Customer Reviews for

Damaged

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Fast read

    I plan on re-reading this author. I have purchased the paperbacks I was holding on to to re-read on the nook. I have two titles for this author and when I finish reading even one I find myself looking to see if she has had anything else released. I haven't anyone to compare her to off the top of my head, just a quick read that is enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Kate is a lawyer and the majority of her cases so far have dealt with family issues. But she's in for a real eye-opener when she lands the TransTissue case. This company works with cadaver tissue.

    When a teenager is murdered, she can't help but blame herself. She had given advice to this teenagers grandmother and she wonders if her advice was completely wrong. Kate throws herself into the case, determined to unscramble the clues that will lead her somewhere she doesn't want to go. The truth has a price and it just might be too high to pay.

    Talk about a thriller! Damaged is awesome! This is the first book in a series that I will definitely be addicted to. If you're a thriller and suspense fan, this is a much read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    A Perfect Summer Read

    Pamela Callow's debut novel about a serial killer terrorizing beautiful Halifax, Nova Scotia is a must read this summer!

    Kate Lange, a young lawyer, is struggling to overcome guilt over her sister's death, the end of a relationship, and questions about her legal competence. Staggered by the death of her client's granddaughter at the hands of the so-called Body Butcher, Kate is determined to protect the young women who are his prey. Risking her career, her personal relationships, and her life, Kate follows her instincts, knowing that failure to act could render another dismembered body marked with the killer's signature.

    Strong characters, emotional plotlines and twists from start to finish make this book hard to put down. Protagonist Kate Lange is believable, and Callow's prose masterfully intertwines the many dimensions of Kate; her anguish, her anger, her generosity and her resilience. Books 2 and 3 in the Kate Lange series are forthcoming in the next year. I can't wait!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Awhile back I had Damaged recommended to me and I borrowed it no

    Awhile back I had Damaged recommended to me and I borrowed it no less than 3 times and never got around to reading it until the other day when I borrowed it again after buying the third book in the series and I really regret not giving it a try sooner.

    Damaged is a dark legal thriller that is set in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada and written by Nova Scotian author Pamela Callow. I mention this because I always feel the need to give Canadian authors a proper shout out when I can. This is pretty much the only contemporary novel that I've read that is set in the maritime province and I am so glad that the author was able to bring such an authentic feel to the novel despite the gruesome nature of the book.

    The story centers around lawyer Kate Lange who has struggled almost her entire life to rise from the ashes of her past and when her client's granddaughter ends up being dismembered by who will soon become Halifax's most notorious serial killer she can't help but feel guilty and resolves to do everything she can to bring the killer to justice even if it meant putting her career and life in danger.

    As soon as I picked Damaged up I was absolutely hooked and before I was on page 60 I already had placed the second book in the series on hold and since I figured it would take a couple days to get it I wanted to make the book last a little longer. But, who am I kidding? Self discipline has never been a friend of mine so of course I whipped through the book really quickly.

    I loved the setting of the novel, the author's description of the places in the city were fantastic and when she described them I felt as though I was standing there watching the events of the book take place. I also really liked Kate, I felt for her. She'd had some serious trauma and guilt in her life and I hated that the men in her life (her ex Detective Ethan Drake and her boss Randall Barrett) weren't making it easy on her at all and I thought that while they were key players in the novel that the author did slightly over do their macho-ness and they seriously got on my nerves with how cruelly they treated Kate for no reason.

    The serial Killer was quite the conundrum at first and I kept thinking I knew what his deal was but then the author would throw in some plot twist and I'd be left treading water trying to figure him out all over again and in the end even though I kind of ended up figuring him out I was surprised that there was not another twist that would have proven me wrong. The cunning, and evilness that the serial killer exhibited was disturbing and really made the story come alive. Pun intended.

    The other characters were good as well and made for a well rounded though slightly cold and uncaring batch of characters in some ways they all ended up fitting into the story just so. The actual plot of the book the was my favourite. I never shy away from a book with a serial killer on the loose but this is the first one I've read in some time and I thought it was very well written. The pacing was perfect, the plot line was interesting and I honestly had no idea how it would end until I finally got to it and it was a wee bit surprising. The way that Kate was able to investigate the crimes against the slue of female victims was genius and I loved how smart she was and how well the author was able to bring together two seemingly separate cases together to get this fast paced thriller.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this first book in the Kate Lange series and am so glad I finally gave the book a try and I'm glad to have Pamela Callow representing Canada in the novel world. My only main issue with the book was the two characters Ethan and Randall. I felt that they were too exaggerated and took away from the story line. Other than that the book was fantastic and had me guessing the whole time. The air of tension and fear was ripe it pretty much leaped off the page and I can't wait to continue reading this series.

    I would highly recommend Damaged to fans of legal thrillers with a female protagonist. I think the author offers up a new take on legal thrillers using a woman and if you're new to the genre I suggest starting with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Very good book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Decent debut read

    thought this book was a decent debut for author Pamela Callow. It was a murder mystery with some legal thriller thrown in to give the reader a interesting story. At first I really didn't care for the character Kate, she seemed a bit whiny. I know she has gone through a lot of things and she did get the job at the law firm thinking she would get some great jobs, but she is at the bottom of the totum pole so to speak so she should take the cases she gets and like it. So when this grandmother comes in to talk to her about her granddaughter and how she wants to get custody of the child, Kate sort of just tosses her aside. I really did sound like there was no grounds for a case but as a lawyer she should have at least looked into it, then the girl ends up dead. Kate then gets in trouble and her job is on the line so now she feels bad and needs to find out what happened, but its a little to late for the young girl. Kate does redeem herself in the end but she just wasn't a character I cared much for at the start of the story, and maybe that is how the author wanted it to be. It is a thriller/mystery but lets not forget that it is published by Mira, which is a branch of of Harliquin so it reads a bit like a woman's book and some men might not like it. Over all I would recommend it to anyone who likes crime dramas, legal thrillers, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid Debut

    Damaged, author Pamela Callow's freshman effort at legal mystery/suspense/conspiracy thriller, started slowly but if you are patient, you will be rewarded by what became a page-turning, perfect summer read. It builds slowly, while painstakingly laying the groundwork on central character Kate Lange, her former fiance, Detective Ethan Drake, Kate's employer, and its partner, Randall Barrett, plus a bevy of supporting characters.

    I found the murder mystery and conspiracy aspects of the story to be especially fascinating, having not guessed far ahead of time the connections and the "solution" before Kate (one of the bigger disappointments for me with mysteries/thrillers). I also appreciated the resolution, as it didn't stretch reality to unnatural boundaries and it seemed the natural course by the end of the book.

    I liked the character of Kate by the conclusion of Damaged although I was a bit neutral about her throughout much of the early story. I always like a tough, determined character with some humanity and all three traits were in evidence as I flipped that last page. I was particularly pleased to note that Ms. Callow will have a new mystery featuring Kate releasing next year and I hope that we will learn more about Kate on this next venture.

    By the same token, I hope that we will receive additional insight into the characters of Ethan Drake and Randall Barrett, who both seemed to be yearning for additional literary time. I felt that both characters still have a wealth of information to share and excellent storyline potential.

    I also hope that we will see Kate's neighbors again, the elderly sisters Muriel and Enid, who I found engaging and pleasing. Is it possible that these two have secrets themselves or is it just the conspiracy buff in me at work?

    Damaged, considering its subject matter, isn't heavy on the gore or violence, although it may have a few objectionable words. There is no sexual matter, although a brief innuendo, and some mentioned drug use.

    In all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Damaged to fans of the mystery, thriller and/or legal genre, all of whom are sure to be satisfied by this debut work that packs a powerful little punch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Damaged - Two Stories In One

    Kate was a new lawyer at Lyons McGrath Barrett law firm. She knew that she was going to have to work hard to prove that she belonged there. Having recently ended an engagement to Ethan Drake, detective, she had got a new job, bought a new house, and acquired a dog named Alaska.

    Barrett was determined to keep Kate practicing family law for 2 reasons - He had a bone to pick with Ethan Drake and with John Lyons - the partner who had recruited her. He assigned her a case with a futile outlook. A grandmother (Marian) wanted custody of her granddaughter (Lisa) - but did not have any proof that the granddaughter wasn't being taken care of properly or that she was doing drugs. The hitch was that Lisa's mom was Hope Carson, a criminal court judge known for her icy personality and demeanor.

    Kate tells Marian that she really doesn't have a case, but after mulling it over tries to call her back to discuss it. Unfortunately it is too late and Lisa has been murdered and dismembered. Talk about opening a can of worms! Now Kate has to worry that she did everything by the book in talking with Marian. She figures she can throw her law career out the window when John Lyons assigns her a litigation file with Trans Tissue as the client. Trans Tissue makes surgical products and they are being sued by someone who believes they contracted Hep C after an arthroscopic knee surgery using their product. See, the surgical products are made from human tissue from cadavers harvested by tissue suppliers.

    So you really have two stories in one. You have the medical mystery of how this patient contracted Hep C and you have the very grisly thriller of the serial killer. There are quite a few supporting characters which are absolutely necessary to round these out and the book kept me tuned in all the way to the end. They did not give anything away too quickly but rather dropped the pieces in a little at a time. Definitely a must read. I am eagerly awaiting the second book in the series Indefensible, which is due out in January of 2011. I just discovered there is a third book - Tattooed coming out in August of 2011 and a fourth book planned for 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    A Page-turner

    For me, the book opened just a tad slowly, but then I was quickly drawn in, and 450+ pages flew by.

    Kate Lange has worked hard to pull herself up from a broken past - the untimely loss of a sister, and a father with a criminal record. She worked her way through law school, and now has a chance at finally building a reputation as a top-notch attorney at a top-notch law firm. One of the firm's partners, John Lyons, is serving as a sort of mentor and helped her get her foot in the door. Now all she has to do is prove herself, in spite of the gossip that she did something other than work hard to get in the door. She's on a 4-month probationary period, and is hoping that she finally gets a chance at something other than the "pink death" of family law cases.

    Randall Barrett is the managing partner of the firm and seems to 'have it in' for Kate. Maybe it's because her ex-fiance', Ethan Drake, a detective, is the one who put one of his oldest friends in jail. Maybe it's because he has somehow managed to get to the top position in the firm in spite of the fact that John Lyons actually founded the firm, and he resents the fact that Kate is his protege'.

    Randall hands Kate a file for a custody case. When Kate meets with the grandmother, she advises her that without proof of negligence or the involvement of Child Protective Services, it would not be a good idea to go ahead with a custody case. When the granddaughter is found brutally slain and dismembered a couple of days later, Kate's wonders what else she could have done to prevent this tragedy.

    When the grandmother telephones her and asks her to follow up with one of the granddaughter's 'street friends' to see if she can find additional information, she does so, even though John Lyons has finally pulled her in on a case that involves civil litigation against one of their clients, a tissue broker that is accused of not properly processing donated tissue and causing a recipient to contract hepatitis.

    Kate finds herself at odds with Randall Barrett, who had a long-ago affair with the teenager's mother, now a candidate for High Justice, as well as with her ex-fiance', who advises her to stay out of the police investigation, and who she has a lot of loose ends with.

    When she uncovers what may be a string of unaccounted-for girls, as well as questionable paperwork at the company she is supposed to be defending, she has to go it on her own, with no idea of who to trust with the information she is unearthing.

    This is a page-turner of a book, with a lot of interesting facts and a psychopath thrown in the mix as well. I liked the writing style of this author, and had to put the book down only because my eyes were drooping shut. As soon as I brushed my teeth the next morning, I opened the book and continued reading it while eating my morning cereal. I can only hope to see more from this talented writer, and am happy that the ending of this book may well make for a sequel. I will look forward to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2