Customer Reviews for

Damian's Oracle: War of Gods, Book One

Average Rating 4.5
( 542 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I enjoyed this book. I was surprised about the guality and would recomend it to most sll ages...well starting with teens. A romance without sex scenes is refreshing.

posted by 7832822 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Meh...The basic idea is good,but...

I want to support new authors, and I think Ms.Ford has real potential; that being said I find her dialogue to be ridiculous. These supposed 300 thousand year old gods have BFF's and say dude and bro- with a straight face- really? It doesn't make sense that a somewhat su...
I want to support new authors, and I think Ms.Ford has real potential; that being said I find her dialogue to be ridiculous. These supposed 300 thousand year old gods have BFF's and say dude and bro- with a straight face- really? It doesn't make sense that a somewhat supreme being would be so unduly influenced by what could be a digression of the human language, not to mention a blip in the timeline. Aren't these people all adults? Why do they speak like dimwitted teenagers? I think Ms.Ford does herself a disservice. I think the themes are really imaginitive. I hope Ms.Ford will graduate the mentality of her characters, then she'll really have something. I look forward to her progression. I'm rooting for her.

posted by bandycoot on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Enjoyable read.

    Great read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. I was surprised about the guality and would recomend it to most sll ages...well starting with teens. A romance without sex scenes is refreshing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Damian's Oracle is one of those great book that once you past the start you cant stop until the end. I will recommend this book to any one who really loves mythology. The only thing I would like to say to the author is not to do a lot of rapid changes. Especially in the beginning of other future books that she might do, because were getting to know the character. Another book that I will recommend to people who really love this book including myself is Damian's Assassin. The sequel to Damian's Oracle.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great book!

    I have read both books and find the storyline interesting. I liked all the characters and had a hard time putting my nook down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    I'll be reading the next book

    The book kept me interested to the end. I had a hard time following who was speaking when at times and the book jumped around a bit so that I didn't know quite when things were happening. It was an extremely good effort though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Good Book

    This was actually a good read and something would have paid for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Very Good!

    This book was very well written. Love this author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Loved

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    Enjoyed the entire series.

    Enjoyed the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good

    I thought it was a good book. Its a long series though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Loved it

    I enjoyed this book. I had to pry myself away when i first read it. I do have a problem with the repetativeness of BFF. What grow men leta alone grown man calls themselves bff's. But besides that i really liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    EXCELLENT READ

    I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are well rounded and given full personalities. The locations and story history is fresh. The plot well developed. Not usual vampire genre! EXCELLENT READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Snappy little story

    Thouroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read from an author with potential

    I really want to see Lizzy Ford continue to write - and to polish her work up to its potential! Characters and concept both pulled me in and it was easy to see where the makings of a fine author are developing. Other than fine tuning and a bit of expansion in some areas, I can make no criticism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Great story

    Original characters with a unique story line great adventure but for a romance it could use a little more passion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Good n different

    I really enjoyed this series so far (this is book 1). The ideas were unique and the characters drew me in. The dialogue is a little difficult at times, and you may have to reread to determine who says what. It's only a few areas so it didnt bother me. I'll be patiently waiting the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great Book!

    I have just recently discovered Lizzy Ford and I think I have now read just about all of her books. The characters are great. A tad bit more romance would have been nice though. You won't be disappointed in this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Very interesting story

    This was a great and interesting read. I would recommend to anyone who is interested in the paranormal genre or paranormal romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    great book

    A page turner.Enjoyable characters.I would re-read this book multiple times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8