Customer Reviews for

Damascus Countdown

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

$15.65? For a Nook Book? I don't think so....I gave him a five b

$15.65? For a Nook Book? I don't think so....I gave him a five because he's one of my favorite authors and a great person and I'm sure the book rates a 5.

posted by Reader101KB on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Your kidding

Not worth the money. Good book and author but publisher wants too much! Wait for used or paperback.

posted by 337877 on March 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    This book shows what a dying world needs to know!

    Joel totally hits the spot as a thriller and he also shows a much needed Christian viewpoint on the end times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Awesome, gifted author...

    Love all his books, but $26.99---Put the crack pine down Barnes &Noble!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. Despite the fact that I have not yet

    I really enjoyed this book. Despite the fact that I have not yet read the other books in the series, I could still understand what was going on. With a lot of series books, you have to read the prior books to be able to really understand what is happening. This one was not like that. Mr. Rosenberg did not refer to the back story often enough to make it hard to follow. I really appreciated that, especially since I did not realize that this was the third book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    I read this as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading program.

    I read this as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading program. I had read the previous two books in this series over the last two summer programs. I wasn't too excited about reading this book because middle eastern politics is not my thing, but I got sucked in and enjoyed it. I also love how it ended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Very Suspenseful Thriller. The plot is very involved. The techno

    Very Suspenseful Thriller. The plot is very involved. The technology is dizzying. It is realistic but it has more detail than I can absorb about the places, current events and people, and military ordnance. There is a plethora of characters to follow – it’s a good thing he puts a Cast of Characters up front! I find the study of End Times prophecies fascinating, so anyone who does not may not react so well to this series. The narrative jumps from place to place to build suspense. Also, a lot of new story lines keep opening up and I find I need to focus to follow them. I would do well to read this book in a quiet environment with plenty of time. The book stands on its own but does develop characters and continue events along the lines of prior books in the series. It is a serious what-if story, not an easy read for entertainment. It is dynamic and thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Excellent Book This was the first book by Joel Rosenberg that I

    Excellent Book

    This was the first book by Joel Rosenberg that I read but it won't be the last. Even though this is the third book in the series you can jump right in the series with this book and you won't be lost.
    David and his team are working deep undercover in the Middle East to find two missing warheads and destroy them before they can be launched.
    The book jumps from location to location and person to person but there is a "cheat sheet" of people in the front and each section of the book is labeled with the location.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Fasten your seatbelts before starting this book! The beginning i

    Fasten your seatbelts before starting this book! The beginning is a little hard to completely follow - I didn't realize this was the 3rd book in a series when I began - but after the first few pages it is a book you can't set down! What will David do next? Will he save the day and keep Israel from being leveled by a nuclear warhead? I have recently heard a lot about drones in the news - I had no idea they could do so much. But I loved how real Birjandi seemed - though blind and old, he continued to study and preach god's word and was just so faithful. And I so identified with David when he realized he was in a life and death situation and had never told his buddies about Christ - I'm not in that situation but I don't think to ask those around me if they know where they will be if they died now. Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    This thrilling story takes place in Israel, the U.S., Iran and S

    This thrilling story takes place in Israel, the U.S., Iran and Syria and it involves a United States CIA agent David Shirazi working with his Agency handler Jack Zalinsky trying to save Israel from attacks by Iran and Syria. To help you track the constantly shifting scenes, the city and country are in bold print at the top of each section. David made the perfect undercover agent because he looked like an Iranian. In Iran, the Twelfth Imam Mahdi was not pleased with the way the war was going, especially since they had 8 nuclear warheads and now they only have 2. But neither was David pleased because Iran still had two nuclear warheads although he had developed a relationship with Dr. Birjandi, an aging professor and advisor of the Iranian regime. Through him David had tracked down Malik, the best nuclear scientist, persuaded him to defect, and gotten him out of Iran. Another scientist David had captured and sent out of Iran to the U.S. Israel was being attacked constantly by so many missiles that they could only stop about 80%. Schools, apartment buildings, shopping centers and even the nuclear plant were hit. From that point on David was constantly being tasked to do more even when his contacts appeared to have dried up. Could he prevent the two nuclear missiles from being fired at Israel? In desperation he was taking numerous chances, getting shot at and even driving on the wrong side of the road to escape. This book is so exciting you won’t want to put it down. There are enough suspense and even love parts to interest women readers and wild escape stories, horrible blow them up adventures, and spy details to interest men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Good Read

    This is the third in a series. It was a quick read and very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    Damascus Count Down is action packed, fast pace, faith inspired

    Damascus Count Down is action packed, fast pace, faith inspired novel. I have not read the previous books in series however I was not floundering. The only part that took me back a little were the names. Would definitely recommend and look forward to reading more of similar books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    Refreshing When I picked up this book, I didn't know it was th

    Refreshing


    When I picked up this book, I didn't know it was the 3rd in a series. Thankfully, you can follow along just fine without Books 1 & 2. 




    I had heard high praise for Rosenburg's work in the past, but never read any of his books until now. It won't be the last book of his I read, I'm sure. I really enjoyed Damascus Countdown. It's intriguing, well written, and is not predictable. In my experience, fiction written by a Christian author does not deliver quality work. Rosenburg does. And that is a refreshing change of pace. 




    I don't usually give books 5 stars. This novel deserves each one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    If you are a fan of the Left Behind series and author Jerry Jenk

    If you are a fan of the Left Behind series and author Jerry Jenkins you'll love it. Lot of action. This is the third in the series, I will go back and read the first two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Get this book. What a read.

    This one of the best books I have ever read. Talk about on the edge of your seat. WOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    Israel launches a strike against Iran, and CIA operative David d

    Israel launches a strike against Iran, and CIA operative David deals with the consequences. There are Iranian warheads missing and David must find them before they are launched.

    I thought the story was good, but long (over 450 pages and the events mostly took place in 2 days). There are quite a few characters to keep track of, so the cast of characters in the beginning is helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    I didn't realize until I started reading this that it was the ne

    I didn't realize until I started reading this that it was the next installment of the David Shirazi story. I had read the prior one awhile ago and was disappointed that I had to wait for this one. However, it was worth the wait! Rosenberg does such a great job with details and bringing each scene to life. There are so many characters and details that the book requires your attention and focus, which I enjoy. Rosenberg also does a great job describing what might happen in the future in a dramatic, believable way. I was reading as fast as I could because I just wanted to know what was going to happen next. I couldn't wait to find out if David and his team made it in time and what was going to happen with all the characters. I thought the ending was excellent. Overall, another great Rosenberg book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    As usual Joel Rosenberg has written a page turner. With everything that is currently going on in the Middle East today, the book almost has a prophetic feel to it. I've read all of his books and find him one of the best authors out there today. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    EXCELLENT RIVETING STORY BUT ITS CONTINUITY WAS RUINED BY ALL TH

    EXCELLENT RIVETING STORY BUT ITS CONTINUITY WAS RUINED BY ALL THE RELIGIOUS REMARKS. THEY DONT BELONG IN A BOOK OF THIS TYPE

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

      In Damascus Countdown, Joel Rosenberg has created a stunning c

      In Damascus Countdown, Joel Rosenberg has created a stunning conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Twelfth Imam and The Tehran Initiative. 
    Joel Rosenberg has fused together a single story out of multiple viewpoints, using the breaks in perspective to heighten the tension.
    And there is much tension in this book, as there is in our world today.
    The Islamic false messiah, the "Twelfth Iman" has come into power, an he is leading Muslims all over the globe as they attempt to establish the universal Caliphate. Total Muslim domination is his end, and the Imam is manipulating religion and politics to achieve his goal. 
    Despite his claims that the global Caliphate will be a reign of peace, justice and unity, the Imam is pursuing as many nuclear weapons as he can. Of course, he calls them "weapons of life."

    As Iran's nuclear capabilities increase and increase, Israel launches an effective pre-emptive strike,  cutting Iran down to two nuclear warheads. But the warheads cannot be accounted for... and now these "missing" warheads are on the move, on their way to a launch site that American intelligence cannot pinpoint. 

    Israel knows these warheads must be stopped, but America resists a full commitment to help their ally. The America government is not pleased with Israel's self defense, and instead warns them to stand down or fear sanctions.

    Meanwhile, In Iran, crack CIA operative David Shirazi and his fine paramilitary team are given this mission: Find and Destroy the warheads. And do this now. Millions of Israeli and soon America lives hang in the balance.
    Shirazi, Fox, Crenshaw, Torres, and Mays must move with precision, and they must let nothing stop them. In other words, they must be the special ops team that they are.

    As I read this book aloud, my listeners sat riveted. The action is incredible... The characters are real and you care about them as you read. The story is thought provoking on many levels...especially considering our world today.

    Thank you Joel Rosenberg for this book, and thank you Tyndale House and Goodreads for hosting this Giveaway for Damascus Countdown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Very entertaining book by a great author. Joel writes his ficti

    Very entertaining book by a great author. Joel writes his fiction like he has knowledge of events that are looming on the horizon. The interjection of religious conversation and how beliefs are affecting the lives of the characters is mild and non-offensive. I can't believe others would rate this book with less than 4 stars based on their anti-religious prejudice. The plot , the characters and the use of current military settings is very suspenseful. I hope Joel C. Rosenberg continues to pen novels based on the current Middle East environment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ripped from today's headlines! When reading this it's hard to t

    Ripped from today's headlines! When reading this it's hard to tell the difference between fact and fiction. Unbelieveable action and pacing. So real it's scary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5