Customer Reviews for

Daddy's Little Girl

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very very good book !

This is a very good book ill rate it a 10* , i cried in parts of the book. Most of the time i was on the end of the seat just waitung to turn the page and find out ! My fav ..... thumb up. XOXO

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cannot recommend

Again some of you reviewers have to write the whole story! I would like to read for myself what happens. For heaven sake, just put down if you liked it or not! I probably will not be buying this book, thanks to you who write too much. JudyE

posted by 16843945 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Just alright

    Not one of her best books. If this had been the first one of hers I ever read I probably wouldn't read any others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Only for Hardcore Fans

    Once a favorite of mine, Daddy's Little Girl barely makes a mark on my crime and mystery scale. Tedious with guilt-ridden inner monologue and far too many scenarios with food this book reads more like a diary than a novel.

    Because readers are already given the "who-dunnit" there's little chase or apparent danger to entice the readers as the book progresses. Yes, finding out more about Andrea's killer is pretty fun but when every single character Ellie encounters warns her she's in danger, what does she do? IGNORES IT. Watching a train wreck happen slowly is ugly business, let alone reading it.

    Enjoyable if you're a hardcore fan of the day-to-day accounts in mysteries and suspense otherwise, a book that's decent with an excitable chase scene ending won't cut it for most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Daddy's Little Girl

    This story, 'Daddy's Little Girl,' begins with us finding out about Ellie, the main character, and her family. At seven years of age, Little Ellie was a happy and cheerful little girl, until one night when her older sister Andrea, fifteen years of age, doesn't come home. Little Ellie is not only scared but terrified as she watches her parents hold and hug each other in the hopes that Andrea returns safely. Without the consent of her parents, Little Ellie sneaks out of the house and finds herself racing towards the garage, which is also referred to as the 'hideout' in this novel. As she reaches the 'hideout' she attempts to calm herself down by believing that Andrea is inside and that she's ok. However, we soon learn that this assumption is far from the truth. As Little Ellie walks through the barn, she comes upon a vehicle and as she moves around it she dicovers her sister-- dead. Not smiling, not hanging with her friends as they take long drags from a cigarette and laugh, only lying there all alone in a cold and damp garage. She kneels down next to her and runs her hands over her face. As Ellies' tiny little seven year old fingers do this, they come upon an endless pit in the middle of her forehead. Mortified by this action, she begins to stand and realizes her pants are soaked in her sisters' blood. Now, this is where the story turns. The Ellie we just read about, at the age of seven, changes to a woman of the age of thirty. We find out in the second chapter, twenty three years have past since the day that Robson Westerfield, the convicted murderer of Andrea Cavanaugh was first put behide bars. Westerfield has now served his sentence and it is time for him to be released. With this stunning news, Ellie is forced to take herself out of her normal life and begin a quest that started twenty-three years ago, with the re-sentencing of Robson Westerfield. Throught this novel, as Ellies' grievance for her lost sister continues, we the readers are brought into a perilous journey of hate, revenge and to the bottomless pits of rage. With this, Ellie creats a website to try and get the real world to see the ruthless monster Westerfield truly is. Now it's a battle for Ellie, while against two of the best lawers Robson can find, to put an end to the torment she has lived with all her life; the torment that she believes Robson created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2004

    Not her best

    This is an unusual format for MHC, writing in first person. The premise, (revisting a 22-year-old crime) showed promise, but the author failed to bring any of the characters to life. They remained elusive and just out of reach. Interesting storyline and some good, tense situations, but really lacked the punch ending I have come to associate with this author. Not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    Great Start, Some Sizzle, Then Fizzle

    I've read quite a few MHC books, and this one started off great. But I was a little disappointed with the ending--no big surprises, I'm sorry to say. But the Queen of Suspense has dozens of other thrillers to keep me turning the pages...I'll be back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Predictable Suspense

    Although this book was very enjoyable, I felt that it lacked the suspense that other Clark novels project. I felt the story was very predictable, and wasn't 'Wow, I really never thought that would happen-I'm SO surprised!' I feel that this would be a good novel to give to younger children, and I highly reccommend that a first-time Clark reader waits on this one-if it is the first novel of her's that they read, they will probably cross the Clark books off their reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Opinion of a Mary Higgings Clark Reader

    This book combines suspense, mystery, and intrigue. I liked the basic plot, but I found it much to predictable and there weren't as many as many twists and turns that are common in other Mary Higgins Clark books. When the end of the book comes you know and expect what is about to happen. And except for a few puzzles you basically figure out the entire mystery. I found that by the last 5-6 chapters knew who did it and why. The idea was admirable because lets face it, it does take a lot to figure the mystery yourself. And the basis of the plot was good but I like a mystery with twists, turns, and suspense in every chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    IT is ok but i expected better

    IT was a ok book i am a big mhc fan but i half to say this one of her worst books it had a very intresting plot the end no ofeense but it was dumb the ending could have been better, other than the ned it was a good read, and quik read it in one day, but i was waiting for the plot twist and turns but it didnt have any it was a 5 start book but the end droped it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Not one of her best

    I've read them all and I was the most disappointed by this one. It was written with very little effort and did not require any thinking or use of your mind. Although the twist was that there was no twist (different for MHC) it just lacked all the pazazz of her usual style. That which makes her a good writer, was missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    IT WAS OK

    Ive read all of Mary Higgins Clark's and this one was just ok. I finished the book in one day and was just a little disappointed in this one. I wish Mary would go back to the lottery winners! They were great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Interesting...

    This book was an interesting read. I read through it fairly quickly, as with most of MHC's books, but this book had a different feeling. It wasn't particullarly full of suspense, but it was still interesting. Mary Higgins Clark took a risk by writing in the first person, I still prefer her books that are written in the third person. This book was fairly predictable, but had a little bit of a twist at the end. I would recommend reading it, but don't expect some mind-boggling novel. Just a good, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Daddy's Girl

    Thi was a very good book. The one thing i Didnt like was the fact that it was writen on a 3rd grade level. There could havea lot more details about how thing happened. I feel that if this would have been done it would have made the book much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Not Usual Higgins Clark

    After reading Mary Higgins Clark's new book I was highly disappointed. Not the suspense that has been in books of past. I kept waiting for the plot twist and none came. I guess she tried a new style. More importantly, I found several blunders from the early years to the later years. Did no on proof read? I have never missed a Higgins Clark novel and am sure that the next will be fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    Predictable but Good

    This book in no way can compare to loves music loves to dance. I think that this book was a little too predictable for me but it's still well writen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2