Customer Reviews for

The Daily Five: Fostering Literacy Independence in the Elementary Grades

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Yes...Independence is possible!

This book is about teaching students independence in the classroom. I didn't believe it could happen at first, but after trying just one component in the book (there are five), I am a true believer and can't wait to do the whole program next year (and, after seeing how...
This book is about teaching students independence in the classroom. I didn't believe it could happen at first, but after trying just one component in the book (there are five), I am a true believer and can't wait to do the whole program next year (and, after seeing how quiet my kids were reading, several more teachers are doing it next year as well). The book explains in detail, using step-by-step instructions, how to build the 'stamina' kiddos need to work independently. It starts with 1 minute of work and works up to 30/45 minutes. The components will fit into any literacy program 'reading, writing, working with words, guided reading, etc'. Try it...you'll be glad you did.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Be Cautious

Before jumping on the Daily 5 band wagon, be informed that this is a framework -- not a complete language/reading program. It is a form of "readers workshop' using a more comprehensive student training.
It does not provide teaching materials or lesson plans for direct...
Before jumping on the Daily 5 band wagon, be informed that this is a framework -- not a complete language/reading program. It is a form of "readers workshop' using a more comprehensive student training.
It does not provide teaching materials or lesson plans for direct instruction. This framework can support other reading programs and can easily be adapted to programs in place, but does not provide adequate resources to be a stand alone program. It is very student directed.

posted by Dr-Maren on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Yes...Independence is possible!

    This book is about teaching students independence in the classroom. I didn't believe it could happen at first, but after trying just one component in the book (there are five), I am a true believer and can't wait to do the whole program next year (and, after seeing how quiet my kids were reading, several more teachers are doing it next year as well). The book explains in detail, using step-by-step instructions, how to build the 'stamina' kiddos need to work independently. It starts with 1 minute of work and works up to 30/45 minutes. The components will fit into any literacy program 'reading, writing, working with words, guided reading, etc'. Try it...you'll be glad you did.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The practicality of the Daily Five by Gail Boushey and Joan Moser

    The Daily Five is a handbook on how to organize and implement teaching strategies for reading and writing. The authors borrow techniques from various sources like, Fountas and Pinnell, GUIDING READERS AND WRITERS; Stephanie Harvey, STRATEGIES THAT WORK; and Donald Graves, ALL CHILDREN CAN WRITE. While there is nothing new in this book, it does help both novel and experienced teachers because it contain explicit details about reading performance and gives creative methods to incorporate reading throughout the school day.

    It is important to note how, and why the authors explain each part of the daily five which are; read to yourself, read to someone, listen to a reading, write (about something) and do word work (spelling, defining, prefix, suffix, root and base words) The authors claim, and I agree that incorporating these five practices everyday will promote more reading, and writing that will increase reading and writing proficiency.

    Another important factor the authors emphasize is room management. Again what they profess is not original, Haim Ginott, William Glasser M.D. and Fred B Chernow & Carol Chernow all address room management and classroom discipline. Boushey and Moser state that having students involved in different aspects of the same subject keeps the students busy and on task. And from my experience having students involved in short mini lessons does keep students on task.

    While many of us teachers who have been around the block a few times and have heard something new is coming our way, we yawn and say, "Okay, let's see it." And what we get is an old method of teaching in a new package. I could say the same thing about the Daily Five. Many of us teacher's who have been teaching have used the daily five in some way, shape or form at some time or another. However, that being said, the Daily Five helps in the organizational process. And even those like me who has a routine down, can gain from using the Daily Five method of teaching.
    The Daily Five book is especially valuable because it is a practical, and easy to implemented book. I would recommend this book to any elementary teacher. And I would suggest after familiarizing you with the essentials of the book, use it as a manual, and keep it on hand as a guide. It really does make the teaching day go smoothly
    .

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Inspiring

    I ordered this book after a recommendation from another teacher. It is fantastic! I read it right away and was so interested that I couldn't put it down! This book explains the foundations of the Daily 5 and gives steps for successfully implementing the routine. It even includes sample scripts for initiating the Daily 5 routine. This is a great book for those interested in establishing the Daily 5 in their literacy block.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Getting Students to Love Reading at It's Best!

    I started implementing the Daily Five two years ago in my fourth grade class. I have never seen my students so into reading, so motivated, and wanting to read all the time! The "program" is easy to implement and can be used for any grade level, which is nice!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Daily Five

    This book offers help to classroom teachers, reading specialists, and administrators who are looking for "real reading" activities. The book is easy to read and is an excellent guide for classroom procedures. I would also recommend watching the DVD on this topic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    New approach

    This book has a new approach to organizing reading instruction. I always like organized ways of planning my lessons. I'm planning to apply this to my 6th graders.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    What every teacher dreams of....

    The Daily Five is a practical, common sense approach to literacy teaching. It gives teachers a guideline to use in assisting him/her in helping students become independent learners. The use of metacognitive strategies to build routine, strategy use, and stamina will stay with those students forever. This is a wonderful book for new teachers and teachers who wish to change their practice. One can take this book into their classroom today and start implementing The Daily Five!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Easy Read - You'll be happy you read it!

    The Daily Five is a wonderful way to get your students on the road to independence and a love for learning. I used to stress out so much trying to do reading centers. The Daily Five gives me more time to work with my small groups without the feeling that all my other students are just wasting time. Now I feel that everyone is engaged in authentic learning. This book spells everything out for you and helps you understand the philosophy behind this method.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend "The Daily 5" for Elementary Teachers

    This book is excellent for teachers k-5. I have always struggled with centers, and this book provides a great alternative. The students can't wait until it's time for the Daily 5!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    An Excellent Read for Elementary Teachers

    I learned a great deal about structuring my literacy time through this book. From explicitly teaching procedures for independent, sustained reading to the importance of displaying I-Charts (anchor charts created during mini-lessons while becoming independent readers) throughout the classroom, The Daily Five was really invaluable to me. The second edition is out now, and it is surely worth reading, but the original isn't bad at all. Recommended reading for elementary teachers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    News for Thistlefang and Lethal for 12-1-13

    Thistlefang:<br>Striking saved a kit, Blossomkit, and seems to want to impress her. He is calm at his camp whenever she is around and he seems to only truely care about her. Devil returned as soon as you left. Also, Striking caused turmoil at BloodClan last night. He stormed in, planning to kill Stealthshadow and Broken. He somehow managed to survive Blackenedsoul, Broken, Lightlessheart, Devil, and a couple others attacking him at the same time. Stealthshadow was at first badly injured and taken to the medicine den. The fight moved there after Devil released Striking, believing him when he said he'd go. Striking killed Broken once while in the main camp and then again three more times in the medicine den. Mischeif, Dark, Flaming, Blockade, Steel Blue (Sweetrevenge), amd some random wolves came to help Striking aroujd this time. Steel Blue and Mischeif managed to kill Broken once. Envy came to protect Broken, as he is Envy's leader, and at first everyobe attacked him too. Striking then ran off to fix himself up and never got a chance to come back. Broken has three lives left.<p>
    Lethal:<br>Valourpaw is now Valourmask. Valourmask became mates with Shadowhound (best not to elaborate). Broken is upset because Scaleheart, Scalestar, whatever his name is, came to try and take him and Shadowhound and H<_>ell and others I can't think of back to his Clan. Apparently Broken's brother, Travel, is still alive. Along with Broken's parents. Other than this, not much happened here, other than Shadowhound getting upset that Broken was giving himself up for a Clan that didn't truely appreciate him or something like that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Extremely useful book

    We use this all the time in the classroom. A wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Five stars for the Daily Five#d5 - its a framwork for success

    I have tried readers workshop, centers and more. What excited me about the Daily 5 is the language and the explanation for how to build the independence.

    With the common core coming and the emphasis on text complexity, teaching students how to choose a food fit book will be key. I appreaciated the examples and the firsf 5 week lesson plan outline.

    Up next... the Cafe Book. The complementary book to this series that better explains the curruiculm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Daily five

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 9, 2010

    great book

    Easy book to read with good ideas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2