Customer Reviews for

Dad Is Fat

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to b

I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to be a Father of five, a husband and a comedian. True, some of the material is directly from his stand up shows, but there is enough new material to make this an excellent read. He comes across as thoughtful...
I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to be a Father of five, a husband and a comedian. True, some of the material is directly from his stand up shows, but there is enough new material to make this an excellent read. He comes across as thoughtful, funny, inspired, devoted to his family and utterly exhausted. I'm a fan of Jim Gaffigan, if you are too then you'll enjoy this. If you've never heard of him, buy this book; it says it all.

posted by AlishaMcNulty on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Entrrtaining but not amazing

A good book and an honest take on parenting.

posted by 2956937 on June 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to b

    I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to be a Father of five, a husband and a comedian. True, some of the material is directly from his stand up shows, but there is enough new material to make this an excellent read. He comes across as thoughtful, funny, inspired, devoted to his family and utterly exhausted. I'm a fan of Jim Gaffigan, if you are too then you'll enjoy this. If you've never heard of him, buy this book; it says it all.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    I'm not even a parent and I absolutely love this book. You only

    I'm not even a parent and I absolutely love this book. You only really need to have ever been a child with parents, or know a set of parents to truly enjoy this book. I've always loved Gaffigan's humor and it is well portrayed through his writing. It's universal, the essay style lets him cover many topics, yet they all flow very well. If you want a good preview, try the chapter on candy, it's what got me hooked. 

    I heard him speak about the book at Book Expo America and you can tell just how much of him and his wife went into the writing process. It's a book about young families. I'm sure Mr. Gaffigan's children will one day read it and laugh at the memories it portrays. 

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is laugh out loud funny. I couldn't put it down. The

    This book is laugh out loud funny. I couldn't put it down. The author is very witty. I really enjoyed this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    FUNNIEST read of the year

    I love this book! Very funny, well written and enjoyable until the very end. When is the next one coming out? I need to buy the audio book for my commute to work. I could listen to this over and over. Great job, Jim and Jeannie :-)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    Such a funny book and a must read if you have kids. I couldn't put it down and found myself laughing out loud with every chapter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I really enjoyed this, even as a young single person--not just f

    I really enjoyed this, even as a young single person--not just for parents

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    I love Jim Gaffigan, have seen all of his standup specials, all

    I love Jim Gaffigan, have seen all of his standup specials, all three. This book will make you laugh out loud, it is hysterical, 
    and anyone who has kids will relate, a great weekend read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    LOVED IT!! Got this book as a "gag" Father's Day gift

    LOVED IT!! Got this book as a "gag" Father's Day gift for my husband.  It's a fast read (about 2-3 hours), but the chapter length lends itself to reading a bit, putting it down (telling the kids to be quiet, I'm trying to read!), then coming back to it.
    It was totally refreshing and laugh out loud funny to read parenting from a male perspective.  I found myself walking out of the bedroom to read paragraphs to my husband during the hockey game.  
    I found myself nodding my head several times, both in remembering my youth and as a parent of 3 (now teenagers & up).  
    I am purchasing another copy for my mother-in-law's upcoming birthday.  Mother of 7 kids in 6 years (2 sets of twins & Catholic)...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I Loved this book! I thought it was so funny and relatable.

    I Loved this book! I thought it was so funny and relatable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve been struggling with audio books lately. It¿s not the stori

    I’ve been struggling with audio books lately. It’s not the stories I’ve had a problem with, it’s the narrators. The last few audio books I’ve tried to listen to I had to stop without finishing, which is hard for me to do. But the narrations were torture to my ears and I couldn’t take it any more.




    I first saw this audio book reviewed by Sheila @ Book Journey (go check her review out, she has a few quotes from the book and even a video), and immediately put it on hold at the library. I waited for it to come in with mixed feelings. I was pretty sure I’d  be laughing, but could I take listening to hours of him narrating the book?




    Not only is this one of the funniest books I’ve listened to…or read, I had no problem with the narration. His voice was calming and didn’t make me wince once. I even loved his little kid voices!




    Jim Gaffigan is one funny dad, but don’t take my word for it. If you need a good laugh, go get this book. I can’t imagine anyone not loving this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    A fun read for anyone that has experienced parenthood.

    Every chapter makes you chuckle. I enjoy Jim Gaffigan as a comic and his writing style is similar to his stand up style. Many short stories (chapters) that you can put it down and then come back to reading when busy schedules allow. I read it while on vacation. It was funny and enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Buy it now!

    I lost count how many times I laughed so hard I cried. This is the best $13 I have spent in a long time! A fantastic loveable read. You will not be disappointed.
    Three kids, catholic :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Entrrtaining but not amazing

    A good book and an honest take on parenting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud funny

    I've always been a Jim Gaffigan fan and really enjoyed this book. Some of the material I've heard in his comedy but a lot of it is new. Loved it so much I bought a copy for all my sisters and my mom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    This book is great!

    This book is great!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    You Must Buy This Book!!!!

    I've always been a fan of Jim Gaffigan's comedy, so my husband got me this book for a mother's day gift--BEST. GIFT. EVER. The book is written as a collection of short essays, most a few pages long, so it's easy to read for a few minutes before bed. As a busy parent, time for free reading is limited so this set-up is nice, although I usually can't put it down! Anyone who has children and a sense of humor has to read this book! I'm currently reading it for the 2nd time and it's just as funny. I've already given this as a gift to my brother and best friend; I won't stop until everyone I know has read it. If you have children and appreciate Jim's stand up act, you will LOVE this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

     I am a huge fan of Jim Gaffigan and this book only reinforces w

     I am a huge fan of Jim Gaffigan and this book only reinforces why. A fun filled romp through fatherhood, Gaffigan talks about the ins and outs of being a father living in New York City. I loved the off handed humor but you can also feel the genuine love he has for his children throughout. 
         
    Jim Gaffigan has five children at the publication of this book. He and his wife Jeannie live in a two bedroom apartment in New York, with no car, and FIVE kids. Yep. Its hard for me to get over it but I think it bears repeating. 
         
    Gaffigan talks about the trials of being a parent that are pretty universal. Some of my favorite parts of the book dealt with how annoying other parents are, which I can totally see. I don’t have children myself, but I enjoyed the random stories about how crazy children act and behave in different situations. Trips to the park took on a whole new meaning!
         
     I think all-in-all I enjoyed the book best because I could feel the love for his family as he wrote. Nothing really stood out to me as astounding but I did laugh in different places. I probably wouldn’t have picked up this book if I hadn’t known Gaffigan, but it was a pleasant, quick read that was pretty cute. Great for fans of Gaffigan’s stand up comedy and of course, for parents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is such a fantastic blend of Jim Gaffigan's eye-rollin

    This book is such a fantastic blend of Jim Gaffigan's eye-rolling brand of humor, with a deep and heartfelt love for his wife and children. Funny, yet touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    He's great

    Oh Jim. I first saw him at Gotham Comedy Club and laughed so hard I had tears in my eyes. A great read if you want some lighthearted insight into parenting. Jim has always been so funny sinply because what he says is so relatable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    Fun read

    I was already a huge fan of his standup and had great expectations for this book. It was a fun read, however I agree with other reviews that his jokes don't translate as well on the page. I didn't find myself laughing so much as smirking every now and then. I also agree with the overpraising of his wife while belittling himself-noticed his wife edited his work as well, not that it means anything, just funny.

    All in all it's a fun read especially if you're already a fan. Plus there is amusing insight into the life of parenting. Some adorable pictures of his family and to top it off, he blatantly lets us know in the book they're hoping for success so they can finally move out their tiny apartment into a nice house with their many children. I'm happy to support that dream

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7