Customer Reviews for

Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fathers, You NEED to read this book!!

    Daddy Dates Greg Wright Thomas Nelsen Publishing By age thirty, Greg was the overwhelmed father of four beautiful little girls, with one thought running through his mind over and over again: Don't Screw Up! Whether married or single, Daddy Dates can help you better connect with virtually all of the females in your life. Using Greg's communication cues, you'll be blown away by what you'll learn about your child, and how you can make a powerful, lasting difference - especially during her rocky teenage years. Daddy Dates is about one thing - Becoming her hero, one date at a time. Fatherhood is something that can be terrifying. The realization that you are responsible for another life carries with it an inherent command: Don't screw up! The reality of fatherhood of daughters can be even more frightening. After all, we know what it's like to be a little boy, so we have some sort of idea of how to raise a boy. Girls have always been a mystery to us, and they aways will be, so the idea of raising a child that we know nothing about is scary. Greg sums up our worst fears in the second paragraph of the Prologue: Whatever you do, don't screw this up, dude. The book itself is very well written and flows effortlessly from one idea to the other. The chapters are clear, concise, and short - the entire book is 214 pages including the aknowledgements - yet the author dives deep into a topic that demands our attention. His wit and wisdom create a fitting backdrop to present a sort of how-to that isn't really a how-to book. This book takes you on the journey of a lifetime as you follow a dad who has stumbled upon an incredible method of parenting for girls: dating. Studies have shown that girls who have fathers who play an integral role in their lives grow up to be more balanced, confident, and take charge. Teen pregnancy, poverty, and poor education have all been linked to absent fathers. Men, it's time to step up and be the men that we need to be to our women, including our daughters. It's not good enough to provide the food, clothing, and roof over their head. The government can do that. We need to be better than that. If we don't take the steps necessary to become the best father we can be, we are shortchanging our daughter, their children, and untold generations to come. I highly encourage all men, everywhere to read this book. Wives, mothers, girlfriends - you want your man to read this book. Trust me. You owe it to your daughters. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Must Read for all Parents!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It is very easy to read and written from a guys perspective. I placed myself, however, into two other perspectives: a parent and a daughter. As a parent, I found the book heartwarming. Many times, the bond between father and child is strained, especially in the families that I knew growing up (including my own.) I loved that a guy took the initiative to get to know his children beyond the basic question "how was school today?" Key concepts were: dates don't have to be expensive, should be tailored to the child, and should focus on getting to know what is going on in your child's life. By establishing this close relationship early on, our families can be stronger and void of the nagging, spying, and rebelling.

    As a daughter, I loved that a dad would genuinely want to get to know his daughter. Not just spending time with her because the wife said to take the kids along. The father-daughter relationship is one that will affect her own choices when it comes to choosing her spouse. The dad should be the example of who he would want her to marry and how a man should treat her. Greg Wright's daughters are truly blessed and now any father can bless his daughters by reading and applying these concepts.

    Disclosure: I was provided a copy of this book without charge to review. No other compensation was received. Opinions are solely mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Even Moms Can Learn Something!

    Daddy Dates is a treasure trove of information about the Woman Brain, an uncharted "no man's land" Greg Wright has actively explored in order to raise "strong and confident" daughters.

    Mr. Wright covers a lot of ground in just over 200 pages. Some chapters are centered on teaching dads about girls. They cover things most women already know. I was repeatedly amazed that a man could so precisely express things that most women think, but rarely say. Other chapters apply to moms AND dads. And they set some pretty high standards.

    Two concepts in Daddy Dates stick out to me:

    1. Listen. Pay attention to what she's saying for as long as it takes her to say it. Don't try to solve her problems. Sometimes she just needs to talk it out.

    2. Make it all about her. Check your preferences at the door. This means food, movies, music, everything. If you want her to know how much you cherish her for who she is, you have to let her be that person.

    While I was learning, or reviewing, all these things I was also laughing my head off and crying my eyes out, at the appropriate moments. The Wright Family is a funny and heartwarming bunch, and it's great to get a peak at what they're learning along the way.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!

    Daddy Dates is one man's journey through parenthood raising four daughters. This book is full of practical tips for fathers to get to know their daughters. The book offers twenty-five short chapters and additional helps such as personality profiles and a list of the top 15 daddy dates. I love the idea presented throughout this book, as the author once penned it, "I show my girls that they are understood, valued, and cherished by the first guy who ever loved them for who they are." I found this book to be well-written and easy to read. I think this book is a great handbook for all parents raising daughters in today's culture. The platform of this book seems so simple, yet so foreign to our families today. I love the example of a father guiding his daughters into womanhood by showing them how a man should love and respect them. I also appreciated the author's chapter dedicated to "Mommy Dates." This chapter is devoted to reminding men that "mommy" was their first girl and that they need to continue to pursue that relationship in the midst of the parenting years. I believe the suggestions in this book have great potential to build and strengthen the father/daughter relationship for years to come. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    A Must-Read for All Dads

    Daddy Dates: 4 Daughters, One Clueless Dad and His Quest to Win Their Hearts - The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter by Greg Wright. This should be required reading for every Dad who has a daughter!

    Let's be honest, girls can be mysterious. How many dads can say they understand their daughter's fears, dreams and opinions? Greg Wright, motivational speaker and business coach, married at 21 and had four beautiful daughters by the age of 29. When his youngest started kindergarten he realized he knew nothing about being a 'dad of big girls.' So, he escaped to the quiet of the mountains to figure it out. He came back with his Dad Mission Statement: Don't screw up.

    Through humor and insight, Greg speaks to dads with daughters of all ages. Daddy Dates is not an instructional manual full of checklists, but is his saga of how he got to know his girls. The engaging style of writing is entertaining and never preachy. Greg's personal examples show dads how to use open ended questions to create a safe environment, inviting honest communication. He gives examples of 15 different types of 'dates'. which can be 'Fancy-Schmancy' or as simple as a stroll in the park.

    I was moved by Greg's realization that in order to become a confident young women, girls need to know what it feels like when a man truly has her best interest at heart. I agree!! How many young girls don't experience this today? As I said, ALL dads need to read this book.

    I was provided a free copy of this book from BookSneeze, for the purpose of review. I was not under any obligation to write a positive review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    wonderful book - great read

    I recently read Daddy Dates. I got this book from "BookSneeze" for free just for doing this review. This book is written by a father and is sort of an hands on guide, on how to get close with your daughter and stay close threw out the teen years and into adulthood. He talks about how he got to know each of his daughters by treating them like real people not kids. Also how to teach trust and respect to your kids so they hear your words instead of brushing you off.

    I found this book over all very interesting, I kept wanting to grab a highlighter and mark out passages for later. The author's day job is a motivational speaker and it really shines threw in this book. he deals with tough topics but makes you feel like if you just try it out you can do it. I didn't want to put the book down the hole time I was reading. It seemed every new page had something other tidbit of info that could really help out in my life. I also found that he would comment not just on daughter but women in general. Over all I would say this book is five out of five stars, if you have kids or even want to relate better to the people around you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    My Favorite Book Currently.

    Absolutely LOVED this book. Daddy Dates is a wonderful book written by a father of 4 girls, who all happen to be teenagers now. Greg Wright has a laid back easy way of speaking; he is easily understandable. The chapters are short and to the point, thereby making them easy to devour by the daddy who doesn't have much time for reading (kind of like my husband, father of 3 girls). Greg Wright takes you through all the steps that he stumbled through to get to where he is today with "dating" his daughters. The reason I chose this book is because we as a family try to strive to make one-on-one time with every member of the family. I figured that if he had any helpful hints, that I would be more than welcome to listen to him. I was surprised by just how much good information he placed in this small book. He includes in the back of the book a quiz on how to understand yourself, your daughter, and how you see your daughter. He also includes a few of his more successful Daddy Date ideas for you to try with your own daughters. Some of his main points were very heart-warming to me. When he discussed how a woman's brain works verses a man's brain. Love knowing about the "Nothing" box. Greg Wright also reminds these daddys that if they are still with the mommy that they should probably take some time to continue dating her otherwise there may be repercussions. Here are some of my favorite points from the book: . Although the man of the house messes up on a regular basis, at least my parent passport has four stamps on it and the girls keep letting me into their amazing countries. . I believe it's the job of every husband and father to understand that this job - perhaps his most important job - is to be the pursuer. . You're already in love with your date and she loves you, and no matter what you do, it's better than not doing it at all. . You can still feed the ducks with girls of any age, but then you have to sit on the plaid blanket and talk - if you want to get to know a female. . Females are wired for context and may seem to talk around something to get to something, but what they're really doing is rounding up all the pertinent parts of the picture hoping that we'll "get it". I received this book free. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    A Tool Every Dad Should Have!

    This is a very fun and engaging book written by the father of four girls, full of funny stories and interest. Through his attempts to connect with his girls and set a Godly example for them, he shares his experiences and encourages other fathers to make similar committments to do the same with their children. A well written book full of honesty and humor, down to earth, encouraging and challenging for fathers. Full of practical advice and stories easily followed and put into practice.

    Setting out to raise confident and successful women-to-be, Wright walks through each stage of life a girl faces, from grade school to pre-teen, puberty, dating, college, etc. In seeking to show his daughters what is is like to be treated with true love and respect by a man who truly loved them, he shares some of the ways he made sure he met his girls at their level and really got to know them. Through his "dating" his daughters, he shares some of the stories and offers suggestions for other dads to step up and do the same. Full of practictal "take action" type writing, it is easy to follow and implement.

    Geared toward men, this book is easy to read through, engaging and entertaining to read. Women can get their share of information from the chapters as well. My husband absolutely loved the book and has already set out to begin "dating" our infant daughter, implementing ideas and adapting them to fit the lifestyles of a baby, seeking to make this a lifelong venture in which he can invest many positive hours and build a foundation for our daughter. A wonderful Father's Day book or for that new daddy in your life. Very highly recommended!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze . com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    A Home Run

    Greg Wright absolutely hit the nail on the head with this book! In Daddy Dates, Wright tells the story of how he came up with the concept of Daddy Dates and how it has strengthened his relationship with each of his daughters. In order to really connect with his daughters and relate to them, Wright decided to pursue them with some good, old fashioned dating; he goes so far as to call each daughter to ask her out on a date and to bring her flowers and pick her up at the door, after knocking of course! In addition to building a beautiful relationship with his daughters, he uses these dates to teach them what they should look for in a date and how they should be treated by men. In addition to his story, Wright uses select chapters to address specific times of a girl's life from tweens to college age.
    I love this book! As soon as I type this review, I am going to pass the book onto my husband in hopes that he will see the value in this concept. It's definitely written for men, but it is also a great read for any mother. The chapters are short and to the point and definitely succeed in getting the point across. Wright says that he wrote the book in "Manglish" so that men would really be able to grasp the whole concept. I would recommend this book to any father raising a daughter. It is very important that a girl have a good relationship with her father and a father can't go wrong when he actively pursues his daughter's heart.

    Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers. All thoughts are my own and I was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST for all Dad's of girls.

    I have just completed reading the book Daddy Dates by Greg Wright. Greg shares his experiences in raising 4, yes FOUR young ladies. This book is a "how to" for any Dad that has a precious angel.

    Greg writes about his experiences and what has been working for him as he is leading his girls into Women. This book is not a step by step process of what you do and how to handle every situation. Rather it is some ideas and things that you as a father should keep in mind when interacting with your girl(s).

    This book caught my attention from the beginning. I have tried to have "dates" with my daughter and I sure want to have a great relationship in the future. So I thought why not learn from someone that is further along than I am. I really appreciated the in site that Greg gave in his book. I plan on using this as a reference guide as I continue to build my relationship stronger with my Daughter. In my opinion, this is a must read for all Dad's and even a good read for Mom's too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Daddy Dates a MUST READ for all dads!!

    when I was younger my dad and I would go on what we called daddy-daughter dates. we would usually go see a movie and then to the village inn for pie.

    my parents were divorced and my older sister had a special bod with my dad because they both loved hunting.

    I did not.

    I loved barbies and lipgloss...and movies.

    It was a special time for dad and I and to this day I am so happy we had those times together. I hope D and Penny get to do that to.

    A few days ago I got a new book from Booksneeze in the mail called daddy dates.

    1 man 4 daughters.

    EVRY DAD SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!

    Sometimes I don't think guys realize the impact the relationship they have with their daughters has.

    Greg wright is able to hit the nail on the head with pretty much every chapter and his humor makes the book an easy read.

    10/10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1