BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dairy Queen

Average Rating 4.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Teens Read Too

The only sport that D.J. will truly ever know is football, what with most of her family playing it and the cows having names like Joe Namath. The only life D.J. Schwenk is used to is the farm life. Now that her two oldest brothers are gone to college, and never seem...
The only sport that D.J. will truly ever know is football, what with most of her family playing it and the cows having names like Joe Namath. The only life D.J. Schwenk is used to is the farm life. Now that her two oldest brothers are gone to college, and never seem to stay in contact with them, and her father having a bad hip, it¿s up to D.J. and her brother, Curtis, the one that hardly ever talks, to get things done. But this summer it looks like D.J. will be getting an extra hand from Brian Nelson, the football player from Hawley, the enemy school. Even though Brian is helping, he isn¿t very good at it. Let¿s just say his farm work is as bad as his football skills. But for some reason, everyone thinks he¿s the next greatest football player. What¿s worse is that D.J. is actually starting to like Brian, but he¿s the enemy and can hardly throw a ball. So what does D.J. do? Well, she starts to train Brian, since she would always have to help her brothers during football season, and maybe now Brian would see her as more than just a farm girl. That¿s not the only issue that D.J. has though her mother is working two jobs to support the family and it seems like she is keeping something from them. And D.J.¿s best friend isn't being so friendly anymore. And what about the idea that just so suddenly pops up into D.J.¿s mind, the one that says she should try out for the football team. Let¿s just hope that not everyone in her town will go crazy over this idea, especially her parents. But can she do it? DAIRY QUEEN is an extremely cute coming-of-age novel. It goes against all the clichés where girls are just not good at guy sports. And D.J. is the perfect heroine, showing that anyone can do anything if they just put their mind to it. A wonderful story that is far from ice-cream -- but it still fills your heart with joy! **Reviewed by: Randstostipher 'tallnlankyrn' Nguyen

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

WELL...

It was okay but, TERRIBLE grammar and bad plot Dumb book, WOULDNT reccomend

posted by 5847707 on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    The only sport that D.J. will truly ever know is football, what with most of her family playing it and the cows having names like Joe Namath. The only life D.J. Schwenk is used to is the farm life. Now that her two oldest brothers are gone to college, and never seem to stay in contact with them, and her father having a bad hip, it¿s up to D.J. and her brother, Curtis, the one that hardly ever talks, to get things done. But this summer it looks like D.J. will be getting an extra hand from Brian Nelson, the football player from Hawley, the enemy school. Even though Brian is helping, he isn¿t very good at it. Let¿s just say his farm work is as bad as his football skills. But for some reason, everyone thinks he¿s the next greatest football player. What¿s worse is that D.J. is actually starting to like Brian, but he¿s the enemy and can hardly throw a ball. So what does D.J. do? Well, she starts to train Brian, since she would always have to help her brothers during football season, and maybe now Brian would see her as more than just a farm girl. That¿s not the only issue that D.J. has though her mother is working two jobs to support the family and it seems like she is keeping something from them. And D.J.¿s best friend isn't being so friendly anymore. And what about the idea that just so suddenly pops up into D.J.¿s mind, the one that says she should try out for the football team. Let¿s just hope that not everyone in her town will go crazy over this idea, especially her parents. But can she do it? DAIRY QUEEN is an extremely cute coming-of-age novel. It goes against all the clichés where girls are just not good at guy sports. And D.J. is the perfect heroine, showing that anyone can do anything if they just put their mind to it. A wonderful story that is far from ice-cream -- but it still fills your heart with joy! **Reviewed by: Randstostipher 'tallnlankyrn' Nguyen

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    very good book!!!

    This book was really good. I loved D.J's sense of humor. In the beginning, though, it was kind of slow. But then it got way better when D.J gets a huge surprise. The sentences are really long (run-ons) for some reason, making it kind of hard to pay attention and follow along (for me at least), but it was an excellent read and I couldn't put it down once I got to the middle. Everyone must read this novel!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    The Best Book I Have Read In Years!!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book. I had to read it for school and though it was going to be boring, but i was most definately wrong. If you go to school with a bunch of farmer and cant relate to any of them then this is the book for you. It shows you that farming is more then a job, it's a passion. I loved the character Brian Nelson. He's the guy people dream of, in a more gentle way.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    Really good!

    when i went to the bookstore, the lady recomended it to me, she knew my taste so well, i loved this book, i all of a sudden got into reading books and i loved this one i read it in one day i started and only stopped to eat lunch and loved the book, its a cute little love story! Cant wait to buy the sequel!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Love It!

    Dairy Queen was really good i would defintally recommend it. I don't read that much but i just could not put this book down. People can really relate to D.J. I can't wait to read the seuel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Anonomys

    This book is great. I love D.Js sense of humor! When i saw it my face lit up because im obsessed with cows. Although its kind of short, its a great book. (Ive always wanted to own a farm.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Big fan

    I honstely love this book a lot

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Loved this book

    I loved this book so much it is a great read for any one espicially other teens

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Amazing book

    Loved!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I liked it alot

    I liked it alot

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    A pretty good book posted by molly mulvihill

    Very interesting with lots of different twists and turns. I would definitely read it again. Make sure you know sports before you read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    What a book

    I own this book and i love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    I can relate to it as a 13 year old dairy farming girl.

    Dairy queen is a book that appeals to the intrest of any young dairy farmer. I know it did to me cause icould relate to it. It combined my love for dairy farming and football. Its very exciting to predict how her love life will end too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Best book for any girl!

    You will just fall in love. And hate to see the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Oh My Gosh!

    This waz a really good read, I think this was an awesome read. I really do! By the way if u think i,m kidding then, why ront u readit youself. See told you it would be a very good read, indeed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    WELL...

    It was okay but, TERRIBLE grammar and bad plot
    Dumb book, WOULDNT reccomend

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Dairy Queen

    Good book I never wanted to put down. Also good for people who have trouble finding a book they like.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    A suprisingly good read

    I picked up the book originally when a friend recommended it to me. It sat on my floor for a while before I actually opened to the first page, and I couldn't believe I'd let it sit on my floor. I'm normally not big on books about a girl in high school who meets a guy, but this book is much more. It describes the life of a 15 year old girl who has so much going on and no one to share it with. And when she finally finds someone, everything starts to change for the both of them. D.J.'s story is easy to relate to, and her narrating is so realistic of a 15 year old and so entertaining, it makes for a great overall read. Definately worth taking the time to sit down and read. You'll be glad you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    great!

    This book is heartwarming, halarious, and leaves you wishing they were a real family. DJ is a spunky farmgirl with a boatload of determination. This is honestly one of the best books i've ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    I loved this book!

    I started to read this book and thought I wouldn't like it. In the beginning it goes kind of slow and everything, but by the middle of the book, D.J. Schwenk has to train a guy named Brian Nelson to become an all star football player. D.J. herself wants to try out for the football team at her school, but her father would freak out if she ever did that. She has two all-star football player brothers who played for the school before they graduated. When school starts back, she decides she will try out for the football team to see what people would say. She tells her mom and brother, but they never talk either, so her mother ends up having to tell her father. He does not freak out, but he is shocked. At the game against Brian's school, Brian figures out that D.J. tried out, and does not talk to her for a while. When the game for the final win comes along, her dad, mom, little brother, his girlfriend, and her older brother comes too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10