Customer Reviews for

Damned

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

You Had Me at "Palahniuk Writes a Book About Hell"

I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without t...
I was seriously looking forward to reading this novel and it did not disappoint one bit. Palahniuk's dense sentences always grab me and I love his structure and his style, always have and likely always will. It gives a great glimpse of the world of Palahniuk without the difficulty of, let's say, his book "Rant" (one of my favorites). A must read if you are a fan of any of his works, but also a great place to start for those who have never read anything of his.

posted by LostAnvil on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better dea

Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better death? Honestly, I couldn't finish the book. I was so irritated by the constant "yeah, I'm 13 but I know what ___ means" dialog. It got old really quick. Also, I felt that it was a huge rip off of...
Overdose of weed? Really? He couldn't come up with a better death? Honestly, I couldn't finish the book. I was so irritated by the constant "yeah, I'm 13 but I know what ___ means" dialog. It got old really quick. Also, I felt that it was a huge rip off of the Sandman Slim series. I'd return this one if I bought the physcial book, unfortunately I bought the Nook one.

posted by 4241959 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Floundered At The End

    This is my first Palahniuk book and I didn't walk away disappointed.

    This book has moments where I got a little irritated with the redundancy, though no sooner had I felt that way the redundancy finally ended. The Psezpolnica scene had me rolling. There really isn't a major plot going on here, but it does manage to keep you wanting to figure out what's going to happen next.

    I was pretty underwhelmed by the end of this novel, though. We get a big reveal, but then the book refuses to deal with that big reveal and we're left hanging there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Getting better...again

    Like many others, I am a long-time Chuck fan. His last couple let me down, but Damned is something closer to his proper form. Mostly funny. Razor-sharp at points. I recommend this read to anyone looking for something a bit out of the mainstream.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    To be upfront, I am not typically a fan of Chuck Palahniuk¿s wri

    To be upfront, I am not typically a fan of Chuck Palahniuk’s writing, but this one’s description caught my eye so I decided to give it a try.  I’m glad I did, because I generally loved it.

    The main character, 13-year-old Madison, evolves throughout the story from a rather clueless girl to one who gradually becomes more self-aware.  The writing style is meant to mimic how a girl her age may write, and for the most part it played out nicely.  However, after a while some of the repetition began to grate on my nerves like one of the demons in the book.  We got the point, Mr. Palahnuik. It really marred what was otherwise a pleasant read and is the sole reason I gave it three stars instead of four.

    The other characters were excellent.  All surprising and well-rounded, they did a great job of making the novel thought-provoking as opposed to one-dimensional. Archer and Goren were particular were favorites of mine.

    The list of ways to get you a one way ticket to eternal damnation had me laughing every time one came up.  I challenge anyone not to wonder if you are gambling with their soul the next time they commit one of the atrocities.

    As is so common in a Palahniuk novel that I don’t think it bears even a thought of a spoiler warning, it all comes down to the ultimate existential crisis.  This one is the best I have ever read, not only from the author, but from possibly any author. It definitely left me wanting more in spite of the previously mentioned repetition. Lucky for me, there is a sequel, “Doomed”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was the fourth novel of Palahniuk's that I have read. This

    This was the fourth novel of Palahniuk's that I have read. This one was a bit of a departure from his other work. If you are a big fan of the gritty realism of Fight Club and Choke like me, you may feel like the supernatural subject mater of Damned is off putting. This still is a well written novel and has the dark humor this author is know for. Review by Curt Wiser, the author of suspense novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Typical Chuck

    An absolutely horrifying look into the scopes of hell. Like any book by Mr. P it is not for the weak of heart. An interesting read and although a fan I might not continue with the sequel. Not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The first eighty or so pages were really enjoyable in my opinion

    The first eighty or so pages were really enjoyable in my opinion. After that, though, I noticed that I started not to enjoy it as much. I'm pretty sure most of this novel is a big critique of certain parts of our society, but sometimes the sarcasm felt flat to me. It's a pet peeve of mine when women and young girls are called derogatory names but what can you do, it's the norm, right? I didn't enjoy it as much as his other novels that I've read so far. I'm actually surprised that there's a sequel. I might or might not check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmmm... Wow... K.... So... This is my first Palahniuk novel,

    Hmmmm... Wow...

    K....

    So... This is my first Palahniuk novel, and frankly I am scared to pick up anything else written by this author, though I have `Fight Club' on my "To-Read" list for April. And I hear from many (MANY) sources, that this guy is GENIUS and `Fight Club' is ridiculously good. I don't doubt all these people... but I still have my fingers crossed.

    Madison Spencer. A 13 year old girl, daughter of two eccentric famous parents, dies, and ends up in the most strange, weird, ridiculous version of hell I have ever read.

    A hell containing wonderful images such as: towering hills of clipped fingernails, dead skin and dandruff, a lake of wasted sperm, a steaming swamp of (partial??? - I am pretty sure I read that!) abortions and grounds strewed with odd array assortment of candy bars. Not to mention, where the dead have such jobs as making annoying telemarketing calls during dinner time to the unsuspecting living (I knew it!!!). Where said 13 year old uses the severed and still very much alive head of one of her dead buddies to sexually stimulate a towering demon as it devours said head's still flailing body?

    Well, I will say this. Though Madison Spencer, 13 years old, who `might be dead but isn't stupid!' (or ignorant, or blah blah blah) is kinda annoying, she certainly is interesting.

    And though I think that this version of hell feels like it was conjured through enjoyment of a certain drug that Madison thinks actually killed her, it was most certainly amusing, and darkly comedic.

    And though I honestly cannot rate this novel above the "It's Ok' rating (since I neither hated it, nor was blown away by it or even really liked it), I couldn't close this book and stop reading it.
    It was so completely absurd, that I just had to keep reading this to see how much more absurd it could actually get. This novel was a metaphorical pug. So ugly... it's actually kinda cute! (Before I get attacked by pug lovers everywhere, let's be clear. I like pugs. How can you NOT like pugs.)

    But maybe this is the Palahniuk genius I keep hearing and reading about. Write something so distorted, so perplexing and ridiculous, that no one that picks this novel up can put it back down until it is finished. That's PRETTY GENIUS. But it still only get 3 stars out of me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Very interesting

    The whole time reading the book I felt like being lectured about the decaying of our current lives. Until toward the end when the story line goes deeper and more meaningful, the ending left me satisfied finishing a tragedy. The vision of hell brought forth brought visions I hope to forget, yet show great depth in imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Funny

    I like it. Thought it was pretty funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Fun, quick read

    Not my favorite of Palahniuk's. Very funny and enjoyable but I found myself wanting more out of the story line and characters. It ended quickly which made the novel feel mostly superficial.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2