Customer Reviews for

Damian's Oracle: War of Gods, Book One

Average Rating 4.5
( 540 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(153)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great read!

Didn't put it down till I reached the end. Great characters, interesting concepts, humor, a little romance as well as some action. Ready to start book two!

posted by kaishicheoylee on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Meh...The basic idea is good,but...

I want to support new authors, and I think Ms.Ford has real potential; that being said I find her dialogue to be ridiculous. These supposed 300 thousand year old gods have BFF's and say dude and bro- with a straight face- really? It doesn't make sense that a somewhat su...
I want to support new authors, and I think Ms.Ford has real potential; that being said I find her dialogue to be ridiculous. These supposed 300 thousand year old gods have BFF's and say dude and bro- with a straight face- really? It doesn't make sense that a somewhat supreme being would be so unduly influenced by what could be a digression of the human language, not to mention a blip in the timeline. Aren't these people all adults? Why do they speak like dimwitted teenagers? I think Ms.Ford does herself a disservice. I think the themes are really imaginitive. I hope Ms.Ford will graduate the mentality of her characters, then she'll really have something. I look forward to her progression. I'm rooting for her.

posted by bandycoot on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh...The basic idea is good,but...

    I want to support new authors, and I think Ms.Ford has real potential; that being said I find her dialogue to be ridiculous. These supposed 300 thousand year old gods have BFF's and say dude and bro- with a straight face- really? It doesn't make sense that a somewhat supreme being would be so unduly influenced by what could be a digression of the human language, not to mention a blip in the timeline. Aren't these people all adults? Why do they speak like dimwitted teenagers? I think Ms.Ford does herself a disservice. I think the themes are really imaginitive. I hope Ms.Ford will graduate the mentality of her characters, then she'll really have something. I look forward to her progression. I'm rooting for her.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    pretty good

    There are plenty of typos, the timeline of the story can be confusing, and the characters dont have enough depth to help the reader keep them straight. That being said, I had a hard time putting this one down. The story is excellent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Good

    Good paranormal story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    For a free book, it was very good. There are a few instances where it seems as if the author hadn't gone back and revised (i.e. the "+" that appeared in the middle of a word and one sentence that had a word placed out of standard order for the English language) but otherwise a good read.

    It may be because the last books I read were by internationally renowned authors (i.e. JK Rowling, Tamora Pierce, etc.) but I felt as if the word choice was a bit immature at times. I can understand the use of swear words in the context of dialogue as it develops the character; however, when it spills over into the lines outside of quotes, it seems as if the author hasn't fully matured.

    I felt however that it was a bit difficult at times to figure out which character was speaking when conversations with more than 2 characters arose.

    For me, the engaging plot more than made up for these issues. I'm excited to read Damian's Assassin which I intend to start tomorrow. This would be a good read for those looking for a fresh take on fantasy and magic with a touch of romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    I liked the plot, the world that was being created, I liked the mythology and definitely the divine spirits and Guardians. It was a story that was easy to read as the action sequences kept the story going, but the beginning was hard to get.

    What drew me off a little was the male lead's excessive cursing, sort of without sufficient emotional build up, but other than that very little of this book disturbed me. I liked Sofia she was entertaining to read, she kept a good head on her shoulders and I felt she was relatable. I would have hoped she would have been bit more skeptical of the situation she was thrown in. The book had a distinct feeling of YA to it.

    The cover needs a make-over to attract readers, the color schemes don't match, the make-up and the font needs little tweaking - the cover doesn't give credit that the story warrants.

    You'll like this if... you're into mythology, like character driven books and like your heroes God-like, little aloof and arrogant, but in a good way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    A good read

    Thestory was a bit choppy and there were missing transitions. However, it was interesting and I would like to read more of the author's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    It was good

    Not sure why a *god*, or even a straight guy would use bff...glad I was not the only one bothered by that! At least the story was decent and had some interesting charactors. Will read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Oooohhhhhh

    Okay i liked it, biut it had to much language in it. I didnt finish because of thatt.... bad choice if you hate cussing. Good story line though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    out of this world

    what an imagination this writer has

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Great Read

    Pleasantly surprised. Couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Good plot

    The story was good and I'd read more in the series, but the culture in the book isn't my generation (bff and constant texting). Still I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Odd, but Good

    This was an enjoyable story. Read it quickly. Would love to know what made the author decide to make 300,000 year old gods speak like high school kids. It was a little offputting to hear Gods say, "Dude", "wasup bro" and "you're my BFF" (don't only girls call each other BFF?). If you look past the odd conversations, it was a very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    i would recommend it

    i wasnt too sure about this book when i first downloaded it, im not usually one for this genre, but it turned out to be a very good book. it took me not even two days to finish it. the only negative thing i have to say about it is the climax the story leads up too is very anticlimatic. it ended rather ubruptly in my opinion. other than that, i liked it and would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    good-ish read

    the plot started out slow and was a little comfusing but in the end a good quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3