Customer Reviews for

Daddy's Little Girl

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very very good book !

This is a very good book ill rate it a 10* , i cried in parts of the book. Most of the time i was on the end of the seat just waitung to turn the page and find out ! My fav ..... thumb up. XOXO

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cannot recommend

Again some of you reviewers have to write the whole story! I would like to read for myself what happens. For heaven sake, just put down if you liked it or not! I probably will not be buying this book, thanks to you who write too much. JudyE

posted by 16843945 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Abrupt Ending

    I felt the premise sounded interesting; however, the plot was pretty formulaic. And the ending! It just ended right in the middle of the climax scene. Almost like a chapter was missing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    I would not recommend this book at all. Not up to par with expe

    I would not recommend this book at all. Not up to par with expectations from Mary Higgins Clark. For those who say this is an awesome book that is a real page turner and keeps you on the edge of your seat, I'm guessing they have never read Two Little Girls in Blue or Daddy's Gone A Hunting by MHC. I'm also guessing they're not avid Sandra Brown or Lisa Jackson readers. It's not a hard book to get into, it's just that you keep expecting something unexpected, and it never happens. Definitely not one of her best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Very little suspense - abrupt ending

    I was expecting a more elaborate plot. The story line was so-so, and the ending was abrupt...no climax whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    Bleh...

    I am an avid reader of Mary Higgins Clark books, so dove head first into this book immediately after I got it. How disappointing! Usually I have fun guessing what will happen and who the 'bad guy' is, but in this book it was so obvious that I had to force myself to read it in anticipation of some unforseen climax, but when the high point came it seemed way too easy. Also, I actually found an error in Clark's usage of first-person where she reverts back to the familiar third-person she's so good at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    First-person flop

    MHC has shot to the top of her game by writing fast-paced, intruiging mysteries. Switching to a first-person voice is a risk. I do believe authors should take risks and broaden their talent base, but this was a disappointment. She's not comfortable with the first-person voice yet, and it shows in every chapter. MHC likes to introduce dozens of characters in her stories, and I love the way she normally does it: everyone telling their part from their point of view. I love her omniscient point of view novels, and this is not one of them. What a waste of a few hours and the price of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Slow Moving, Predictable

    Ho, Hum. Did not have that edge of your seat hold. I finished it because I had nothing else to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Disappointment

    Daddy's little girl turned out to be a major disappointment for this long-time Mary Higgins Clark fan. I found the writing to be elementary and unoriginal. Clark's discomfort writing in the first-person is apparent throughout the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Disappointing

    I have read all Clark's books and this has to be one of the worst. I just couldn't get in the book. It was lacking the usual dose of suspense and was very predictable. Also, Clark should stick to the third person, she looks quite uncomfortable with writing in the first person. Skip it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Disappointed

    I have been reading Mary Higgins-Clark for over 15 years now and this is my least favorite of them all. I was very disappointed. I thought the overall story was poor. I didn't find it very suspenseful and I was disappointed with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2002

    Not the usual fare. . .

    Normally I enjoy MHC, but the last few books have been rather disappointing. This one was no exception. Her first attempt at first person narrative fell flat. Normally, I enjoy the 'creepy killer' scenes, scenes that were not able to be present in this story. The story felt flat, as if the author were stretching to meet her deadline, and I must say I'm disappointed. Perhaps the next book will be better. Hopefully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1