BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    A well written comedy

    This book is so wonderful, and some parts of it are so funny, i cry with laughter. I reccomended it to my Ganrdmother, who has enjoyed the book as well. She says that since I gave her the book, she thinks that whatever bold little Daisy Fay does, is me. This book glides over Daisy Fays family problems and different lifestyle during the 1950s. This book is so wonderfully written, that sometimes I believe that I am actually with Daisy Fay and participating in her adventures. I would reccomend this book to almost anyone I know.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Hilarious!

    I never laughed so much as when I read this book. We are taken into the world of a girl growing up at a time when it is supposed to be fun to be her age. Having to deal with nutty grownups throws her into a world that helps her to become what she is meant to be...a wonderful, intellegent, loving young girl. Ms. Flagg is one of my favorite authors. What a funny lady she is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SO HEART WARMING

    I must warn you that if you read this book, be prepared to have your heart stolen by a twelve year old girl called Daisy Fay. I love Ms. Flagg's books and this one is one of my favorites. It's as funny as can be, but sad too. Seeing the world through the eyes of this precocious twelve-year-old was a wonderful gift! Ms. Flagg's sense of time and place cannot be beat, and her characters are unforgettable. It's a story about a father and daughter. It certainly sheds a different light on the effect of disfunctional families on children. It made me realize that good can sometimes come out of a childhood like Daisy's That is, if you're strong, brave and have a wry sense of humour like she does. Be prepared to laugh out loud many times, and also be prepared to have tears threaten as you read. What a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    WOW this is the best book i've ever read!! And im only 11 years old!! I can kind of relate to the younger Daisy Fay in some ways, but she is just-- WOW!!! i actually just finished the book-- I WANT MORE DAISY FAY!!! Is there a sequil??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    This is one of the funniest books I have ever read. Only Fannie Flagg could write something so fabulous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Makes you double-up with laughter - But then you stop and think

    Makes you double-up with laughter - But then you stop and think how brilliantly this story captures this unique young lady - Then you become overjoyed at this heart warming story - Only because it is so true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great book

    Must read for all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    ''Bible Beatdown''

    one of the funniest books you will ever read. Daisy Fay is such a loveable character!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Light hearted reading, loved it!

    Story told in the south in 1952 by Daisy Fay who was eleven when the book opens. Hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One can relate to this one.

    Fun book with lots of excitment and fun characters. Had many chuckles throughout the story. If you would like simple fun reading you should check out ALL of Fannie Flaggs books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    A MUST READ

    I love this book. In fact, I called my mother and read passages to her over the phone. We laughed together. When I finished I loaned the book to her, which she never returned. She and my younger sister had daily readings of the adventures of Daisy Faye. I too have purchased this several times because my friends never return it! I love Fanny Flagg she corresponded with a student of mine who was working on a book report. Fanny continued to correspond with my student long after the report was over. That spoke volumes about her committment to readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    My Most Favorite Read!

    I LOVE this book. I've read it numerous times and belly-laughed-out-loud every single time. I recommend it to anyone I like, and have loaned, lost and repurchased it more times than I'd like to admit. Daisy Fay is a quirky, hilarious, charming, character of endearing contradictions. Her frank, unembarrased accounts of her growing up adventures completely remove her audience from their own world and immerse them in hers. Daisy Fay leaves nothing 'on the table'. Yes, there are some harsh realities in her life. But Daisy Fay is an energetic optimist with such an uncrushable spirit that those realities do not ruin the wonderfully humorous spirit her story, they just fill it out in a very satifying way. I'd give it more than 5 stars if that were an option!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    hattiesburg is uppity

    This is definitely an underappreciated novel. Fannie Flagg's other work is so-so, but Daisy Fay is my favorite character of all. I've read it 4 times and lent it to many friends so that my copy is wearing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    this is the greatest book ever!!!

    I would have to say that this book is the one of the best books I have ever read. At times you find yourself laughing histerically, and at other times you feel like you are going to burst in tears. Fannie Flagg takes you on a six year journey with daisy Fay Harper, from when she's 11-18. I suggest this book to anyone who is for a book filled w/ comedy and life lessons! ENJOY!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    Character Development Reveals Theme of Life's True Treasures

    Life's true treasures will only be acknowledged when the time comes that you accept your life and who you truly are; in "Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man" by Fannie Flagg, a young girl tells of her tride and true experiences of coming of age. Daisy Fay Harper is eleven years old and she has recently moved to the "undiscovered" town best know as Shell Beach, Mississippi. With a sassy attitude and an inner truth-telling heroine (who just can't stay out of trouble or out of peoples hearts) tells us absolutely everything. With her witty sense of humor, Daisy turns any situation into something we can all relate to and find somewhat hilarious at the same time. Not only does little Daisy Fay Harper grow up, but she experiences about as much "learning" as any human possibly could. The reoccurring literary element, by far is the character development which is clearly witnessed throughout this story. Every character develops, each one in its own different way; usually depending on the situation it is involved in and of course how the character handles the situation. In this case, Daisy Fay starts her journaling when she is about the age of eleven and continues to tell of her days until she is in her mid to late twenties. Readers can see her development, not only by the dates that she marks at every entry, but the change of how she expresses herself, how she thinks, the events she is faced with and how she handles them. When Daisy Fay first moves to Shell Beach her childish ways show through her childish behavior. As she ages, her maturity level and her adult experiences add to the development of her character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    I COULDN'T STOP LAUGHING

    This was, by far, one of the funniest books I have read in a long time. Almost every page made me laugh out loud. I was almost kicked out of our local barnes and noble for laughing too loud. I've passed it on to my mom and hope that she laughs just as, if not more, than I did. READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    The Funniest Book I've Ever Read!

    I could not put this book down once I started reading it. It was absolutely hilarious and it remindded me of the fun times I had with my best freind when I was 11 and 12. I would recommend this book to any female at any age- who can't relate to this wonderful coming of age story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2001

    One of the Best!

    I couldn't put this book down! Definitely Fannie's best work! I felt 11 years old reading it! Very Funny and heartfelt. DO read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    FUNNIEST BOOK EVER!

    My niece and I first read this book under the title of Coming Attractions back in 1982. We have both read it too many times to count, sometimes reading it aloud to each other in tears laughing. We have an original hardback with a very dog eared jacket. It is just so real and vivid I can't believe that it has not been made into a movie. Then again, that might take away from this fantastic book. I have my own vision of Mr Cecil, Peachy Wigam and the bingo playing grandma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    I just keep coming back...

    Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man is by far the best book that Fannie Flagg has written to date. I have read them all, and although they are all very entertaining, and extremely well written, something just keeps bringing me back to this one. I laugh and cry every time I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3