Customer Reviews for

The Damsel in This Dress

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Loved it

    This is one of the most entertaining books I've read in a long time. Read this one first, then read "Sighs Matter". The two work off each other, but would also work as stand-alones. The quick-witted banter between the characters kept me chuckling, and their vivid descriptions made them seem realistic and personable. Totally love Soldier, and his brother. My only complaint -and this may be because of the Nook format- is the lack of division between scenes. Even an extra space between paragraphs would have helped with that. Not a big enough issue to detract from the awesome book, but a little confusing at times. 5 stars, highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Great!

    This author's style of writing reminds me of Julie Garwood, back when she wrote her wonderful historicals. (Think contemporary 'Ransom')Very fun; great quick-witted banter between the characters; sizzling chemistry; good flow; page-turning plot; and a strong, hot, sexy leading man who falls head-over-heels at first glance ... Loved it, wish the next one was coming sooner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2004

    Can't wait to see what this author does next

    If this is Ms. Stilling debut, I can't wait to see what she comes up with next. I really enjoyed this book, a real page-turner. The main characters¿ dialogue is hilarious and fast paced. The back and forth banter between them drew me in and I couldn¿t put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Suberb storytelling

    In Seattle, mystery author and currently desk cop J. Soldier McKennett is annoyed that Port Henry Editor Betsy Tremaine rips his latest novel in her review. At the Northwest Crime and Punishment Writer¿s Conference in which Soldier will provide a talk he sees a woman who he immediately wants, a feeling he is unaccustomed to having. Betsy sees a man staring at her who she thinks is sexy, but wonders if this is her stalker.............................. When they finally meet, both obviously recognize the identity of the other with a sigh of resignation. At the events, the duo tries to trump one another. That changes when Betsy¿s stalker raises the ante by refrigerating her mother¿s dog that is staying with her. Soldier returns to active duty to protect Betsy, vowing what happened to his late partner, which he blames himself for, will not happen to the woman he loves................................. The lead couple makes this a fun police procedural romance. Betsy is not afraid to criticize (change that to rip off the skin) of her beloved when it comes to his ¿Crimes of the Northwest¿ novels while Soldier wishes she would appreciate his tales but does not sweat it as long as she loves him. Though intriguing, the stalker subplot pales next to the romance between these two likable protagonists............................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2004

    Fantastic New Author

    Set in Washington State. Detective J. Soldier McKennett has become a best selling author while he is on desk duty, after the death of his partner. Everyone seems to love his novels except the Port Henry Newspaper Editor Betsy Tremaine. She continues on her previous path and rips his fourth novel to shreds in his reviews. He and his brother concoct what this reviewer must look like and have a good laugh. Betsy lives alone in the house she grew up with. She is currently dog sitting her mothers Chihuahua ¿Piddle¿. She was promoted to Editor 5 months ago after the previous editor disappeared. She writes the book reviews on the side. She is very self conspicuous about her looks as she is not a ¿stick woman¿ which seems to be what everyone is looking for today. Even her mother says that her hourglass figure is not desirable. Just before Betsy leaves for the Northwest Crime and Punishment Writer's Conference it is determined that she has a stalker, which Betsy is trying to convince herself is not really happening. Betsy and Soldier meet up at the conference after being immediately attracted to each other only to figure out their connection. Soldier fights his attraction to Betsy as he has vowed that he will not be like his late partner and leave someone behind if there is an accident. But, as he protects her from the stalker he figures this is not going to happen. As things heat up both with the stalker and with their love life watch the sparks fly. Betsy is not afraid to tell Soldier when he is being stupid or not living in reality. Case in point is when he is determined to get her life history for background with the stalking and asks her about ¿her first time¿ she determines that he is not being as impersonal as he thinks he is and makes up wild stories that have him seeing cross-eyed. I found this book fantastic and fun to read start to finish. I also admit I didn¿t figure out who the stalker was until just before it is revealed. I like heroines that have a lot of spunk and are not ¿jellyfish¿ when their hero is around. I also like hero¿s who can be taken down a notch and still come back giving as good as they get. This book has all of that. While there is a frightening stalking sub plot there are enough other character interactions that made me find this book almost lighthearted while dealing with a dark subject. I highly recommend this new author. My only issue is that her next book does not come out until next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1