Customer Reviews for

Damita Jo

Average Rating 5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Damita Jo a fresh new Janet!

    Put all the breast talk aside.... Miss Janet has a new album out! Damita Jo is an excellent album. The best pop/R&B album to come out in a long time. From classic Janet dance tracks to ballads, this album is sure to please fans new and old. Don't let the first single "Just a Little While" fool you. Damita Jo is straight R&B with a pop tinge. Catchy lyrics and beats galore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Buy It

    This CD rocks. I like all of the tracks. I can listen to it all the way through without getting annoyed. A few of the songs have house beats that make you want to dance. My favorites are Damita Jo (although I wish it were longer), SloLove, R&B Junkie and I Want You. As far as Janet CD's go, this is not as good as Rhythm Nation, All for You or Janet... but it's still that high Janet quality. It's been nearly 20 years, but our girl still has it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Janet’s Looking for Love and has found it—you will too with this album

    Since February 1st, Janet Jackson's name has rarely appeared in the media without the two little words “super” and “bowl” weaved somewhere into the conversation. However, her new release, "Damita Jo", demands top billing here any commentary on sporting events will be left until later. The first interlude, "Looking for Love", set's the stage for the album. An introspective piece set against a placid dreamy backdrop Janet speaks to us: “We're vulnerable / We're sensitive / And we're complicated people, too / So many people, rolled into one / We contain so much / So much creativity / So much energy / So many contradictions / So much confusion / So much clarity / So many moments of faith and fear / So many different characters live within us / All looking for love.” With the album "All For You," Janet was looking for love; with "Damita Jo," she's found it. The title track, "Damita Jo", is a funky urban number which wastes no time letting you know Janet is back. Immediately making you yearn to get up and start driving to the nearest dance club, it's about the paradox of being in the limelight and people thinking they know you. During your travels, you'll discover "There's another side that I don't hide/But might never show/If you wanna get close/Baby you can't/'Til you get to know/Damita Jo". When you hear "Sexhibition," you know you've arrived at the club and it's time to hit the dance floor--this is the perfect song to take you there. Instead of taking us on an Escapade (circa Rhythm Nation), Janet takes us on a sexcapade. This track works of wonderful plays on words: sexploration, sexplosion, sexplanation, and, of course sexhibition. The listeners of the edited version get a tailored version of this track, minus all the sex wordplays. At two and a half minutes, the track is cut abruptly by Janet's statement, "Relax, it's just sex." This track is too short, and hopefully will be followed up with extended remixes and a hot dance video in the future. "Strawberry Bounce" chimes in next to keep you on the dance floor. Janet gives up the control she sought in the 80s and this time let’s herself lose control. Definitely a dance number, but when you listen closely, the lyrics are for dancing under the sheets. An infectious up-tempo number with a snappy rhythm combines pop with an urban flair to keep the body moving on the dance floor. You get lost in this groove with its clapping delirium and don't even pay much attention to the lyrics at first except for Janet's "la la la la" chorus and Jay-Z's sample. Once you've listened to the song a few times, you'll understand that this is one of the tracks that earns the album its explicit advisory label. This album has you dancing so hard that it's time to slow things down with the easy groove, "My Baby." Here, one of Janet's new influences is revealed--Kanye West. Kanye helped produce "Strawberry Bounce", but here he is front and center. As if we don't know it already, Kayne announces that Janet's back! Janet's vocal styling are interwoven with Kanye's rapping to reveal her anxiousness about entering a new relationship. "These butterflies, they never lie/Been through so much pain before and baby/I had to try/'Cause you're not like most guys/And I ain't ashamed to say that you're my baby". Her multi-layered vocals morph into a unique new instrument which demonstrates why producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis have been with her since she burst onto the scene with "Control." Next, we're off to "The Islands" where Janet describes her love for them. In "Spending Time With You", it's clear that we have left the dance floor behind us and have reached those islands, the sanctuary where she can leave the world behind to spend all her time with her baby. This soulful track is reminiscen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Damita Jo is headed for the top

    Janet's latest cd, DAMITA JO, is a refreshing blend of sensuous lyrics and infectious melodies. She has stepped away from the Janet we have become accustomed to over the years. Ms. Jackson is more confident, intriguing and passionate in this album. This is definately not an album for the sexually challenged or sensually meek!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Smooth, Sensual, Soulful - Simply Damita Jo

    If you're already a huge fan of Janet, Damita Jo reveals another wave of thoughts, feelings and emotions from a familiar friend. ‘Familiar’ being the overall tone of the newest addition to Janet's eclectic musical resume. Once again with "Damita Jo", intimate aspects of Janet's views on herself and her relationships are revealed to the public. A risky move in some respects since those not familiar to her past work may not immediately recognize 'Damita Jo's' relevance to the listening public. Die hard followers who understand and are sympathetic to Janet's various personal and professional transformations will readily appreciate the context of this pleasing blend of R&B, funk and soul. Love, sex, passion, self-affirmation, music, dance are addressed in Janet's most recent message, all under the skilful guidance of old friends Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, as well as new ones Kanye West and Babyface. Damita Jo...a deeper, more intimate feel for those vulnerable to Janet's velvet voice. For those not appreciating these grooves right away, give yourselves time and space. Open yourself up as Janet has. You too will be helplessly caught up in the sensual wave!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Your Average "Jo"

    Janet in this album wants to express that we have different characters within us at different times. She exposes her characters of "Janet", "Damito Jo", and the sexy freak "Strawberry". She does this with marvelous results. She evokes every emotion on the level of love. From the happiness of being in love with the Kanye West produced track "My Baby" and " I Want You", flying us to the carribean with "Spending Time With You" and "Island Life"; to the erotic feeling of "Warmth" and "Moist". Don't let the titles worry you, Janet has the knack of making something that some may say is rated X sounds so beautiful that you'll be singing along. Her character "Strawberry" rocks on "Sexhibition" and teases on "Strawberry Bounce". She also goes into all out party mode and turns up the level 10X in the smoker "All Nite (Don't Stop)" that is dying for a 12 minute remix. Janet has enlisted her regular confidants Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis and various cutting edge producers to keep her sound fresh and new. The album becomes extremely infectious spin after spin. This is a beautiful arsenal addition to her long list of past hits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not bad.

    When I first put this CD into my car radio, I was greatly disappointed. The CD is so different from her others. I guess I just wasn't ready for her evolving. BUT, I must say, the more I listen to it, the more I like it. It is a very good CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You can't keep a Jackson down

    Janet's new album, Damita Jo was definitely worth the wait. Damita Jo is very energetic and fun to listen to. I'm falling in love just listening to Damita Jo. You can 'truly' tell Janet has taken us to another level, yet she is still grounded in her roots. 'R & B Junkie' is my personal favorite. You too will become a junkie, addict, fiend, etc. . . once you take a listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's up there.......

    This is obviously not Janet's best albulm. However, this music is orginal and has a good beat. I would say that there are 3 songs on the CD that could be major Hits. She just has to market them right. Overall, it's a solid albulm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great surprise. Don't Miss it

    Janet sounds fresher, more confident and the album is a mixture of sounds, voices, and moods that can't be missed. The production is rather fine, the songs are catchy and the ballads are really hot. It deserves and A. Janet proves why other young artists try to imitate her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't listen to the BAD reviews....

    this album is NOT as horrible as the critics are saying. Rollingstone gave it a horrible review and i think that they just misunderstood the album. sure it's not a revolutionary new Janet cd, that's almost impossible to do, but it is a GREAT Janet album. i think the critics are really just being too harsh on her. now that the lights are all on her she's getting some flak. The cd is NOT all slow songs, but a majority of them are. there are definitely some GREAT potential hit singles on that record and she could make some awesome dance videos for some of them. "Sexhibition" is one of those really really good songs, check it out, and go buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cool CD

    This is not your average Janet CD, and if you open your ears and allow your self too hear more than just sex you will love Island Life,R&B JUNKIE, Thinking bout my EX, and many of the great songs on this album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorites

    This album is a very wonderful album. It's put together so the flow is right. It's an album about LOVE, making love, being in love, and all the stuff that goes with it. While some may find it TOO provacative I think it's perfect. When a women is in love she wants to tell everyone about it. There are sexy ballads and there are some wonderful dance/hip-hop tracks. All Nite (Don't Stop) is amazing. Damita Jo, Strawberry Bounce, My baby (with Kayne West), and R&B Junkie are just SOME of my favorite tracks on the album. It's got a nice upbeat mellow flow with some get up and dance tracks. I truly enjoyed this album. I think you will too, so BUY IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!

    Aside from being a Janet fan, her latest lp Damita Jo is hot! It is uplifting, has a great new sound that a fan like myself hasn't heard of before from Miss Janet. This cd is very relaxing, melodic to the ears and very sexy! Damita Jo is still pushing that sexual envelope and I can only say kudos to you Damita jo ;) Pleased fan!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Back And Better Then Ever!

    This album has everything a great album should. Catchy lyrics, great hooks, and excellent rhythms. Janet explores sex once again more then anything on this album. 'Sexhibition' is by far one of the standout tracks on this album. It feels remenicent of 'If' from 1993's 'janet.' album. Great chorus. Also, the first two singles, 'Just A Little While' and 'I Want You' are both excellent tracks. I only gave it four stars out of five, because there just needs to be more fast paced up tempo songs on this album. The slow ballads are good for what they are, but Janet truly shines when she is doing what she does best, rocking out with an excellent pop song. 'Just A Little While' is a very good song. Produced superiorly and sang a bit to high, but excellent overall. Buy this album, you will not be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Walking The Road With Damita Jo

    I clicked 4 stars because Janet is and always will be my girl, hence I am checking damito Jo in as a recommended buy/listen. However, and it's a big BUT.......tho nothing will change about my admiration for the woman I share a birthsign with and at least some things in common, this time around Janet took away from me the justification for my arguments all these yeras in her defense, as regards the lack of vocal clarity & definition in her voice. Up to "Janet" I was still hearing very clearly what was up with each song, and then, those songs had a lot more edge. "All For You", I was sort of getting what people were saying, but could still sufficiently defend her because lyrics were still decipherable if not clean. The 'lovestruck' groove that she's in now is taking over her music too much. I like walking with her thru her life chapters and smiling at the undertones of certain things about it, but this time she's having an affair with herself - and maybe Dupri. Consensus on my end is that we think it's time to get back even a little bit to some of the calibre of "rhythm nation", "new agenda" & "if" to name a few. Get some Jimmy & Terry back into the mix. This latter day r&b/hip hop styling makes Janet sound too watered down. She's way more than that in a lot of ways. Recognize that to the people who are die-hard fans & the ones who will take more a small dose of Janet any day, Kanye West and company are on a lower mantle. Tracks 20, 22 & 12, line up ahead of the rest. Having said all that, this album ranks better (overall) than "All For You" for public appeal P.S. Did anything of "Just A Little While" come from an old Prince hit? Just asking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome

    good stuff of this age!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, Solid Album

    "Damita Jo" is a good Janet Jackson album - all pure catchy beats and hooks. It also moves along smoother than her last album, "All For You". But, whereas "All For You" had a couple of really good standout hits amongst a pile of misses, "Damita Jo" has just the opposite: Nearly all of the songs on this album are good, but there are not may standout hits; the songs rank pretty equally in the B+ qualiity range. As with all of Ms. Jackson's albums since "janet", the over-abundance of interludes are pointless. But what's really nice about this album is that is is unapologetic about its frank sexuality. (Best lyric on the album: "Don't worry, it's just sex".) "Damita Jo" is simply a good, solid album - not Janet's absolute best, but far from her worst. She seems to have skipped back a few years to whe she wasn't as pissed as she was on "All For You" or as emotional as she was on "Velvet Rope", and settled on when she was just fun as she was on "Janet".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a good album

    I really think this is a good album. If you’re expecting all the songs to be total dance tunes, then you will be a little disappointed. The album has a very good mixture. I've read critiques that have implied that the album is full of lurid sexual lyrics but I totally disagree. If you've heard and liked “The Velvet Rope” and “All For You”, then you should not be shocked. I highly recommend this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Grab your copy of DAMITA JO now!!!!!

    Wow! Like with all her albums, DAMITA JO is unique and different. Listening to the album for the first time, "Just a Little While" and "I Want You" definitely were the tracks that jumped out at me as being the hits on the album. It's a different sound thats refreshing to hear. I also think "Slo Love" should be a favorite track to hit the charts,too. It has that disco/dance feel similar but different to "Come and Get Up" from the ALL FOR YOU album. After numerous times of listening to DAMITA JO on my cd player, the other tracks are growing on me. I love "My Baby" with Kanye West and "Island Life" - very laid back, cool tracks...and "R&B Junkie" has the '80's sound that I miss..."Thinking 'Bout My Ex" is a truthful and sincere song people can relate to...How would I describe DAMITA JO? Cool, sensual, feel-good, sincere and honest....'til the next album....DAMITA JO has my vote!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2