Customer Reviews for

Damaged

Average Rating 4.5
( 379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read!!

"Damaged" by Cathy Glass was one of those books that I absolutely could NOT put down. If you "enjoyed" the book "A Child Called It" by Dave Pelzer, then you will love this book as well. It takes a look at the work of Cathy, who has been a foster parent for many years. S...
"Damaged" by Cathy Glass was one of those books that I absolutely could NOT put down. If you "enjoyed" the book "A Child Called It" by Dave Pelzer, then you will love this book as well. It takes a look at the work of Cathy, who has been a foster parent for many years. She is told of a disturbed little girl, Jodie, who has been with 5 different foster homes in the short period of 4 months. Cathy decides that her experience in caring and loving foster children is more than enough to take on this new challenge. Cathy later finds that she is in for more than she bargains for with this little girl. However, Cathy does not give up and earns the trust of Jodie, only to be told bits and pieces of her horrific childhood. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone! It is an emotional true story that will leave you with a new respect for foster parents and the good people of the social service system.

posted by Starz198710 on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

"D" is for Damaged, Disturbing, Disgusting...

"Damaged" is definitely a heartbreaking and disturbing book. You learn something on every page that this little girl has endured throughout her 8 years. Don't expect a happy ending with this book and as much as I find this book revolting, it is a page turner. The boo...
"Damaged" is definitely a heartbreaking and disturbing book. You learn something on every page that this little girl has endured throughout her 8 years. Don't expect a happy ending with this book and as much as I find this book revolting, it is a page turner. The book was very well written for you to absolutely HATE this child's family. So terribly sad that so many children go through such horrible things and social services look the other way on so many of them...

posted by ARock2011 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book!! Some of the details are disturbing and its crazy how realistically children really do go through the things that jodie went through, but most are not able to explain in detail like she did. Nonetheless i really liked this book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    wow

    This is a true account of a child in foster care system. While the British terms are sometimes confusing, it helps that your nook allows you to look up terms. The abuse this child suffered boggles the imagination and there are some graphic descriptions given in the child's language. This is a riveting book that will leave you angry, sad, but hopeful.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Very detailed and heartbreaking

    What an incredible story. It is very difficult to put down. With every little step forward, there are three steps back.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Damaged

    Such a sad story. As a foster parent myself it never gets easy to stomach the abuse so many children endure. I learned a lot about how patient the foster mom was with this child.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Good book

    Sad

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Good bood and nice read.

    I always enjoy a true story. Being from the US there were some new terms to pick up but it was a pretty good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Such a Sad Story

    This is a depressing read. However, I kept reading because it was an education regarding abused children. It was also a good look into the foster care system. Cathy Glass definitely has a heart for children, but like I said, this is a Sad Story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    What a story

    The storyline really puts child abuse in perspective from a foster parents voice. Bless Cathy for her love, patience, perseverence, and understanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Great read

    Easy to read book that I couldnt put down once I started. Heart wrenching.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Any child would be lucky to have someone like Cathy in his or her life, but the fact that this child had Cathy in her corner is nothing short of a miracle. Be prepared to cry at the sheer cruelty that people ate capable of and marvel at what love and nurturing can do too. I read this one from cover to cover in one sitting because I just could not put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Sad

    This book was an eye opener. It saddens me that innocent children are abused and the systems in place often let them fall thru the cracks. Cudos to the wonderful foster families who are often forgotten and who work so hard to give these children a sense of normalcy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great!

    Very good read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    I read this book in less than 2 days. Jodie's story is so captiv

    I read this book in less than 2 days. Jodie's story is so captivating, it became a page turner that I just couldn't put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Review Damaged by Cathy Glass

    What a heartbreaking story. I do not understand parents or anyone harming children. This was a well written book. I will buy others by Cathy Glass.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Spectaular yet heartbreaking

    This is one of those book that you just dont want to believe yet you know is true. It is very well written and the author brings you right into the story. You feel like you know these people, you want to shake some of them and hug others. Very good book and I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Pretty good

    I strongely recommend reading Damaged by cathy glass before this one because she makes many references to Jodie the little girl in damaged.
    Thankfully this book left my smilling

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Very sad

    Its difficult to believe that thesr things happen but they do. I'm glad there are people like Cathy in this world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    A painful yet informative look at foster care

    This book truly did break my heart, just as the title said. I've never understood how anyone can abuse a child in this way and have such disregard for the damage they're inflicting on another human being for the remainder of their life. God bless people like Cathy Glass who are able to work magic in restoring the souls of these broken children. Even though she wasn't successful in this case, she was successful in finding the true source of Jodie's problems and getting her the help she so desperately needed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    A page turner

    I enjoyed this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    very good.

    very good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6