BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Daddy's Girl

Average Rating 3
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book if you change two words.

I improved the book, by replacing "fattest" with "prettiest"baby,
and by replacing "large-legged" with "dancing" women.
This will help nurture the self-image of the young girl, instead of
labeling and pre-determining her future self-image.
How did the editor let tha...
I improved the book, by replacing "fattest" with "prettiest"baby,
and by replacing "large-legged" with "dancing" women.
This will help nurture the self-image of the young girl, instead of
labeling and pre-determining her future self-image.
How did the editor let that slide by?

posted by 16398492 on October 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Very inappropriate!

I bought this book for my husband to enjoy with our toddler daughter. What a mistake!! The book references fat, and big- legged little girl. I had to permanent marker out the words for the book to stay in my house. I learned a lesson about THOROUGHLY reading any chi...
I bought this book for my husband to enjoy with our toddler daughter. What a mistake!! The book references fat, and big- legged little girl. I had to permanent marker out the words for the book to stay in my house. I learned a lesson about THOROUGHLY reading any children's book before purchasing. Amazing this was a NY Times Best Seller. Are you joking????

posted by kodellpt on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Very inappropriate!

    I bought this book for my husband to enjoy with our toddler daughter. What a mistake!! The book references fat, and big- legged little girl. I had to permanent marker out the words for the book to stay in my house. I learned a lesson about THOROUGHLY reading any children's book before purchasing. Amazing this was a NY Times Best Seller. Are you joking????

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    TOTALLY INAPPROPRIATE!!!!

    I was disgusted at the very first page with the allusion of ownership of a little girl and the description of diaper changing. Felt like a voyeur in a totally inappropriate and uncomfortable scenarion being set up for a pedophile. Then it cleans up a awhile before going back into references of beauty shows, fat legged women. I will be burning the book and somehow feel dirty that it even entered my house

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    This book is awful!

    I bought this book for my husband to share with our 1 year old-I was appalled when I read it and so thankful I read ALL books myself before reading them to my daughter! Reading this book made me feel uncomfortable, like I was reading a naughty story about pedophilia! I left the book out for my husband to read and make sure I was not over reacting and he felt the same. The book references diaper changing as if it's a moment to bond between daddy and daughter and calls the baby "fat". The only half decent part are the illustrations and even those are minimally good at best.I will throw this book out as I would feel horrible donating it to some unsuspecting person-YUK!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Good book if you change two words.

    I improved the book, by replacing "fattest" with "prettiest"baby,
    and by replacing "large-legged" with "dancing" women.
    This will help nurture the self-image of the young girl, instead of
    labeling and pre-determining her future self-image.
    How did the editor let that slide by?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Good Father - Daughter Gift

    I purchased this book for my husband from our daughter. Although she is older than the little girl in the book, she and my husband related to what the two shared in the book. I was a way to bring back the memories of there early years of just the two of them spending time doing special things together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Great book for Daddy & Daughter

    I got this for my husband and my daughter when she was about 18 months. She's almost 2 now and still loves it! She'll 'read' it herself and say 'Daddy Daddy Please say Yes' - cracks us up. It was a little long for her to sit through when I first got it, but she loves it now, and has us read through 2 or 3 of the stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    I love this book

    Although I haven't a daughter, I read this book and my relationship with my son has gone from great to greater. Many things in this book don't only apply to daddies and their daughters, but also to mommies and their sons, daddies and their sons and mommies and daddies and their kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Awful book. Uncomfortable. I believe this was a gift to my son

    Awful book. Uncomfortable. I believe this was a gift to my son and wife when their daughter was born. We all hate the book. Don't buy it. Keillor is a creep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    I also felt this book was bizarre.  The tone was completely inap

    I also felt this book was bizarre.  The tone was completely inappropriate for a father-daughter relationship.  I read through a few pages with our 2 year old daughter, skipping a good majority of the lines before shutting it and putting it down.  I later Googled the author's name, half-expecting to find some news article about being convicted of child sex crimes.  Nope, world-renowned and well-loved author.  Go figure.

    Glad I only checked it out from the library.  Don't buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Cute daddy/daughter book - I recommend

    I bought this book for my husband from my daughter. I don't find the book at all inapproriate, and think some reviews are overly sensitive. There's nothing wrong with the parts about diaper changes or big legs. Let's not act like people don't have big legs or that it's a bad thing especially when most babies have cute fat thighs. My husband enjoys reading this book to our daughter, especially the part about b-a-n-a-n-a-s and my daughter often selects this as her nighttime book. Like other readers I preread everybook and I thought this was a cute book, it is a little on the long side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    A great Dad's wife

    I got this for my husband to read at night to our daughter Sophie, because he's a longtime Keillor fan. This book surprised me in that it has the Keillor warmth and tenderness, but there's also a sophistication to it that makes it exceptional. The CD of Keillor singing the songs is toe tapping! Great package.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2