Customer Reviews for

Dance with My Father

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth buying & playing over & over & over....

    Guys, pop this in the CD player whenever you want to share that quiet evening of intimacy with your lady; she will melt in your arms. Or when you have done something stupid and you need her to forgive you. Ladies, let him play this CD for you and maybe get back into your good graces with TLC; it's the only way he knows how to apologize. There are some things that only Luther can fix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best CD from Luther!!

    So many of Luthers songs touch my heart and I listen to them everyday in everything that I do. He is "Truly Amazing". He is very missed my not just me but my whole family. Its hard to go on without his new music to hear... but here are a few on this cd that I loved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    This melodic song speaks volumes into what Luther felt, saw and musically expressed as a vision. This is his last and most defining work and it's an expressive masterpiece,.. if you love Luther's music your library isn't complete without this profound and powerful message. Which now can be seen as soulful prophecy,..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    sprituial

    The song woke up the sprituial sense in me. and i felt once the song was released luther would be alright. and i also put family back as a part of my living experince.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT WORK LUTHER

    I just recently purchased this cd for my boyfriend for his birthday. I purchased it espeically for three songs, The closer I get to you, Buy me a rose and Dance with my father which is my friend's favourite. - The words as soooo powerful. To all the good and bod fathers, all the fathers to be this is a good investment to give your child/children. These lyrics will be remembered for a long time to come. Great work once again Luther. You get better with each albulm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Extraordinary Work

    I am proud to say that I am thoroughly a Luther Vandross fan. I,like the great artist himself, will settle for nothing short of perfection. Each song is a masterpiece! Regardless of your short-term illness, his work has always been classy and tasteful and very well put together. Bravo Luther! Keep up the good work! I love your music. I am getting married October 3rd of this year and I wish you could be there to sing my fiance' and myself onto the road of "love"... I call Luther Vandross the "Midas" of music, because everything he touches turns to gold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!!

    This song is absolutely wonderful and would recommend it to everyone. The whole album is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yeah, it was alright

    Had the unfortunate stroke not had happened to Mr. Vandross, nobody would be talking about this album almost a year later. Not one of these songs packed the proverbial punch promised in early interviews. While I feel for Luther personally, professionally this album is marginal at best. Adding Busta to the musical equation didn't help either. Why have two versions of the same song on the same album? If the first one needed a remix, perhaps it should've been scrapped to begin with. Then the title track...let me see, Dance with my father..At the end of the day I'm just not feeling it. This is a borrower at best. I wouldn't even risk downloading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best CD ever!!!

    I think this is his best CD yet concidering his illness. I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Such a powerful music artist!

    I am so touched by the song-"Dance with my Father". I lost my father year ago, and the words truly capture the feeling of wanting one more dance, one more moment. Thank you for the heartfelt words, they embrace my heart. The rest of the CD is terrific too, but "Dance" is my favorite. I am so awed by the talent of this artist, once you listen to his work you'll be hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I AM A HUGE FAN OF LUTHER VANDROSS

    I HOPE THAT LUTHER RECOVERS FROM HIS COMA. I THINK THE WORLD OF YOU LUTHER. I HAVE ALL YOUR RECORDS. YOUR SONGS NO MATTER WHAT ONE IT IS, IT TOUCHES MY HEART.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic with Latifah...Beyonce, and Stevie Wonder

    I feel this CD is Luther's Best. It's 'DIFFERENT....really different. Title song of track is fantastic. Buy Me A Rose, is unforgettable. Do It Again...is really racy, sexy, and suggestive. Right In the Middle... lends itself to losing,your self control,"not all bad'. Toast of the Town with Stevie Wonder...mmmmmmm. Won't tell you anymore except that my favorite has made me re-think, that "I proimised myself I'd Never Love Again..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh, how this song made me cry. So beautiful.

    I was driving home listening to the radio. The song "Wild Flower" came on. It was the song my husband chose to dance with our daughter on her wedding day. When we had the wedding video made up, just after the dance between them started, we edited in video of them dancing together when she was three, side step dancing up and down the hall, laughing with joy, then back again to them dancing at her wedding. I was, as always, teary eyed listening to it and remembering that special moment in their lives. The next song to come on was "Dance With My Father" by Luther Vandross. I had not heard it before. As I listened to the words, I realized they were telling a story and of course I thought of our daughter dancing with her dad and how she would feel in later years when he was gone. I really started sobbing then and cried all the way home. I told my husband about it and he wanted me to get the music immediately, so I'm buying two CD's, one for him and one for our daughter. It is one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard and I thank Luther for making it and pray for his recovery. For you readers who haven't heard the song yet, especially dads and daughters, don't waste another minute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fabulous Album

    I am always a luther fan, and where credit is due it must be given. This album is wonderful, notoriously wonderful. All the tracks are excellent, but I pay credit to Dance with my Father. Its a message to those who have a father, those who do not have as well as for those who intend to be fathers shortly or in the not so distance future. In the meantime I wish my superstar a speedy recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So deep, so honest, so true

    Dance with my father is a wonderful tribute to all fathers, both those still with and those that aren't. The video is touching, the music is so soothing you can listen to it over and over. This disc goes on the top shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must for your CD Collection!!

    I just picked up the new CD and it's great!!! In listening to the lyrics, the lyrics are coming from Mr Vandross's soul and mind. I especially enjoyed the songs, "Buy Me a Rose" and "Dance With My Father." In listening to this CD, I'm reminded how remarkable Mr. Vandross's voice is and prayers go out to him and his family for a healthy recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dance with my father

    This song has been an insipiration to all. Especially my two daughters. They have master this song, they have sung this song at two Parties. My oldest daughter has been singing Luther Vandross songs since she was 3 years old. She loves him, and his music. She is 7 years old now and her 3 year old sister is following right behind her. I Just had to let everyone now how they both can sing and love the song Dance with my father.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Father

    This by far is one of Luthers best. With the exception of being carried up the stairs, Luther wrote this song for my memories of my Father who passed away 3 years ago. This is a heartfelt song for anyone who is close to their Father. Listening to the words allow you to feel his Love for his Father and Mother. Thanks for this Fantastic in your heart,tearjerking song. PAT MAURICE, NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Luther! Luther! You Did It To Me Again!

    We needed this album! Perfect timing and a smash it is! We Love You Luther!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Makes me feel my father's presence

    This is his greatest one; my father died last year at 86 I was with him. This song makes me remember all the wonderful times we had together. He was my best friend in the whole world I love him so much. Thank you Luther,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2