Customer Reviews for

Damian's Oracle: War of Gods, Book One

Average Rating 4.5
( 542 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(316)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I enjoyed this book. I was surprised about the guality and would recomend it to most sll ages...well starting with teens. A romance without sex scenes is refreshing.

posted by 7832822 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Meh...The basic idea is good,but...

I want to support new authors, and I think Ms.Ford has real potential; that being said I find her dialogue to be ridiculous. These supposed 300 thousand year old gods have BFF's and say dude and bro- with a straight face- really? It doesn't make sense that a somewhat su...
I want to support new authors, and I think Ms.Ford has real potential; that being said I find her dialogue to be ridiculous. These supposed 300 thousand year old gods have BFF's and say dude and bro- with a straight face- really? It doesn't make sense that a somewhat supreme being would be so unduly influenced by what could be a digression of the human language, not to mention a blip in the timeline. Aren't these people all adults? Why do they speak like dimwitted teenagers? I think Ms.Ford does herself a disservice. I think the themes are really imaginitive. I hope Ms.Ford will graduate the mentality of her characters, then she'll really have something. I look forward to her progression. I'm rooting for her.

posted by bandycoot on February 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    A great read!

    Didn't put it down till I reached the end. Great characters, interesting concepts, humor, a little romance as well as some action. Ready to start book two!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Complete shock

    I downloaded this book as a quick read with no expectations. I must say I am a fan for life now. The characters are easy to relate to and it had my emotions going haywire... I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading her others!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Love it

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Loved it!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book and i cannot wait until the third book comes out i am so excited:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Unexpected!!!!

    My brother told me about this book and i wasnt expecting it to be any good cause my brother recommended it but i got caught up in it right away!!! I was so mad because i didnt want to admit it to my brother that i LOVED IT!!!!!!! Right away i couldnt stop reading it cause i wanted to figure out what was wrong with sofi!!!! I was expecting sofi to go for jake but then she went with damian!! I didnt really like damian at first cause i thought that he was going to steal sofi from jake!! But now i love him!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book had me from the first chapter to the last. I could not put it down. You just have to read the book. This is one of the best books that I have read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I honestly thought this would be something I would regret downloaded, but it turned out being something totally amazing! I loved every minute of it, and even did not mind the typos.
    I definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Really Really good read

    I really liked the characters in this story, will get the next one too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Loved it!

    WORTH READING!
    About 170 story pages...Free e-book.
    Fans of Sherilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series will like this one! Mythical gods, the battle between good and evil, and a little romance. Will be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    really liked it

    i really enjoyed this book, it hard to explain without giving it away, but if you enjoy dark hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon you'll love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    D oracle

    Great starting gate to this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    I loved this book and this series. I have yet to be disappointed

    I loved this book and this series. I have yet to be disappointed in books by Lizzy Ford.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    I am usually into the paranormal romances (werewolves usually), but I picked this one up thinking I might change it up a bit. I wasn't expecting much, but WOW this book was a page turner! I literally started reading this at 11pm and finished at 5:30am. I could NOT stop reading. So excited to get to the next book in this series! Only let down was I kept waiting for that clutch love/romantic scene and it never got there =/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    captivated

    I loved the characters and the original take on mythology and vampires. It was an amazing read, and I look forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Love Ford

    Onto the next book. She does not fail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Love, Love, Love it

    I read the first Damian's Oracle back in Feb 2011 and this is the re-do of it. I loved the first one, but Lizzy shows a more "mature" side in this re-write. I think EVERYONE should read this book, well, at least if you like paranormal romance with adventure. It's awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Hidden Gem!! Exciting, Dramatic and Fast Paced!!

    I was pleasently surprised when I sat down to read Damian's Oracle and I didn't want to put it down. I just love it when I read a book by a "new to me" author and I discover a hidden gem that I want to share with the world! Damian's Oracle is the first book the War of Gods trilogy and it is most definitely a hidden gem! :) The characters are interesting and well developed! I just loved them all, through their many moods and quirks ;) The plot was exciting, dramatic and fast paced. The romance was fun to read. This was a great book for those who want to read a romance where the sex isn't the main course. Although, I must say, the sexual tension was certainly there! It's hot and will make your heart flutter. I'm looking forward to reading the next installment in this trilogy, Damian's assassin! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Wonderful

    loved the book and can't wait to read #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book!!! I can't wait to read the other books of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Amazing!!!!!!!!:)

    This was great even tho i was really young it was amusing othereise wowzers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 316 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16