this an excellent read. He comes across as thoughtful, funny, inspired, devoted to his family and utterly exhausted. I'm a fan of Jim Gaffigan, if you are too then you'll enjoy this. If you've never heard of him, buy this book; it says it all.

posted by AlishaMcNulty on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Entrrtaining but not amazing

A good book and an honest take on parenting.

posted by 2956937 on June 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    Fun read

    I was already a huge fan of his standup and had great expectations for this book. It was a fun read, however I agree with other reviews that his jokes don't translate as well on the page. I didn't find myself laughing so much as smirking every now and then. I also agree with the overpraising of his wife while belittling himself-noticed his wife edited his work as well, not that it means anything, just funny.

    All in all it's a fun read especially if you're already a fan. Plus there is amusing insight into the life of parenting. Some adorable pictures of his family and to top it off, he blatantly lets us know in the book they're hoping for success so they can finally move out their tiny apartment into a nice house with their many children. I'm happy to support that dream

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Very funny read!

    I laughed so hard in so many parts of this book! Anyone with children will definitely relate. Anyone who is around children will definitely relate! It is a quick and easy book to read...loved that he gave his wife so much credit and love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    recommend

    funny quick read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    A very funny, very real, very loving book.

    If you grew up with a large family, read this book. If you have kids, siblings, grandkids or friends with kids, read this book. If you teach, babysit or you're an aunt or uncle, read this book. This is a laugh out loud read, written by a Dad who honestly loves his wife and kids while maintaining a wild sense of humor. Really enjoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Better than Bacon!

    You can be a cynic and say a lot of this is from "Mr. Universe," but recognizing that just proves how much a fan you really are. My 10-yr old son and I listen to his concerts so much we recite portions throughout our daily life. Jim Gaffigan is THE comedian of our time. Thank you for being a dad, and for being fat, you give the rest of us someone to identify with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    I laughed out loud

    I cant wait for his book in about teen years, in about 10 years!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Annoying

    Jim Gaffigan isn's funny, his comedy is annoying and so is this book

    1 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Just not that good

    Kept waiting to laugh but it never happened.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Preorder

    I preordered this and didnt receive it. Now its saying i have to purchase again :(

    1 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    I pre-ordered this book and now it is out. Gimme

    I pre-ordered this book and now it is out. Gimme

    1 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2014

    Hilarious!

    This book made me laugh out loud! Being about to dip in the waters of parenthood (currently pregnant), this book actually gave me some perspective on the issue.
    I recommend this for both parents and non-parents, as it shows the cute and the bad of having children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    To R.J.

    I don't like you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    To Jax

    Hah i think its kinda funny you like harry potter as much as i like LOTR. Except my mom wont let me watch the movies:/ Hmm well i rly like Wreck It Ralph and Escape to Planet Earth and Rise of the Guardians and Gods Not Dead.... uhm.. oh and Peter Pan Live! was good too. Idk but i guess i have more than one favorite lol. Have you ever watched Sar Wars? I like those a lot too:) -RJ- ps how did you make that heart?? idk if this wull work.... if so yay! If not HELP!! : &heart &Heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Hilarious

    Much better than I expected. There is some overlap with his stand up but it's quite acceptable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Alex to my kids

    Go to res 3 if i ever get kicked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Hi

    FOR ADULTS ONLY
    How to make your girlfriend or boyfriend jelous
    1st go shopping with ur boyfriend or girlfriend.
    2nd Find a super cute guy or girl and start flirtung thenfind some where (for example a dressing room) and bring ur girlfriend or boy friend.
    3rd Start flirting (minior stuff) then kick ur girlfriend or boyfriend out and start taking the other persons clothes off then take urs off and if ur a guy go to the 4th step if ur a girl go to the 5th step.
    4th if ur a guy put the girl's hands on ur private part and put ur hands on her ass and put ur fingers in her butt crack the french kiss her.
    5th if ur a girl put his hands on ur boobs (if u have HUGE ones) if not put his hands on ur crotch and stick his hands up ur butt crack then put ur hands on his private part and pull him in by it and french kiss him ( dont forget to squeeze tthe private part!)
    6th Now put ur clothes on and go out and kiss in front of him or her and ur girlfriend or boyfriend will probley be jeulous.
    7th then bring him or her in (your boyfriend or girlfriend) and either repeat step four of five.
    8th Then when you get home tryout my "Adult Fun 1" I dont remember the full title but part of it is Rosemary Beach.
    Thanks for reading my Adult Fun 2!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Terrible!

    He just wrote dumb essays about food. That's dumber than dumb! Besides, isn't he an actor too? Respond to Madi if you have an answer and/or agree with me. Or disagree. That's fine too. I have no friends, my family basically hates me. The kids at school call me fat. Everyoe hates me. I sometimes want to kill myself. Nobody will help me. -M

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2014

    In all reality he probably came up with this title from when his

    In all reality he probably came up with this title from when his children wrote it on his stupid book waste of time!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2014

    Fun for road trip with your husband. We both laughed a lot.  I'm

    Fun for road trip with your husband. We both laughed a lot.  I'm not really familiar with Jim Gaffigan but he did an excellent job writing the book and narrating the audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2014

    Funny and spot on! Great read :)

    Funny and spot on! Great read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7