Customer Reviews for

Daemon

Average Rating 4.5
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    A pleasant surprise

    I didn't know what to expect when I bought Daemon as an e-book. Sure, the plot sounded good but techno thrillers usually fall flat as far as I'm concerned (I've been working in IT for over 15 years). But, I think Suarez really delivered with this novel. The plot was intriguing, the characters solid and the technical portions well thought out and plausible. I'm really looking forward to the sequel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Daemon is the great techno-thriller for the wired generation

    Daemon was a perfect storm for me, as a reader. I grew up on science fiction, but I now prefer a realistic thriller. I enjoy the effortless pleasure of reading make-believe, yet prefer thought provoking non-fiction. I am an avid gamer and a worshiper (albeit rarely a purchaser) of consumer electronics. This novel touched on so many passions, and sated them all. Even when the plot disappointed me at times, it was a devious sham that Suarez teased me with, then made up for it in the end. Rarely do I put down a great read like I did tonight and have the urge to call friends and family to share the experience with them, but that is how Daemon made me feel. It isn¿t just a great book; it is an important book.<BR/><BR/>Check out a great interview with Daniel here:<BR/>http://www.crimecritics.com/2009/01/interrogating-daniel-suarez-author-of-daemon/

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    great book......it almost turns the pages itself

    I loved this book. after finding myself slogging through several books that had to be called forced reading I opened the pages of Daemon and it almost read itself to me. the plot could be called scary in these "information age" times. all your worst fears of technology over running the humans and taking over (with help from devious persons with a bloodthirsty gaming mindset that have lost touch with reality after too many hours spent in online gaming)

    I've never been one for online gaming myself.....not that I am opposed to it on any moral grounds....I've just found that for myself I am easily addicted to computer games and never had the time to get lost inside a computer game (maybe it is the fear that I will get lost.....or the knowledge that I WILL be easily lost in the pixels of an artificial reality)

    whatever the reason I found the subject and presentation of this book an amazing read that entertained and was thought provoking as well. I loved it and couldn't recommend it more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    Sophisticated adventure based on turning fantasy game into reality.

    Suarez obviously understands information technology and the inner workings of all computer based animation, games and links. What makes this particular fantasy/adventure appealing is his ability to hold the interest of technophobes and technophiles alike. His descriptions are crisp and rich in visual detail. His writing style is similar to Caleb Carr's as he is just as comfortable with supporting detail as he is with dialogue and plot twists. He creates several major characters and weaves their stories together in an intricate web of illusions. The base story requires a stretch of the reader's imagination but Suarez is so strong in his command of description that the fantastic becomes real enough to be scarey. This is a fast read. You'll be out of breath more than once.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous futuristic AI technology thriller

    At thirty four years of age, Matthew Sobol, the genius behind successful CyberStorm Entertainment dies from brain cancer. However, the brilliant game maestro would not allow something as petty as death preveng him from causing global havoc from the grave. He somehow kicked off a war from cyberpsace against mankind.<BR/><BR/>Concerned authorities enter Sobol's mansion in Thousand Oaks, California only to find themselves under attack in spite of the fact that no human is inside or on the grounds; the police suffer several deaths as they retreat. Sobol has left behind the greatest weapon of mass destruction ever created; his daemon computer processor has taken control of most of the world¿s major computer systems and has signed up brilliant quisling humans as foot soldiers to carry out the plan for world domination.<BR/><BR/>DAEMON is a fabulous futuristic AI technology thriller as the twisted but brilliant late computer game creator Sobol sets in motion a doomsday machine after he dies. The story line is fast-paced from the onset even with complex vernacular as Daniel Suarez assumes his audience can do more than breath and chew gum refusing to dumb down his tale. Readers will relish this superb science fiction book with a great finish that sets up AI part two.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Excellent techno thriller

    Daemon is a well-written and -researched thriller taking place in a near future where artificial intelligence can match wits with native intelligence. As an engineer in the computing and robotics fields, I appreciate that everything done in the book follows naturally and logically from the present and possible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!

    I thought this book was going to be over my head because I can barely comprehend everyday computer use, but somehow Daemon pulled off the task of being a techno thriller that was written in such a way that it was really accessable to even someone like me, and inspired me to learn more. The plot was fantastic, it was like being inside a good video game where you're uncovering layer after layer of mythology, the characters were well written, and when it was over I couldn't wait to read the next one. I love that I now know what things like the ''darknet" are - and that I am trying to be more careful about what I put online! A timely and scary book, there's a line in it that's something like people are trusting their lives to technology they don't understand - too true, it haunts me every time I log on to do online banking now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Scary, in a thriller sort of way

    This is a must read for those who have a technical background, or for those who just love a thriller. The scariest thing is that the author writes this is such a way as to make it seem totally plausible. Personally, I could see no flaw in the logic applied, and if there arose anybody who could put this altogether society would certainly be in big trouble.

    I found that once started, it was very difficult to put this book down, and I finished it in my spare time over the course of just a few days. Letting my brother borrow, he ended up being "mad" at me, because he too got sucked up in the suspense and found himself staying up way too late at night, eager to reach the conclusion. I can't wait to see how the author finishes the story in his sequel due 2010.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    simply put: "page turner"

    First ever techno-thriller I ventured to read and I loved it. This book is a page turner from the very beginning. If you're into technology, information security and so on...this book will be an interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Extremely Accurate and Gripping

    As someone in the industry, I'm surprised at how accurate this book gets with current technology. In fact, it's sometimes to the books detriment. I often found it hard to disconnect and become engrossed in the book because it was talking about stuff I do for a living in precise detail. It's quite obvious the author had some outside consulting help.

    The story itself is gripping. This was a page turner that had me excited to hop on the train so I could continue the story. The characters were all well developed, and I was able to connect with many of them.

    The motivation behind the villain remains largely hidden until the last quarter of the book. And even then, it's only hinted at. I would have loved to see this develop more, but it would have added another 100 pages or so.

    I've already purchased the sequel to this magnificent novel and am excited to dive in head first! Truly masterful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    Amazing Book

    The first thriller I've read in a long time that could fit in the category, "Entirely Possible."

    Really enjoyed this. The pacing, the characters, the structure, the relevance to today's digital word -- it's a very cinematic piece of escapism and page-turner. I really applaud the author, especially as it is a first-time effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable Technothriller

    Okay, maybe you don't understand sentences like "His function was hard-coded to use the encrypted string he got from the Monte Cassino map along with any key he entered here as an argument for the function". Most of the book keeps the action moving right along in spite of these interludes of cyperspeak. The story centers around the takeover of the world's technological components - which is just about everything we do today - by a malevolent viral daemon. It's packed with enough car chases, murder, and mayhem to make the reader wonder if author Suarez was composing his screenplay ahead of time. There's lots of screaming as scores of people are mowed down when they attempt to stop the daemon. The author is working on a sequel, which I won't hesitate to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Amazing!!

    Honestly the best book I have ever read. It is well written, and has unforgettable characters. I can not wait until the squeal comes out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    Presents a compelling vision of the future and is a fun, quick read.

    The internet and pervasive computing might actually change everything. In action packed thriller form, DAEMON shows just how DARPA inspired technologies really could upend the standing world order hegemonies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    It makes you think

    I'm not easily swayed by a sci-fi when it comes to the entire socio-politico-economic structure we've built.

    I finished this book some weeks ago and read the sequel (not as deep, but not bad) and I find that I still think about some of the ideas put forth in this book.

    The future as presented in this book is both frightening and, I think, inescapeable to a very large degree (with the possible exception of the main plot point - the Daemon).

    I believe this is an Important book which should be read by everyone everywhere. Now. Unfortunately, I think it's too late to do anything about this future but you might as well have a look at what we have allowed to be created by the multi-national business community.

    And I'm pretty conservative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    A friend recommended this book to me, and now I'm re-thinking th

    A friend recommended this book to me, and now I'm re-thinking that friendship.  No character development at all. I keep reading how people keep saying this is entirely plausible, and it makes me feel sorry that these people are reproducing....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Really Good Read

    This book you can't put down its so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Excellent book, couldn't put it down. Cannot wait to read Freed

    Excellent book, couldn't put it down. Cannot wait to read Freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    LOVED this book

    Computer program wrecks real-world havoc! You start out being against the Daemon, but somehow - done so subtly that you dont realize when it happens, you're wanting to join the Darknet. Interesting thinking on how technology affects our lives, the data available to talented programmers, and the corporate-ness of our government.
    I tell ya, I still want to be a part of the Darknet. I've read this book and it's followup - Freedom TM - twice already. Click the buy button, before I click it for you thru the Darknet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 286 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15