Customer Reviews for

The Damned (Vampire Huntress Legend Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved reading this book. As well as the whole series.

    For me these books took on a new meaning for me. It showed that you can write about a subject such as Vampires and still show a great love of God. There was never any disrespect shown and was written in a very tasteful way. For people who might be faltering in there beliefs it can renew their hopes and dreams. It also hits close to home with all of the things that are happening in the world right now. It is definitely a book (or series) that will make you situp and take notice.

    I loved every one of the books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    It just keeps getting better!

    It just keeps getting better. In this, the latest installment in the VHS, D and Carlos are not only having to face their fears about their relationship, but face the consequences of their actions in previous books. Carlos, still confused about his 'new' role as the male neteru is feeling insecure as the woman he has sacrificed himself for several times, remains distant and hesitant about their relationship. The Damned, a contagion/virus released by Lilith, the consort of the devil, is reeking havoc on the team and the larger world. The illness is causing death and destruction and could prove to be the end of humankind. While the team searches to stop the spread of the illness, they are battling internally because they too have been affected. Mrs. Banks leaves you spellbound as she shows the dilemma that the team has between their hearts and their duty. We see the teams struggle to live with decisions that they have made in the past, that appear to affect their futures. New characters are introduced and new plots are woven through this delightful story. Although not as fast paced as 'The Bitten' (I would have given that one 10 stars if possible), it gives us information that will lead to a show-down of epic proportions.There are of course unresolved issues between the characters Yonnie/Tara/Rider Carlos/D/Juanita/Jose Kamal/Shabazz & Marlene and JL/Chris/Dan. So we have a lot to look forward to as we see the issues resolved, new powers revealed and a show-down between the group and the unnamed one that I am sure will leave readers breathless. Finally, I will say that the series continues to leave you wanting more, like a drug or a good cup of coffee. Hey, I have already pre-ordered the Forsaken, due out this summer. And although I know the series will eventually end, Mrs. Banks has given us a series that will live in our hearts forever! Continue reading them, they will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Family members meet beloved dead mothers who should have been in heaven, but instead were liberated from hell to bring terror to humanity one touch is all it takes to change a sane person into a raving lunatic or if they are fortunate death. All hell is breaking loose complements of Lilith, the Unamed One¿s consort. She has freed the minions from the layers of hell as a preliminary skirmish in the inevitable war..................................... Even the Neteru-Guardian team has felt the impact with members lost due to the touch of a living dead loved one. Lovers Damali and Carlos interrupt their interlude to stop Lilith and to obtain the key reference The Book of the Damned before all is lost. However to prevent Lilith from furthering her diabolical scheme they must cut off her head a task that is not just daunting, it is impossible. Failure meets pandemic infection of humans with the hell spawned madness....................... The sixth Vampire Huntress Legend tale is an action-packed thriller that grips the audience from the start when the daughter asks her mom why she is not in heaven with a response that only THE DAMNED could provide and never slows down until the final confrontation at the gates of hell. The mother-daughter relationship sets the tone of the tale. Carlos is heroic as he knows what must be done but though expecting to fail courageously sets out to do the job. Surprisingly the usually confident Damali spends a lot time doubting her relationship with her lover and the mission. However, Lilith is the fascinating one in a macabre sense as she liberates the minion to attack living loved ones. This is one series readers can bank on as being powerful and fun.............. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    I am such a huge fan of L.A. Banks and all of her books, her wri

    I am such a huge fan of L.A. Banks and all of her books, her writing is amazing. She creates such an amazingly dark paranormal world. ‘The Damned’ is the sixth book in the Vampire Huntress Legend novels and I am hooked. Carlos and Damali are such fierce characters that have been to hell and back, literally, in these books and yet somehow in the sixth installment the story is still fresh and entertaining.
    I just think the details and descriptions in this book were phenomenal, I can clearly see everything in my head that she writes. This book really threw all her characters for a loop and I really think that’s a huge part of what keeps it so interesting. This is a series that you want to take the time out to read.
    It’s a great book and she is definitely one of my favorite authors and has been for a long time. She never disappoints!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    must read to continue

    this one was a bit drawn out, wasnt as packed with emotion and action as the last one, but i kept turning the pages to get to #7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    LOST

    THE STORY SEEM TO GET LOST WITHIN EACH DESCRIPTION...I JUST READ THE SAMPLE AND DISLIKED IT...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites in the series.

    To comment on the one book is difficult. By itself, the book is thrilling, funny, touching, and spiritual. It touches on all of the emotions while making you comtemplate the importance of faith without feeling like it's being forced down your throat.<BR/><BR/>Though I love this book, I highly recommend reading the whole series to truly see the development of the characters through the challenges they face alone and together. <BR/><BR/>If you are a believer, whatever your faith, and enjoy paranormal books; you will love this series as well as the new line L. A. Banks is currently writing.<BR/><BR/>Enjoy and God Bless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    LA Banks is The Best Paranormal Romance Writer Ever!

    LA Banks is outstanding in putting together this sensuous, thought-provoking and romantic series. Every book is so full of action, intrigue and humor that I can't put them down until I finish them and read them again just to relive the drama and emotions. Damali and Carlos are IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Vampire Addict

    Ever since I picked up Minion which was recommended by a friend L.A. Banks is all I can read The Dammed left me waiting for The Forsaken and I can't seem to wait anymore I LOVE LOVE LOVE all her books I'm offically a Vampire Huntress Addict

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    This book is Beyond the best!

    I have been a fan of L.A. Banks vampire series for over a year now, and the Damned has sent me over the edge because it is just that GREAT. Mrs. Banks books make you sit back and think about the world that we are living in. Whats possible and what is really going on. The Damned makes you forget what you have to do at home or at work because you can't put it down! She is very detailed but not so much so that it bores you to death, it intrigues you more and makes you want more. She is trully blessed with the gift to write stories that keep you coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    July is too far away

    The Damned effortlessly picks up where The Forbidden left off chronicling the lives of the Neterus and the Guardians fight for good. Evil has stepped up the battle and the Light has some work to do. The drama, action, suspense, and love is all there. Tempers and libidos flare throughout the novel causing the reader to wonder what's going to happen next. The Damned kept my attention and I feel bereft while waiting for The Forsaken to be released in July.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    L. A. Banks Did It Again!

    This book had me rushing home from work and school just so I could read it! Nothing else mattered to me, that's how intriguing this book is! From beginning to end, this book has action, knowledge (because Banks intertwines history with fantasy), romance, plot twists, it's thought-provoking etc... It had me laughing, crying, shouting (which had folks looking at me like I had lost my mind, LOL! But do you think I cared? Nope!) This book, this entire series, is soooo worthy of its large fanbase, which continues to grow! I implore everyone who enjoys reading, no matter the genre, to pick up this book and all the others in VHL series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    its amazing... i have read the series from the start. it just gets better and better. you have to read it. i cant wait for the next one. The Forsaken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Can't Wait

    Banks series is one of the most thrilling that I have ever read. I stay up all night reading every time her books are published. Can't wait for the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    The Damned Best Vampire Series Ever

    I'm so hooked on LA Banks Vampire Huntress Legend Series it's insane!! The Damned was out of this world fantastic. LA Banks creates some great visuals within this book! And the characters I love them!! Damali, Carlos, Jose, Inez, Marlene, Big Mike, Rider, JL, Dan, Shabazz all of them are dynamic and interesting. I hope this series never ends. The Damned was action packed and full of things that made me think long and hard about today's society. LA Banks has done it again. This woman is talented and she knows how to write breath taking and awe inspiring books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2006

    AWSOME

    This is my second favorite book out of the series. My girl Ms. Banks did her thing on this one. It has so many twists and turns and things coming at you that you won't believe. I recomned this book to anyone who loves vampires, drama, and suspense. Its all three rolled into one. I never could get into the whole dark elements of vamps and other creatures like that. Then I read 'The Minion' it got me hooked. Now I can't wait for the other books to come out. This is a MUST READ BOOK. You should also read the between the books on her website they all tie in with the books. vampirehuntress

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    Synapses Of The Neterus

    LA Banks has done it again bringing the sixth edition of the Vampire Huntress Series with the Guardian team on the move a lot of things are going on with Hell untamed and Damali and Carlos the two team Neterus on a hunt for Lilith along with the Guardian team being completely in sync with them how far will Carlos and Damali go before the pressure gets to them. With a an infection from hell traveling through the world and also infecting key members of the Guardian team along with the Covenant and the only way to fix the whole problem is by taking Lilith head but first they must go on a mission and in this mission they must use their male Neteru as bait. Carlos is having problems with the fact that Damali and him have somehow grown apart questions are left unanswered between them and for some reason she seems to be aloof around him. Damali isn¿t sure what¿s going on with her man but she does know that something is truly wrong with him he isn¿t glowing sliver like he is suppose to and his words are completely different then what she is use to. The team is feeling all of the chaos between the two and when things get hot the team gets heat but as always the Light has a game plan and hopefully the Guardian team will come out on top but of course Darkness always has something up its sleeve and with it coming from the Seventh Level this time the question is how far will the Unnamed go to get what he wants. With the Damned moving around the world affecting all those around them will the Neteru Guardian team be able to bring things to a close and continue on with life and will Carlos and Damali return to their regular self or will something be sacrifice to save the world again. Reviewed by Missy Brown for Platinum Reviewers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4