Customer Reviews for

Daemon

Average Rating 4.5
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    Sophisticated adventure based on turning fantasy game into reality.

    Suarez obviously understands information technology and the inner workings of all computer based animation, games and links. What makes this particular fantasy/adventure appealing is his ability to hold the interest of technophobes and technophiles alike. His descriptions are crisp and rich in visual detail. His writing style is similar to Caleb Carr's as he is just as comfortable with supporting detail as he is with dialogue and plot twists. He creates several major characters and weaves their stories together in an intricate web of illusions. The base story requires a stretch of the reader's imagination but Suarez is so strong in his command of description that the fantastic becomes real enough to be scarey. This is a fast read. You'll be out of breath more than once.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable Technothriller

    Okay, maybe you don't understand sentences like "His function was hard-coded to use the encrypted string he got from the Monte Cassino map along with any key he entered here as an argument for the function". Most of the book keeps the action moving right along in spite of these interludes of cyperspeak. The story centers around the takeover of the world's technological components - which is just about everything we do today - by a malevolent viral daemon. It's packed with enough car chases, murder, and mayhem to make the reader wonder if author Suarez was composing his screenplay ahead of time. There's lots of screaming as scores of people are mowed down when they attempt to stop the daemon. The author is working on a sequel, which I won't hesitate to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    I loved it. Some parts are pulp fiction-ish but the story is in

    I loved it. Some parts are pulp fiction-ish but the story is incredible & makes you think. I found the ending abrupt and VERY SATISFACTORY. What are we unleashing - oh yes, the collapse of the financial system - has that already happened? I found it became a page turner as it went on.

    What happens when the singularity occurs, it will be good and bad, and the bad might be The Daemon.

    Recommended if you read and enjoyed Raemde (Neal Stephenson), The Singularity Is Near (non fiction).
    flag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Fantastic

    Great read. Keeps you involved from the start. Be warned though, this is only the first part and you will need the second book to complete any part of the story. Totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just Plain Awesome.

    Even though I'm not done reading Daemon, I have to say my mind was completely blown away even before I hit the 100th page. I was really impressed since I don't come across a book that surprises me before the 100th page or so. I would definitely recommend this book to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great high-tech story but you need to read the sequel to complete it.

    I liked the story, the way the author writes and the technology included. I work in the tech industry, so some of the tech described seemed over the top, yet much of the interesting tech is in some way or another available today. You could see how this story could become true with our dependence on computers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Struggling Thriller

    In spite of gruff language and a lewd scene in the beginning, which was unneeded and not at all relevant to the story or character development, the first part of this book is really good. The mystery and suspense were fantastic...until just over mid-way through the story. Then characters that were significantly developed are no longer involved or even behave contrary to their development. Sadly I was disappointed with the variance in the characters. This is what made the ending less than enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    This is heady stuff

    Techies will revel in this tale of computer gaming gone amuck. This tale prefaces a major change in civilization. The action and violence is non-stop in most of this book. Evil is as evil does but one is left wondering who are the bad guys. There is little resolution at the end. A gripping read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good book for a rainy few hours or a day on the beach

    I ended up enjoying this book and await the sequel.
    Similar to the Dan Brown novels before he wrote the Da Vinci Code.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rocket propelled techno thriller by Daniel Suarez

    In spite of the glowing reviews, I just read Daemon, Daniel Suarez's first of two techno thrillers. A lot of violence, villain and information about game theory and practice. (I am only a casual gamer, but a big fan of the Deus Ex series, for example.) Daniel Suarez is very well informed and has some trenchant observations about where we are now and where we are going. There are some real surprises in store for the reader and some fairly profound issues raised in this dystopian book. It is really essential that you read Daemon before his new sequel, Freedom (tm). Strongly recommend although Suarez strained by sense of credibility at a couple of points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Clever premise, dead Internet genius lives on through deadly Internet Daemons, ordinary characters called upon to overcome evil genius. No super-heroes here. Very entertaining. Rolling action with "What next?" always the question.

    I enjoy an action thriller that pulls ordinary people into the plot and force them to become better than ordinary to win the day.

    This book starts with an interesting and current-day premise: The highly successful online gaming genius creates a series of Daemons (programs that are created to wait for a specified request, and/or event to take programmed action) that wreak havoc after his death is reported on the internet.

    Just techie enough to remain plausible, but Suarez doesn't get bogged down in technical details that would detract from the story.

    Characters you can relate to are thrown together to figure out and stop the endgame.

    Entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Original techno thriller

    Suarez, is agood writer and does an excellent job developing charactors and exploring the menace of everyday technology when used to control, kill and self perpetuate. Really good storey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Like flying through a fiberoptic cable at warp speed

    Every single page of this book feels plausible and real world and I have no doubt that large portions of the technology are already in effect around the globe. <BR/>A highly readable and fast paced book !<BR/>Prior knowledge of geek/l33t/gamer terminology is definitely a plus !<BR/>This book kicks @$$ !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4