Customer Reviews for

Damned (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

You Had Me at "Palahniuk Writes a Book About Hell"

I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without t...
I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without the difficulty of, let's say, his book "Rant" (one of my favorites). A must read if you are a fan of any of his works, but also a great place to start for those who have never read anything of his.

posted by LostAnvil on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better dea

Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better death? Honestly, I couldn't finish the book. I was so irritated by the constant "yeah, I'm 13 but I know what ___ means" dialog. It got old really quick. Also, I felt that it was a huge rip off of...
Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better death? Honestly, I couldn't finish the book. I was so irritated by the constant "yeah, I'm 13 but I know what ___ means" dialog. It got old really quick. Also, I felt that it was a huge rip off of the Sandman Slim series. I'd return this one if I bought the physcial book, unfortunately I bought the Nook one.

posted by 4241959 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Oh, yes!

    Loved it! It has that "true" sound that Dante probably had in the 14th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmmm... Wow... K.... So... This is my first Palahniuk novel,

    Hmmmm... Wow...

    K....

    So... This is my first Palahniuk novel, and frankly I am scared to pick up anything else written by this author, though I have `Fight Club' on my "To-Read" list for April. And I hear from many (MANY) sources, that this guy is GENIUS and `Fight Club' is ridiculously good. I don't doubt all these people... but I still have my fingers crossed.

    Madison Spencer. A 13 year old girl, daughter of two eccentric famous parents, dies, and ends up in the most strange, weird, ridiculous version of hell I have ever read.

    A hell containing wonderful images such as: towering hills of clipped fingernails, dead skin and dandruff, a lake of wasted sperm, a steaming swamp of (partial??? - I am pretty sure I read that!) abortions and grounds strewed with odd array assortment of candy bars. Not to mention, where the dead have such jobs as making annoying telemarketing calls during dinner time to the unsuspecting living (I knew it!!!). Where said 13 year old uses the severed and still very much alive head of one of her dead buddies to sexually stimulate a towering demon as it devours said head's still flailing body?

    Well, I will say this. Though Madison Spencer, 13 years old, who `might be dead but isn't stupid!' (or ignorant, or blah blah blah) is kinda annoying, she certainly is interesting.

    And though I think that this version of hell feels like it was conjured through enjoyment of a certain drug that Madison thinks actually killed her, it was most certainly amusing, and darkly comedic.

    And though I honestly cannot rate this novel above the "It's Ok' rating (since I neither hated it, nor was blown away by it or even really liked it), I couldn't close this book and stop reading it.
    It was so completely absurd, that I just had to keep reading this to see how much more absurd it could actually get. This novel was a metaphorical pug. So ugly... it's actually kinda cute! (Before I get attacked by pug lovers everywhere, let's be clear. I like pugs. How can you NOT like pugs.)

    But maybe this is the Palahniuk genius I keep hearing and reading about. Write something so distorted, so perplexing and ridiculous, that no one that picks this novel up can put it back down until it is finished. That's PRETTY GENIUS. But it still only get 3 stars out of me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I'm a fan of Chuck's early work. Fight Club, Survivor etc. Latel

    I'm a fan of Chuck's early work. Fight Club, Survivor etc. Lately though, it just seems like all of his stories have a “gimmick” and the books become more about the “Gimmick” or one idea rather then about story. I didn't feel like hell was this grand place because he kept talking about the same places. The characters were okay, I don't know, sometimes I feel like his latest books are like fast food, they just don't stick with me long. And I want a story I can look back on and enjoy. Don't even get me started on Pygmy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Very interesting

    The whole time reading the book I felt like being lectured about the decaying of our current lives. Until toward the end when the story line goes deeper and more meaningful, the ending left me satisfied finishing a tragedy. The vision of hell brought forth brought visions I hope to forget, yet show great depth in imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    don't even read this book

    it sucks, I hate to say it but the guy lost it. it could have been great, funny, interesting, and thought provoking. but it's not. it sucks. its one of those books you start to read and say ok it's gonna get better but it does not. I made it to page 100 / I wonder if we need to start a contest to see how far people can get before tossing this book. I mean come on nothing makes any sense in this book. and the worst part is it doesn't make sense if it wasn't supposed to! stay far away from this one let the guy make some more cash off fight club. I lost good money off this one.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Funny

    I like it. Thought it was pretty funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Damned

    As usual, a strange tale. an intriguing story that could have had a better, not so blunted, ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Fun, quick read

    Not my favorite of Palahniuk's. Very funny and enjoyable but I found myself wanting more out of the story line and characters. It ended quickly which made the novel feel mostly superficial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    After the unreadable Pygmy, a great book

    Best Palahniuk since Rant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Damned

    Left me wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    One of his best!

    I was really dissapointed in chuck's last two books, i've read all of his works. I mean Tell All was interesting, just very predictible. But chucks finally got his knack back. I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great read!

    Classic Palahniuk-funny, witty, and like no other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Hell of a fun book!

    Classic Chuck. Hidden social commentary and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Excellent

    Chuck offerd his own divine comedy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    So good.

    Really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good... very good.

    Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    A+++

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7