Customer Reviews for

Damascus Countdown

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

$15.65? For a Nook Book? I don't think so....I gave him a five b

$15.65? For a Nook Book? I don't think so....I gave him a five because he's one of my favorite authors and a great person and I'm sure the book rates a 5.

posted by Reader101KB on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Your kidding

Not worth the money. Good book and author but publisher wants too much! Wait for used or paperback.

posted by 337877 on March 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    $15.65? For a Nook Book? I don't think so....I gave him a five b

    $15.65? For a Nook Book? I don't think so....I gave him a five because he's one of my favorite authors and a great person and I'm sure the book rates a 5.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Great author....wrong merchant

    $9.45 for the kindle version. BN doesn't apppear to want to compete in the ebook market.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Riveting

    Like all of Joel's books, this one is a page turner. Action packed with a terrific storyline. Even more intriguing is how plausible the story is. Joel does a great job looking at Bible prophecy and explaining it via an amazing book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    As always a scary, fantastic book. So close to reality I had to

    As always a scary, fantastic book. So close to reality I had to stop and decide if I was reading the book or Internet current news from time to time. I wish that everyone, especially all of Congress and people in control of future decisions concerning Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria etc. would read this book. I believe Joel is right on in his scenarios. Thanks for sparing David, Joel. Perfect ending!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Terrific writing; wanted more at the end; world events in the st

    Terrific writing; wanted more at the end; world events in the story mirror real life;

    Nook books are getting too expensive... I may go back to my used book store

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Another awesome book by Joel C. Rosenberg!

    I couldn't put this book down! What a wonderful series - and I was especially happy with the ending. I can't wait to see what he write next - whatever it is, I will be reading it! Thank you Mr. Rosenberg!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    The conclusion to "The Twelfth Imam" and "The Teh

    The conclusion to "The Twelfth Imam" and "The Tehran Initiative", "Damascus Countdown" is the last book in this trilogy and I for one am sad to see it come to an end.  CIA operative David Shirazi, aka Reza Tabrizi is still undercover in Iran immediately following Israel's air strike.  The strike takes out much of the threat, but when you are dealing with nuclear weapons, "we got almost all of the nuclear bombs" is certainly not enough.  David and his team are directed to use all means necessary to find the last nuclear warheads and thwart the Mahdi's attempt at genocide of the Israeli nation.




    Joel Rosenberg is an excellent author, and this was definitely a page turner.  I also appreciated that the locations were identified throughout the book as this is a multi-layered plot with many characters and it helped me stay on track.




    I recommend this entire series.  You won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    great read. buy the kindle version for $9.11

    great read. buy the kindle version for $9.11

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Joel C. Rosenberg in his book "Damascus Countdown" Boo

    Joel C. Rosenberg in his book "Damascus Countdown" Book Three in The Twelfth Imam series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us to The Middle East in the possible future.

    From the inside jacket flap: This time, all eyes are not just on Iran, but on Syria as well.

    Israel successfully launches a first strike on Iran, taking out all of their nuclear sites and six of their nuclear warheads. American President William Jackson threatens to support a U.N. Security Council resolution condemning the Jewish State for unprovoked and unwarranted acts of aggression. And The Twelfth Imam prepares to order a genocidal retaliation.

    Meanwhile, CIA operative David Shirazi has infiltrated the Iranian regime and intercepted top secret intelligence indicating that two Iranian nuclear warheads survived the attack and have been moved to a secure and undisclosed location. In danger not only from the ongoing war between Israel and Iran but also from the increasingly hostile governments in multiple countries, Shirazi and his team are in a race against time to find the remaining nuclear warheads before the most cataclysmic event in the history of The Middle East comes to pass.

    I think it is entirely possible that Joel Rosenberg is a spy. Not your typical spy I suppose but since I have never met one and have no reference point based on what I read all I can say is he must be some kind of spy. Mr. Rosenberg knows a lot about how governments work. He has a fascinating amount of information about what is going on in the Muslim world and he has written a fast-paced thriller to prove it.

    In "Damascus Countdown" Joel C. Rosenberg weaves together headlines from our current news with Biblical prophecy. This book is entertaining and will have you flipping pages as fast as you can read but, be prepared, it is also thought-provoking and will have you looking up from the page going, "wow". I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Rosenberg is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Damascus Countdown is the third and final book in the riveting p

    Damascus Countdown is the third and final book in the riveting political series by Joel C. Rosenburg. Immediately after it was released I checked our local library and put it on hold. It was so popular I was about the fifth in line. In the meantime I reread the other two in the series The Twelfth Imam and The Tehran Initiative (click the book titles for my reviews of those books). I just love this series. It reads like our current headlines and is so riveting. If you enjoy political action packed books this is the series for you.




    Joel C. Rosenburg is a expert on the middle east and the volatile climate over there. He is known for writing fiction that eerily mirrors the real world. In Damascus Countdown David Shizari continues to hunt down the nuclear warheads that Iran has acquired before Israel and the US are obliterated. With more twists and turns than a country road this book will have you on the edge of your seat. I can't recommend them highly enough. You will not be disappointed. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    Great book and seriesĀ 

    Great book and series 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    His best ever

    I found this book well written and interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    This book shows what a dying world needs to know!

    Joel totally hits the spot as a thriller and he also shows a much needed Christian viewpoint on the end times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Excellent Book This was the first book by Joel Rosenberg that I

    Excellent Book

    This was the first book by Joel Rosenberg that I read but it won't be the last. Even though this is the third book in the series you can jump right in the series with this book and you won't be lost.
    David and his team are working deep undercover in the Middle East to find two missing warheads and destroy them before they can be launched.
    The book jumps from location to location and person to person but there is a "cheat sheet" of people in the front and each section of the book is labeled with the location.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Fasten your seatbelts before starting this book! The beginning i

    Fasten your seatbelts before starting this book! The beginning is a little hard to completely follow - I didn't realize this was the 3rd book in a series when I began - but after the first few pages it is a book you can't set down! What will David do next? Will he save the day and keep Israel from being leveled by a nuclear warhead? I have recently heard a lot about drones in the news - I had no idea they could do so much. But I loved how real Birjandi seemed - though blind and old, he continued to study and preach god's word and was just so faithful. And I so identified with David when he realized he was in a life and death situation and had never told his buddies about Christ - I'm not in that situation but I don't think to ask those around me if they know where they will be if they died now. Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    This thrilling story takes place in Israel, the U.S., Iran and S

    This thrilling story takes place in Israel, the U.S., Iran and Syria and it involves a United States CIA agent David Shirazi working with his Agency handler Jack Zalinsky trying to save Israel from attacks by Iran and Syria. To help you track the constantly shifting scenes, the city and country are in bold print at the top of each section. David made the perfect undercover agent because he looked like an Iranian. In Iran, the Twelfth Imam Mahdi was not pleased with the way the war was going, especially since they had 8 nuclear warheads and now they only have 2. But neither was David pleased because Iran still had two nuclear warheads although he had developed a relationship with Dr. Birjandi, an aging professor and advisor of the Iranian regime. Through him David had tracked down Malik, the best nuclear scientist, persuaded him to defect, and gotten him out of Iran. Another scientist David had captured and sent out of Iran to the U.S. Israel was being attacked constantly by so many missiles that they could only stop about 80%. Schools, apartment buildings, shopping centers and even the nuclear plant were hit. From that point on David was constantly being tasked to do more even when his contacts appeared to have dried up. Could he prevent the two nuclear missiles from being fired at Israel? In desperation he was taking numerous chances, getting shot at and even driving on the wrong side of the road to escape. This book is so exciting you won’t want to put it down. There are enough suspense and even love parts to interest women readers and wild escape stories, horrible blow them up adventures, and spy details to interest men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Good Read

    This is the third in a series. It was a quick read and very exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    Damascus Count Down is action packed, fast pace, faith inspired

    Damascus Count Down is action packed, fast pace, faith inspired novel. I have not read the previous books in series however I was not floundering. The only part that took me back a little were the names. Would definitely recommend and look forward to reading more of similar books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    Refreshing When I picked up this book, I didn't know it was th

    Refreshing


    When I picked up this book, I didn't know it was the 3rd in a series. Thankfully, you can follow along just fine without Books 1 & 2. 




    I had heard high praise for Rosenburg's work in the past, but never read any of his books until now. It won't be the last book of his I read, I'm sure. I really enjoyed Damascus Countdown. It's intriguing, well written, and is not predictable. In my experience, fiction written by a Christian author does not deliver quality work. Rosenburg does. And that is a refreshing change of pace. 




    I don't usually give books 5 stars. This novel deserves each one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Get this book. What a read.

    This one of the best books I have ever read. Talk about on the edge of your seat. WOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3