BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dance of Anger: A Woman's Guide to Changing the Patterns of Intimate Relationships

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE

I read this book many years ago when it was recommended by a therapist. I immediately knew it was going to help me. I read it again and again thru the years....sometimes start to finish....sometimes sections I knew I needed that day. I recommend it to everyone. Th...
I read this book many years ago when it was recommended by a therapist. I immediately knew it was going to help me. I read it again and again thru the years....sometimes start to finish....sometimes sections I knew I needed that day. I recommend it to everyone. The simplest yet most difficult truth to absorb....you can only change yourself!

posted by Anonymous on April 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nothing New

This book does not offer any further insight into understanding anger and how it affects relationships than what has already been written and widely circulated for years. It was an okay read, but no new information was garnered from it.

posted by monroe on May 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE

    I read this book many years ago when it was recommended by a therapist. I immediately knew it was going to help me. I read it again and again thru the years....sometimes start to finish....sometimes sections I knew I needed that day. I recommend it to everyone. The simplest yet most difficult truth to absorb....you can only change yourself!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a great book

    I have read this book and listened to it on tape a number of times. I recommend it to my clients, and not just women. It is very helpful in negotiating difficulties with relationships and difficult relationships. Lerner provides insight and helpful steps to hold on to yourself while keeping the relationship intact.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has to deal with someone in their life who is constantly angry. It change my life on how to respond to the anger.

    This book changed my life. I have a grasp on how to respond to negative people. I don't engage in the dance of argument. I just say "I" know that you are upset, but "I" don't like it when to speak to me that way. They
    don't know what to say back and "I" have difused the argument. Once you
    learn how to put "I" first, then you are ahead of the argument. Try it.
    It really worked for me.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    A must read book for every women

    This book was fabulous and it is great one of showing of we women fell into a dance pattern and never get what we want - without realizing that we can ultimately control the dance by changing the steps and better for us longterm

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    Fabulous book

    This book really hit home for me. It's almost as if this book was written just for me. I read the book straight through - I couldn't put it down. I have learned so much about myself and how I deal with anger. This is a must-read book for every woman!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Recommended for High Schoolers and beyond

    I read this book my senior year of high school (about 6 years ago) an it really helped me be a better girlfriend, daughter, and sister. I even used it as a reference in a communications class the following year. I was constantly lashing out at the people I loved most (not my acquaintances) and saying what I said just to hurt them, not to prove a point. Now I feel like I can better deal with my emotions and help the people I love instead of hurting them with words or silence. It doesn't tell you to bury the hurt but instead express it to your person in a more healthy way. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to develop a healthy pattern of expressing hurt in their most important relationships.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A "Must Read" for Men too!

    Don't let the title fool you. While this book may be written from a woman's perspective, it contains some very insightful material regardless of who you are. I am a mature male adult who was raised by a strong independent single parent - my mother. Perhaps that is the reason why I personally identified with most of the content contained in "The Dance of Anger". In any event, I would honestly say that this book has made a positive impact on my life and that I am looking forward to reading it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This book was first published in 1985. I read it
    First in the 80s and now just recently read it
    Again. It is a great book...for men and women
    It is great to see ur pattern of anger and
    Learn to develop healthier ways to handle
    Ur responses. A must read for women
    And men.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Very insightful

    This book is right on..........excellent read and extremely helpful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I felt it was written for me!!

    This is one of those books everyone should read.... men included! I am looking forward to practice what I learned, I'm sure it will be very helpful. Don't miss it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    highly recommended by male

    This book works for men also. This book was invaluable for me as I am a male in a long term relationship who has allowed himself to be dominated by a female. Then I read The Art of Love by Erich Fromm, and oh boy, what a difference two books can make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    I would recommend this book to any one who has anger problems

    I was givin the's book 19 year's ago by a tharepist. I read it then, and it help'd with a bad marreg, I thou it away along time ago, and now I have bought the book, because I have other anger problems, with my famliy, its an on going anger problem I face every time I trun around, I find that I still need to remind myself that the fight of anger never ends, you just have to keep working on it, just when you think you know it all from reading the dance of anger you find, years later, you need help with other relationship problems, so we go back and reread it all over again, and it never hurts to reread a very good, and helpful book like the dance of anger, I am going to buy more of her books, because this is not the only problems I have, and I'm looking forward to reading them to for help. I want to thank Harriet Lerner, and others that help her put these books together for us to learn.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    The Dance of Anger

    I found this book quite good... did open my eyes to myself and family connections.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Nothing New

    This book does not offer any further insight into understanding anger and how it affects relationships than what has already been written and widely circulated for years. It was an okay read, but no new information was garnered from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Sean

    Mmmmmmkay

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Trent

    He leans on the wall.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Lavey to bree

    Im always bi.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Bree

    Anyone ever here

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Sylvie

    *Trudges in.*

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    To Ryder

    Your slave is waiting

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4