Customer Reviews for

The Damnation Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    ZZZZ

    Sitting on my bookshelf, I have dog-eared copies of "The Hellbound heart," and "The Books of Blood" which includes one my favorite short stories: "The Forbidden," aka CANDYMAN; so when I read Neil Gaiman's review on Joe Hill's stunning novel "Heart Shaped Box, " he name-dropped this..."the best debut horror novel since Clive Barker's 'The Damnation Game.'"
    So I hurried to B&N and purchased TDG. In short, that was the last time I took a Neil Gaiman recommendation seriously. This book didn't move me, and dragged its literary feet in the muck of boredom. What a disappointment.
    If you wanna know who the true heir to Stephen King is...it's Joe Hill, his son.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    i love a read that makes you take the book to the trash bin outs

    i love a read that makes you take the book to the trash bin outside when
    finished and put it in with a very heave concrete block on the lid and
    run inside and try to forget it! This is it!. One more of his is
    Weaveworld!!!!! Can not find books like that any where any more!. Love
    your work!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    it's a good book.

    it's a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eh...

    It was an okay book. I forced my self to finish The Damnation Game book. I love Clive Barkers other books but this one was a miss for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Awesome

    I hope they do make a movie out of this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Execellent Book

    I'm usually a Stephen King fan, but I decided to give this one a try, I'm glad I did! This book had me on the edge of my seat, it was scary and suspensful. I would definately read more of Clive's work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    What? This is what no one could explain?

    I read all these reviews about this book after i heard that Barker planned on making a movie out of it. He was talking about how he wanted to make some serious scary movie like The Exorcist, and not just some tongue-in-cheeck teen slasher. I read all these reviews people wrote about how there's no way they can describe what this book is about, but it's simple. Guy named Jo Whitehead, right? He plays a card game with the mysterious and notorious Card Player named Mammoulian back in Russia right after WWII. But the thing is, no one has EVER beat The Card Player. Whitehead ends up beating him. years later, there is a guy named Marty who just got out of prison and is doing work for whitehead. Whitehead is now rich in England. As Marty stays with WHitehead for a few months, he witnesses mysterious and frightening things around the house. He soon comes to discover that this is Whiteheads ancient foe coming back to reclaim his game. I gave this book four stars because, first off, it wasn't scary, it was just suspensful and over-the-top with it's macabre grossness. There's nothing wrong with a little gore, but this is just filthy. Without saying too much, there's one scene in particular that has to do with a dead body, and is rather offensive and disturbing rather than scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    A NIGHTMARE MARATHON

    THIS BOOK DEFENITELY IS NIGHTMARE MARATHON. MADE ME WANNA HIDE THE BOOK AND NEVER READ IT. EVERY WORD KEEPS ME AWAKE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    When you get more then you bargained for...

    Of course the prisoner would want to be released from his sentence, but did he know what the deal truely entailed? Slowly over time, a darker world came to greet him, and this place now seemed like a different kind of prison...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    A Stunning First Novel

    I've been a Clive Barker fan for years, and one of the first books I read of his was The Damnation Game. At the time, I didn't get all that I could out of the reading. When I reread it recently, the depth of the book really hit me. Clive Barker has reshaped the horror genre and proven that it does not just have to be gore and shock value. Even at the times this book approaches this the most, it is apparent that it is much more. Truly a classic that I would place among the likes of Faust and The Tempest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    BARKER MAKES WRITERS LIKE KOONTZ AND KING LOOK LIKE SATURDAY MORNING CARTOONS

    THE DAMNATION GAME is truly a well written book . MR. BARKER uses his literary skills to surpass ALL other writers' by his use of thorough and interesting characters , a more than complete and interestingly horror-filled storyline , and an overly pleasing end. ALL OF CLIVE BARKER'S BOOKS COMPILE THE BIBLE TO WHICH I BOW DOWN TO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2