Customer Reviews for

Daddy's Girl

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

First of Lisas books i read

This book was soo good. I bought it for a road trip and figured I'd read a few here and there and sleep most of the way. Well I couldnt put this book down!! I finished it in the 1st 2 days of our road trip!! I will have to check out more from this Author!

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Vanessa annn eaves

Because not feling well sence yesterday trowing up all foods and drinks this proble is a bad thing loseig pounds what kind of medcine do i gibe her pills or liqwide 10 years old i think pills she is watching sponge bob she is laughting going home soon i sudenly dont fe...
Because not feling well sence yesterday trowing up all foods and drinks this proble is a bad thing loseig pounds what kind of medcine do i gibe her pills or liqwide 10 years old i think pills she is watching sponge bob she is laughting going home soon i sudenly dont feel good ilove you thank you for letting me go home erly thanks alot love vanessa can i take my pad thank you so much

posted by Anonymous on December 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    First of Lisas books i read

    This book was soo good. I bought it for a road trip and figured I'd read a few here and there and sleep most of the way. Well I couldnt put this book down!! I finished it in the 1st 2 days of our road trip!! I will have to check out more from this Author!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Loved It

    I bought Daddy's Girl for all the wrong reasons. I loved the cover, it was short and it was on sale. I didn't even read the description, and I never heard of Lisa Scottoline. Sorry. However--I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Seldom does a book draw me in where I find myself making time to read it. This book did. I so thoroughly enjoyed it that I was deeply disappointed to find that it was the only novel with Nat. She reminders me very much of my wife, height and all, and like Nat she doesn't always express the confident she greatly deserves. I ended up randomly buying four more of Lisa's books, and can't wait to see what mysteries await!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Impressive writing, and a fiction thriller that manages to make readers to like the main character.

    Scottoline's Daddy's girl is brilliant, Lisa Scottoline manages to deliver a suspenseful thriller, filled with a few but great twists, and a surprising ending, that readers may not see coming.

    The brilliance of Daddy's girl lies in the fact, that underneath this great thriller, Scottoline delivers a noble message. " A single person could change the world, if he had justice on his side" In this matter, through the works of fiction and history, in Daddy's Girl, Lisa Scottoline accomplishes this and more.

    Scottoline's signature is present on Daddy's Girl. Enter Natalie Greco, an unlikely heroine, that is difficult to like in the first few chapters, however, the author manages to ignite interest in her character, making readers to actually enjoy the ride along the main character.
    Having herself being caught in the middle of a prison riot, Natalie witnesses the last dying words of one of the correction officers, in his last breath he whispers a message for his wife. A message that will change the comfort of Natalie's affluent life. In that process Nat has become collateral damage in a murder, and in the unfolding of that she becomes the primary suspect on the death of a police trooper. Now on the run from presumed killers and from the law, professor Greco will use her book smart skills to uncover what she think hides a conspiracy and the ones pulling the strings behind.

    I really liked the way the author presented the story, the developing and unfolding of the events was eloquent, not over the top, but just right. The transformation of Natalie's character throughout the book was credible. Scottoline was great in cementing a background for her, and all the supporting characters. I was even extremely satisfied that she named a cat " jelly."

    Mrs. Scottoline deserves respect for incorporating those special elements, " I am not supposed to mention" in her story. But is this fact I will tell readers, and her talent of natural writing what makes this book to deserve an "A" in this class.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    A Page Turner

    I've read all of Lisa Scottoline's books and there is one thing you can always count on. Her characters are compelling and draw you in quickly. This book is one of her best. It's suspenseful, funny, and charming. The plot keeps things moving at a rapid pace, which keeps the reader engaged. I couldn't put this one down. Great read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Stop

    Trival text stop this is for book reviews use your stupid facebook or worse yet twitter

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Hmm

    That sad moment when u go to the review part of the nook store and realize that people are using it to chat/email eachother personal stuff instead... :3+

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Vanessa annn eaves

    Because not feling well sence yesterday trowing up all foods and drinks this proble is a bad thing loseig pounds what kind of medcine do i gibe her pills or liqwide 10 years old i think pills she is watching sponge bob she is laughting going home soon i sudenly dont feel good ilove you thank you for letting me go home erly thanks alot love vanessa can i take my pad thank you so much

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Bad Reader

    Beware for those who buy this audiobook. The reader has a diificult time modulating her voice. She alternately yells and mumbles so I was forever adjusting the volume. Skip the CD and buy the paperback.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent thriller

    Though a law professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Natalie 'Nat' Greco hides from the world by strictly adhering to routines. Thus it is a bit surprising even to her that she steps out of her safety net regimen and agrees to accompany associate Angus Holt on a seminar at a prison even if he is a hunk with a glib tongue that persuades her to come with him.---------------- However, the assignment turns dangerous when an ugly riot breaks out with the two visiting professors trapped in the middle of the chaos. Nat tries but fails to save the life of a guard, apparently stabbed during the melee. However before he dies, he asks her to tell his final words to his wife. Rescued from prison she sets out to complete her death bed vow, only to find she is the mouse chased by lethal cats who want the message and by the cops who think she is a killer. Breaking out of her cage for a short outing into another cage has turned her life upside down as she seeks to uncover the identity of the criminals, understand the enigmatic final words, and prove her innocence while also eluding the guys she seeks.---------------- Nat is a fascinating protagonist who takes a small step beyond her normal world only to find that stride is into an abyss as she lands in a prison riot and from there into a conspiracy in which she is expendable. Readers will appreciate her exploits as she investigates who wants her put away and why. Though this Ivy Leaguer¿s exploits are fun to follow more realistically inside the prison, readers will have problems accepting her as an active amateur sleuth charging into a conspiracy. However fans of Lisa Scottoline will still enjoy the adventures of ¿The History of the Law¿ professor who is the legal mouse that roared.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2014

    QUICK TO READ AND ENJOY.

    ANOTHER KISA SCOTTOLINE WINNER,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Excellent, edge-of-your-seat, page-turner!! I read this a few ye

    Excellent, edge-of-your-seat, page-turner!! I read this a few years ago, and I still remember it was so engaging and full of unexpected twists! Lisa is an excellent, entertaining story teller!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Game Guide and co.

    We walk in. "It feels so good to be human again!" I said.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Barnes and Noble is the BEST!

    Quick to ship, careful packing, never any problems, only pure satisfaction!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Momo

    Ttyl....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    enjoyable rreading

    I don't remember why I gave this a B.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Good.

    Once it got going, became a food page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Ok

    Not one of her best books but it was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book was great. Couldn't put it down. Love the twists in the plot. One of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly recomnend

    This kept me enthralled. I read a ton of books but Lisa isvonecof my favorites. Think it may be best so far!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Not great, but I liked how it ended.

    I haven't read many books by Lisa Scottoline, but I thought the overview sounded interesting. I got the audio book (CD) so the reader may have influenced my opinion. The story moves along at a good pace and is good if you're looking for a light read. The characters were too cliche in my opinion (the good girl, the boring but safe boyfriend, and the wild, bohemian "other man", the overbearing brothers...). I was also prepared to really dislike the book because of the over-the-top coincidences in the story line, but I'm glad I listened to all of it because I was very surprised and pleased with the way it ended because I was not expecting it. if the author wrote a sequel I would probably read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4