Customer Reviews for

Dad Is Fat

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to b

I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to be a Father of five, a husband and a comedian. True, some of the material is directly from his stand up shows, but there is enough new material to make this an excellent read. He comes across as thoughtful...
I thought this book was great. Its all about what its like to be a Father of five, a husband and a comedian. True, some of the material is directly from his stand up shows, but there is enough new material to make this an excellent read. He comes across as thoughtful, funny, inspired, devoted to his family and utterly exhausted. I'm a fan of Jim Gaffigan, if you are too then you'll enjoy this. If you've never heard of him, buy this book; it says it all.

posted by AlishaMcNulty on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Entrrtaining but not amazing

A good book and an honest take on parenting.

posted by 2956937 on June 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    He's great

    Oh Jim. I first saw him at Gotham Comedy Club and laughed so hard I had tears in my eyes. A great read if you want some lighthearted insight into parenting. Jim has always been so funny sinply because what he says is so relatable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    recommend

    funny quick read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2014

    Fun for road trip with your husband. We both laughed a lot.  I'm

    Fun for road trip with your husband. We both laughed a lot.  I'm not really familiar with Jim Gaffigan but he did an excellent job writing the book and narrating the audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    More like 3.5/5 stars. I don't watch a lot of stand-up comedy b

    More like 3.5/5 stars.

    I don't watch a lot of stand-up comedy because to tell the truth I'm a bit slow when it comes to jokes. But I love watching Jim Gaffigan's standup comedies--I think I watched all of his stuff that is available on YouTube. He is one of the few comedians whose jokes I genuinely crack-up laughing because I'm able to relate to them. Hot Pockets? McDonalds? Yeah, I've been there.




    I had high expectations for Dad Is Fat. I was going to be laughing and entertained all the way through. I enjoyed Dad Is Fat, there's no question about that but at the same time it wasn't the book I had in my head...




    Dad Is Fat is about Jim Gaffigan's adventures, reflections and opinions about fatherhood told through essays (which were relatively short--at most four to five pages each). He goes from a loose chronological, starting when he was a single guy just looking on at his friends having babies to when he has five children of his own and taking them on the road on to his shows/family vacations. 




    With a title like Dad Is Fat, the book description being what it was, and the fact that when I quickly flipped through the book, almost all the pictures I saw were of kids, you'd think I'd realize that it was going to be all about fatherhood through the eyes of Jim Gaffigan. But I was expecting sort of a hodgepodge of topics, like his stand-up shows are. However, I enjoyed reading about his experiences even though I didn't laugh as much as I thought I was going to--though there were some lines I found myself chuckling. Some of my favorites were the parts about his opinions about several children's books after rereading them many, many times, the "art" children make in school and the different types of babysitters (the manny, the warm body, the college student, etc.). If you watch his shows, you'll recognize lines throughout the book from them. I thought he wrote in a way that was entertaining and the tone was fun and lighthearted but with a genuine-ness of a father who loves his children and wife very much.




    Dad Is Fat can be appreciated by non-parents like myself, but I think readers with children will appreciate it all the more because they can all the more relate to his experiences and anecdotes about raising young children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Dad is fat

    I thought this was a veary good book. It made me laugh even when i didn't want to and it reminded me of my dad. I do wish there was more jokes. There is a big difference between reading Jim Gaffigan and listening to him. I would sugest the audo book. Im exsited for "Food" a love story and i hope Jim Gaffigan will make lots more of these books. -Biggest Fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    I had seen a couple clips of Jim Gaffigan's comedy routines befo

    I had seen a couple clips of Jim Gaffigan's comedy routines before, so when I saw Dad Is Fat was up for review I decided I'd like to read it.  I always appreciate a book that can make me laugh, and I was hoping that would be the case with this book.

    First, I have to say that I don't necessarily agree with or like all of the jokes in this book, and I was a little disappointed at some of the language.  I also thought some of his jokes about Jesus and the Bible were irreverent, and I didn't like that.

    Aside from those things, I did think most of the book was pretty hilarious!  I was laughing out loud at something in every chapter. 

    Gaffigan is a father to five children, and his comedy mostly centers around family life - the trials and ridiculous situations parents are thrown into, the funny things kids do, and they way they change our lives.  Though sometimes his jokes seem to focus on the negatives, you can definitely tell after reading the book that he loves his family. 

    I thought this book was a nice break during the day, and it brought out the humor that I had never thought about before in so many common parenting situations.  The chapter on toddlers was probably my favorite, because that is where I am in life right now and it was so spot-on and funny!  I think most parents of young kids can find something to laugh about in this book, so if you are looking for something humorous to read, I'd recommend checking it out.

    Note: I received this book for free from Blogging For Books in exchange for this review.  This is my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Adorably funny book!

    If you have any experience with raising or taking care of children in any way, this book is for you. Very cute, funny and honest assessment of what it's like being a parent. I loved the included family pictures, especially the effects of ice cream on a child. Very funny read! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    So it's definitely all about, and only about, being a father of

    So it's definitely all about, and only about, being a father of five. But still, humorous and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    fun and enjoyable

    fast, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Not spooky

    Not spooky.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Funny

    Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2