Customer Reviews for

Damage Control (Jonathan Grave Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Once again John Gilstrap demonstrates his command over pacing, s

Once again John Gilstrap demonstrates his command over pacing, suspense, tension, and really likable characters. Damage Control throws us into Digger and Big Guy's lives again in a new hostage extraction adventure set in the hot sticky jungles of Mexico. The enemy this ...
Once again John Gilstrap demonstrates his command over pacing, suspense, tension, and really likable characters. Damage Control throws us into Digger and Big Guy's lives again in a new hostage extraction adventure set in the hot sticky jungles of Mexico. The enemy this time--a drug lord AND a church! You can't ask for a better set-up than that. When a bus load of teenage missionaries is kidnapped for ransom, Digger and Big Guy must go in and retrieve the kids and bring them to safety. Of course, it is never as easy as that and throughout the course of the rescue things go terribly wrong.

My favorite thing about Gilstrap and Damage Control is the characters, not only the recurring series characters, but the new "precious cargo" they must extract from the tense situation. Tristan is a thirteen-year old boy who shows not only a lot of spunk, but a lot of tender humanity. You can't help but root for him.

Damage Control is one of the best thrillers/action adventures I've read this year. You will not be disappointed.

Victoria Allman
author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

posted by VictoriaAllman on June 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Pacing, Pretty Good Story

This is the first Gilstrap book I have read. It was OK. I found the pacing to be very good as it moved along well. The story was also somewhat interesting. The characters are what killed it for me. They were all a bit too perfect to be believable. Maybe it was just the ...
This is the first Gilstrap book I have read. It was OK. I found the pacing to be very good as it moved along well. The story was also somewhat interesting. The characters are what killed it for me. They were all a bit too perfect to be believable. Maybe it was just the authors writing style, but I had difficulty being absorbed by the characters.

posted by 3268725 on November 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Once again John Gilstrap demonstrates his command over pacing, s

    Once again John Gilstrap demonstrates his command over pacing, suspense, tension, and really likable characters. Damage Control throws us into Digger and Big Guy's lives again in a new hostage extraction adventure set in the hot sticky jungles of Mexico. The enemy this time--a drug lord AND a church! You can't ask for a better set-up than that. When a bus load of teenage missionaries is kidnapped for ransom, Digger and Big Guy must go in and retrieve the kids and bring them to safety. Of course, it is never as easy as that and throughout the course of the rescue things go terribly wrong.

    My favorite thing about Gilstrap and Damage Control is the characters, not only the recurring series characters, but the new "precious cargo" they must extract from the tense situation. Tristan is a thirteen-year old boy who shows not only a lot of spunk, but a lot of tender humanity. You can't help but root for him.

    Damage Control is one of the best thrillers/action adventures I've read this year. You will not be disappointed.

    Victoria Allman
    author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Anon

    Love the series, but sometimes the great storyline is overshadowed by the descriptive brutality. Still recommend as an intense action read. Once you start reading, hard to find a stopping place!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Best Installment Yet

    Digger and Boxers to the rescue again! I love this series, and Damage Control is the best by far. Who wouldnt love Boxers wry sense of humor and Diggers strong sense of right and wrong? I look foward to more of the same by John Gilstrap. Definitely recommed, but you should start with the first in the series to fully appreciate. Buckle up, its a bumpy ride!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Nightbird

    WOW! AWESOME I LOVE IT KEEP IT UP!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Nice Pacing, Pretty Good Story

    This is the first Gilstrap book I have read. It was OK. I found the pacing to be very good as it moved along well. The story was also somewhat interesting. The characters are what killed it for me. They were all a bit too perfect to be believable. Maybe it was just the authors writing style, but I had difficulty being absorbed by the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great Read

    I love the Jonathan Grave series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Again, I couldn't wait to turn the page to see what happens next

    Again, I couldn't wait to turn the page to see what happens next. Keep telling myself I'll go to bed after this Chapter. Can't do it. I have to force myself to put this author's books down & get to bed. Absolutely love this series with Jonathan Grave & his team. I love all the characters. Great reading! Can't get enough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    AMAZING

    Five stars. It was amazing writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Would recommend it to a friend.

    Fast paced and exciting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Love it. No gratuitus sex or foul language, But non stop action. There is alot of violence that gets pretty graphic

    Love his books. Lots of action. Very little bad language or
    Sex. The violence can get pretty bloody. Love the hero's

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Non stop action start to finish. I have followed this series of books and have never been disappointed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    intensely enjoyable

    Gilsraps DIgger Grave series books keep getting better. Damage control is a very entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This book got me started on reading John Gilstrap who I never read before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Gilstrap does it again with damage control kept me on the edge o

    Gilstrap does it again with damage control kept me on the edge of my seat cant wait for the next digger installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Another non stop hard hitter

    The Jonathan Grave series is another series that I don't want to put down as soon as I read the first page. This book never lets up and is fantastic to the end. I look forward to many more adventures from Digger and Boxers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    John Gilstrap's Damage Control

    Great page turner, as always in John Gilstrap's book. My only complaint is that I had to read it in one setting after waiting months for him to come out with a new book....write faster! (lol). John Gilstrap is one of my favorite authors and this book met and exceeded all of my expectations!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    What a ride!

    Damage Control is the best of the Jonathan Grave series, so far. Digger kicks ass though much of Mexico before exacting some well earned revenge back home…I really didn’t want it to end. This book won't disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Unexpected twists, well written

    Not your cookie cutter book, well thought out and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Chapter 2 Staying Strong : Determination

    My optics open as the soft dripping of energon awoke me from the black abyss. Where am I? My optics searched for a fimiler face. I winced getting up. Pain flared in my side. Putmy hand on the bars only to be stopped by a heavy chain. The sound must have caught someones processer for I heard large heavy footsteps coming my way. "The Femme is awake Lord Megatron." My gears froze in mid whirl. I knew that scratchy voice. It was Starscream. He was known for being a mad scientist and a excellent informationist. I knew i wasnt going to last long not at least not without getting a destressed signal out. My optics rose to meet the cold calculating eyes of Starscream. Megatron gave his signature grin sending a shiver of fear up my nervous processer. "So Autobot will you be giving the information or will we have to force it out of you. " Starscream asked with his scratchy voice. "Ill never tell you. Over my cold dead body will i tell you a single ounce." I snarled. I spat energon into his face to prove my point. Megatrons optics turned to one of pure hate. "Starscream teach the autobot scum to show some respect." He snarled. I swear i saw Starscreams optics light up like a childs. I backed away from the bars in a quick motion. The bars opened with a small beep. I was pulled out roughly and dragged to my feet. I felt the sharp sting of Megatrons hand on my cheek plates. That spiked my anger. "You over grown, heated, pompus ovan I shouted in anger. I gave a yelp when I was slammed into the bars. "You will tell me all of the autobot plans you quviering quim." "Never in a lifetime." I growled. "Starscream I want infomation on the autobots at dawn." Starscream bowed his head as Megatron roughly pushed me into his grasp. Megaron stomped away as I smirked in pleasure knowing I had angered him. "Wipe that smirk from your face autobot". Starscream snarled. "Or what you throw me into a wall?" I growled gain a little of my courage back. I was slammed into a wall at my words. "Lets see how strong you are with this." He sneered in my face. He shoved something into my wounded side making me yelp in responce. A small remote in his hand started flashing green. He threw me back into the cell turning on the remote. My knees gave out as pain enveloped around my body. It hurt so badly. I clent my jaw plates together to keep from yelling or crying out. "Doesnt hurt? Mabey if it was a little higher?" He asked with a smirk. The pain increased causing me to bite on my glossa with determination. I wouldnt give him the satisfaction of hearing me scream out. He gave a growl then the pain was gone. My cooling fans had kicked on so i wouldnt go into statis lock. He stomped away with anger. I slumped back with exhaust. My thoughts drifted to my brother. "Vengence I hope your okay " I softly whisper. My optics closed as I fell into a bliss filled statis.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2