Customer Reviews for

Damned

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

You Had Me at "Palahniuk Writes a Book About Hell"

I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without t...
I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without the difficulty of, let's say, his book "Rant" (one of my favorites). A must read if you are a fan of any of his works, but also a great place to start for those who have never read anything of his.

posted by LostAnvil on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better dea

Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better death? Honestly, I couldn't finish the book. I was so irritated by the constant "yeah, I'm 13 but I know what ___ means" dialog. It got old really quick. Also, I felt that it was a huge rip off of...
Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better death? Honestly, I couldn't finish the book. I was so irritated by the constant "yeah, I'm 13 but I know what ___ means" dialog. It got old really quick. Also, I felt that it was a huge rip off of the Sandman Slim series. I'd return this one if I bought the physcial book, unfortunately I bought the Nook one.

posted by 4241959 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    You Had Me at "Palahniuk Writes a Book About Hell"

    I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without the difficulty of, let's say, his book "Rant" (one of my favorites). A must read if you are a fan of any of his works, but also a great place to start for those who have never read anything of his.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Very Entertaining

    Started kinda slow.....but then! The climax! Very good book! Entertaining! Funny! Well written.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better dea

    Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better death? Honestly, I couldn't finish the book. I was so irritated by the constant "yeah, I'm 13 but I know what ___ means" dialog. It got old really quick. Also, I felt that it was a huge rip off of the Sandman Slim series. I'd return this one if I bought the physcial book, unfortunately I bought the Nook one.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    This was my first Palahnuik book and now I'm hooked. He manages

    This was my first Palahnuik book and now I'm hooked. He manages to create a believable 13 year old
    character albeit a 13 year old from the 90's. Do teenagers still know what the breakfast club even is? and
    to those who are critical of Madison's death I'll just say this. I'm pretty sure you cant die from weed
    overdose and maybe you should have finished the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Interesting

    This is the newest book of Palanhiuk's series I've read most recently and really enjoyed it compared to Pgymy or Snuff. It was hard for me to put it down. Would recommend to those who dig Chuck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Floundered At The End

    This is my first Palahniuk book and I didn't walk away disappointed.

    This book has moments where I got a little irritated with the redundancy, though no sooner had I felt that way the redundancy finally ended. The Psezpolnica scene had me rolling. There really isn't a major plot going on here, but it does manage to keep you wanting to figure out what's going to happen next.

    I was pretty underwhelmed by the end of this novel, though. We get a big reveal, but then the book refuses to deal with that big reveal and we're left hanging there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Top 3 Palaniuk

    I am quite the fan of chuck. Close to Rant and Survivor this is one of my favorites out of his work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Getting better...again

    Like many others, I am a long-time Chuck fan. His last couple let me down, but Damned is something closer to his proper form. Mostly funny. Razor-sharp at points. I recommend this read to anyone looking for something a bit out of the mainstream.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A little too strange, hard to follow even. Sounded interesting b

    A little too strange, hard to follow even. Sounded interesting because I like si-fy type books but this one was not amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    To be upfront, I am not typically a fan of Chuck Palahniuk¿s wri

    To be upfront, I am not typically a fan of Chuck Palahniuk’s writing, but this one’s description caught my eye so I decided to give it a try.  I’m glad I did, because I generally loved it.

    The main character, 13-year-old Madison, evolves throughout the story from a rather clueless girl to one who gradually becomes more self-aware.  The writing style is meant to mimic how a girl her age may write, and for the most part it played out nicely.  However, after a while some of the repetition began to grate on my nerves like one of the demons in the book.  We got the point, Mr. Palahnuik. It really marred what was otherwise a pleasant read and is the sole reason I gave it three stars instead of four.

    The other characters were excellent.  All surprising and well-rounded, they did a great job of making the novel thought-provoking as opposed to one-dimensional. Archer and Goren were particular were favorites of mine.

    The list of ways to get you a one way ticket to eternal damnation had me laughing every time one came up.  I challenge anyone not to wonder if you are gambling with their soul the next time they commit one of the atrocities.

    As is so common in a Palahniuk novel that I don’t think it bears even a thought of a spoiler warning, it all comes down to the ultimate existential crisis.  This one is the best I have ever read, not only from the author, but from possibly any author. It definitely left me wanting more in spite of the previously mentioned repetition. Lucky for me, there is a sequel, “Doomed”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    The thought of Hell is a daunting concept, full of mystery and e

    The thought of Hell is a daunting concept, full of mystery and endless possibilities. Chuck Palahnuik presents his hell head on with dark humor and unfailing satire. His descriptions of Hell are nothing less than hysterical yet will most likely leave you feeling uneasy.  Unless you are unaffected by 'seas of steaming sperm' and giant titillated demons. Palahniuk creates a world where hell doesn't seem so awful as long as you avoid getting eaten by demons and die with the appropriate walking shoes on. Damned is ridiculous and outrageous and will leave you wanting to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A mixture of Dante's Inferno and Breakfast Club. Palahniuk does

    A mixture of Dante's Inferno and Breakfast Club. Palahniuk does a great job in detailing Hell that stays with you. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the fourth novel of Palahniuk's that I have read. This

    This was the fourth novel of Palahniuk's that I have read. This one was a bit of a departure from his other work. If you are a big fan of the gritty realism of Fight Club and Choke like me, you may feel like the supernatural subject mater of Damned is off putting. This still is a well written novel and has the dark humor this author is know for. Review by Curt Wiser, the author of suspense novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Typical Chuck

    An absolutely horrifying look into the scopes of hell. Like any book by Mr. P it is not for the weak of heart. An interesting read and although a fan I might not continue with the sequel. Not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The first eighty or so pages were really enjoyable in my opinion

    The first eighty or so pages were really enjoyable in my opinion. After that, though, I noticed that I started not to enjoy it as much. I'm pretty sure most of this novel is a big critique of certain parts of our society, but sometimes the sarcasm felt flat to me. It's a pet peeve of mine when women and young girls are called derogatory names but what can you do, it's the norm, right? I didn't enjoy it as much as his other novels that I've read so far. I'm actually surprised that there's a sequel. I might or might not check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Awesome

    I loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Holy wasted sperm batman!

    I really enjoyed this book, as I do most of Chuck's. Its true what other posts said that it could of been better, but overall a fast, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Typically incredible!

    A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    If you like Chuck Palahniuk, you will enjoy this book. It is not

    If you like Chuck Palahniuk, you will enjoy this book. It is not as good as some of his other novels, but it is still an entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hella Funny Damned is about 13 yr old Madison winding up in Hel

    Hella Funny

    Damned is about 13 yr old Madison winding up in Hell when she dies and as soon as she realizes this the dark, twisted humor starts from beginning to end. Leaving behind the hell that was her pre-adolescent, abnormal life for Hell, Madison and her friends embark on a journey to obtain an audience with Satan. Like I said, the humor is present from beginning to end. Whether its performing cunnilingus on she-demon, tele-marketing Hell as THE afterlife retirement, or beating the crap out of Hitler and other maniacs that had a cult following throughout history, you'll be laughing your a$$ off. Also Madison's back story is told through flashbacks that are equally funny like Madison's celebrity parents' inadvertent determination to mess up her life, Madison's incestuous feelings to her adopted brother, or her awkward social interactions at an all girl boarding school. The ending of this book has an amazing twist to it but I won't ruin it for you. If you can look beyond the Satanic and disgusting imagery, you'll actually find a very funny story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7